§ EDITORIAL · INDEPENDENT RESEARCH18 MIN READ · PUBLISHED JUL 2, 2026
Home Blog TFA vs Acetate vs Amidate: Peptide Salt Forms Explained (and Why One of These Isn't a Salt Form)
Buyer Education & Quality Verification

TFA vs Acetate vs Amidate: Peptide Salt Forms Explained (and Why One of These Isn't a Salt Form)

P
Thursday, July 2, 2026 · 18 min read

Two of the three terms in that comparison are salts. The third is not. TFA and acetate are counterions that change the mass on the scale without touching the peptide, while amidation is a covalent modification of the peptide itself, often required for it to work at all.

Both matter, for different reasons, and conflating them produces the wrong arithmetic and the wrong identity check. The mass side is covered from the quantity angle in why 10 mg isn't 10 mg; the compounds with the widest published spreads sit in the immune support and longevity peptides category.

What is a peptide salt form, and why does it change the mass on the scale?

A salt form is the counterion paired with the peptide's charged groups after synthesis and purification, and it is weighed along with the peptide. Trifluoroacetate arrives from reversed-phase purification, acetate from an ion-exchange step, hydrochloride from acid treatment. None of them alters the peptide's own structure or its ion on a mass spectrometer. All of them add mass to the balance, so the same quantity of peptide can be sold under several different labelled weights.

Form

Where it comes from

Effect on the balance

Effect on the peptide ion

Free base

The reference state

None — the peptide alone

The reference mass

Trifluoroacetate (TFA)

Reversed-phase purification

Heaviest of the common forms

None

Acetate

Ion exchange from TFA

Adds roughly 60 Da per acetate

None

Hydrochloride

Acid treatment

Varies with the number of chargeable sites

None

C-terminal amide

Deliberate synthesis

Small, and it is part of the peptide

Changes the molecule

The last row is in the table to be excluded from it, and the next section is about why. Everything above it describes something bound alongside the peptide; the amide describes something bound into it. A certificate that omits the salt form leaves the first four rows indeterminate, which is one of ten document defects catalogued in red flags in peptide certificates of analysis.

Is amidate a salt form?

No. C-terminal amidation is a covalent structural modification of the peptide, not a counterion paired with it, and the two belong in different categories entirely. A salt can be exchanged without making a different molecule — the same peptide as the acetate and as the TFA salt is the same peptide. An amidated peptide and its free-acid counterpart are two different compounds with different masses, different receptor behaviour and, in several documented cases, one active and one not. The word sits in this comparison because vendors put it there.

Salt form

C-terminal amidation

Chemical relationship

Ionic pairing alongside the peptide

Covalent bond within the peptide

Can it be exchanged?

Yes, by ion exchange

No — it is a synthesis decision

Same molecule after the change?

Yes

No

Effect on activity

None

Often required for activity

What detects it

The salt form stated on the certificate

A mass result matching the amide, not the free acid

Example

MOTS-c acetate versus TFA

Kisspeptin's Phe121 amide

Keeping the slug that contains the error is a deliberate editorial choice, because it is the phrase buyers type. The correction is the content: if a vendor lists "amidate" as a salt option next to TFA and acetate, that is a signal about how their specification block was assembled, in the same family as pairing a CAS number with the wrong mass.

How much mass does TFA add against acetate?

On MOTS-c, 114 daltons across the three supplied forms, which is more than 5% of what the scale reads. The peptide is published at 2,174.6 free base, 2,234.64 acetate and 2,288.6 TFA salt, CAS 1627580-64-6, and all three describe the identical 16-residue sequence MRWQEMGYIFYPRKLR. A vial labelled 10 mg of TFA salt therefore holds roughly 9.5 mg of peptide. Nothing is wrong with the material. The label is a gross weight and the arithmetic downstream assumes a net one.

MOTS-c form

Molecular weight

What a 10 mg label delivers

Free base

2,174.6

The reference mass every protocol implicitly assumes

Acetate

2,234.64

Heavier than free base; the certificate must state it

TFA salt

2,288.6

Roughly 9.5 mg of peptide

TFA and acetate are the natural rivals here, and the choice between them is a manufacturing decision rather than a quality one. TFA is what comes off a reversed-phase column; acetate is what replaces it after ion exchange, at extra cost. Neither is contamination, and a vendor who states which one they supply has done more for your dose calculation than one who reports a higher purity percentage without saying.

This is the first check on this compound rather than an afterthought, and it is also the most commonly missing field. Compare listings on the MOTS-c compound page and run the volume arithmetic with the MOTS-c calculator once the form is known.

What does a 17% salt difference do to a dose calculation?

It leaves a sixth of the dose undefined. SS-31 is the tetrapeptide D-Arg-Dmt-Lys-Phe-NH₂, CAS 736992-21-5, with a free-base molecular weight of 639.79 and a trihydrochloride weight of 749.2 — a 17% difference, the widest published salt gap in this corpus. A certificate that does not state the form is not slightly ambiguous; it is silent about one sixth of the quantity being weighed, and that error propagates into the concentration and every draw taken from the vial.

Worked example — the same label under two forms. This is arithmetic on stated inputs, not a recommendation to use any compound at any amount.

Step

Free base basis

Trihydrochloride basis

Input: vial label

10 mg

10 mg

Input: molecular weight

639.79

749.2

Peptide fraction of weighed mass

100%

639.79 ÷ 749.2 = 85.4%

Peptide in the vial

10 mg

8.54 mg

Concentration in 2 mL

5.0 mg/mL

4.27 mg/mL

Run the same figures through the reconstitution calculator and the peptide dosing calculator, using one basis consistently. Mixing them — a free-base molecular weight with a salt-form vial, or the reverse — is where the 17% actually does damage, because each number is correct in isolation.

Why is AHK-Cu's commonly quoted molecular weight mismatched to its CAS number?

Because the quoted mass describes a different form from the one the registry number identifies. CAS 682809-81-0 is the monohydrochloride of the AHK copper complex, PubChem CID 171382526, formula C₁₅H₂₅ClCuN₆O₄ at 452.39. The uncharged complex would be C₁₅H₂₄CuN₆O₄ at approximately 415.94. A vendor spec block reading "AHK-Cu, MW 415.9, CAS 682809-81-0" has paired the two, a 36 Da error and roughly 8%, straight into a dose calculation.

Entity

PubChem CID

Formula

MW

CAS

AHK free tripeptide

7408502

C₁₅H₂₆N₆O₄

354.41

126828-32-8

Uncharged copper complex

C₁₅H₂₄CuN₆O₄

~415.94

AHK-Cu monohydrochloride

171382526

C₁₅H₂₅ClCuN₆O₄

452.39

682809-81-0

An 8% mass error is not catastrophic on its own. What makes it worth naming is what it reveals: a specification block that pairs a CAS number with the wrong molecular weight was assembled by copying rather than by checking. The copper-versus-copper-free problem sits on top of it at a gap of roughly 98 daltons, the same failure GHK-Cu has at about 403 Da for the complex against 340.38 for the free peptide, and it is worked through in where to buy GHK-Cu.

Which salt forms appear on peptide certificates?

Four, and the free base is the one least often supplied while being the one most often quoted. TFA is the default output of reversed-phase purification and the heaviest common form. Acetate follows an ion-exchange step and adds roughly 60 daltons per acetate. Hydrochloride appears on compounds such as SS-31 at 749.2 against a 639.79 free base. The free base is the reference state that published molecular weights and dosing protocols implicitly assume, which is exactly why quoting it beside salt-form material creates the gap.

Two supplier practices in this corpus show the mismatch as it actually reaches buyers. Sigma-Aldrich supplies Semax research material as a TFA salt while quoting molecular weight on a free-base basis, against 813.93 for the free base and 874.0 for the acetate under CAS 2828433-33-4. PubChem carries acetate-salt entries for cagrilintide separately from the free base, so two legitimate database records describe different masses of the same active peptide.

Neither of those is misconduct. Both are cases where a correct number in one context becomes a wrong number in another, and where the only fix available to a buyer is to insist that the certificate name the form. Where the vendor quotes a mass, the follow-up question is which form that mass belongs to, and whether the mass spectrometry result on the same document agrees with it.

What is C-terminal amidation, and which peptides need it?

C-terminal amidation replaces the terminal carboxylic acid with an amide group, and on many bioactive peptides it is required for the molecule to bind its receptor. It is a synthesis decision, not a purification residue. Kisspeptin-10 and kisspeptin-54 are both amidated at Phe121, and that amide is required for receptor activity. Gonadorelin's C-terminus is amidated as glycinamide, one of two terminal modifications that carry its activity. Oxytocin, SS-31, ipamorelin, hexarelin, SNAP-8 and tesamorelin are all amidated.

Compound

Sequence terminus

MW

Why the amide is there

Kisspeptin-10

YNWNSFGLRF-NH₂

1,302.5

The Phe121 amide is required for KISS1R activity

Kisspeptin-54

…NWNSFGLRF-NH₂

5,857.5

Same amide, same requirement

Gonadorelin

pGlu-…-Gly-NH₂

1,182.29

Glycinamide plus N-terminal pyroglutamate carry the activity

Oxytocin

CYIQNCPLG-NH₂

1007.19

Amidated and disulfide-bridged

SS-31

D-Arg-Dmt-Lys-Phe-NH₂

639.79 free base

Part of the tetrapeptide's defined structure

Ipamorelin

Aib-His-D-2-Nal-D-Phe-Lys-NH₂

711.9

Standard for this secretagogue class

Hexarelin

His-D-2-methyl-Trp-Ala-Trp-D-Phe-Lys-NH₂

887.0

Standard for this secretagogue class

SNAP-8

Ac-EEMQRRAD-NH₂

1,075.2

Both termini blocked; an uncapped peptide degrades faster

Tesamorelin

44-residue GHRH analogue, C-terminally amidated

5,136

Alongside the trans-3-hexenoyl group protecting against DPP-4

Read that column of masses as reference values for identity rather than as a list of trivia. Each is the mass of the amidated molecule, so a batch supplied as the free acid would return a different number — which is the only routine way the modification gets checked at all.

What happens when the amide is missing, or present when it should not be?

The molecule changes, and on some compounds so does its legal status. Gonadorelin with a free-acid C-terminus would be a different molecule, inactive, at a detectably different mass, while still capable of returning a high HPLC purity figure. The starkest case is a pair: PT-141 (bremelanotide) at 1,025.2 carries a free acid, and melanotan II at 1,024.18 carries a lysine amide. They share an identical cyclic backbone, lactam bridge, D-phenylalanine and norleucine. The C-terminus is the only difference — about 1 dalton on 1,025, under 0.1%.

That gap separates an FDA-approved drug from a substance approved nowhere in the world, and no purity percentage reaches it. HPLC cannot separate them, nominal-mass mass spectrometry is unreliable across a 1 Da difference at that mass, and high-resolution mass spectrometry or MS/MS fragmentation is required — the resolution question is set out in mass spectrometry for peptides.

A second case runs the other way. Semax is sold alongside N-Acetyl Semax Amidate, a modified derivative with a different mass, and an HPLC purity figure cannot tell you which molecule is in the vial. Only a mass result against 813.93 Da for the Semax free base establishes which one you have. In both cases the amidation status is the identity, which is precisely why filing it under "salt form" leads a buyer to check the wrong thing.

Can a certificate tell you which form you have?

Yes, if it carries two fields that agree with each other. The salt form should be named in words, and the mass spectrometry result should match the mass of that named form. Either alone is weak: a stated salt form with no mass is an unverified assertion, and a mass with no stated salt form leaves you guessing which published value it was meant to match. Purity does not help here, because a counterion is not the analyte and chromatography reports peak area rather than composition.

Check

What it confirms

How

Red flag

Salt form named

Which mass was weighed

Free base, acetate, TFA or HCl, in words

Not stated — up to 17% undefined

Mass result agrees

The named form is the supplied form

MS matching the stated form's mass

A mass matching a form the document does not claim

Amide versus free acid

The C-terminus is correct

Mass matching the amide, not the acid

Not addressed — 1 Da on PT-141

CAS matches the mass

The registry entry describes this form

CAS and MW checked against each other

415.9 quoted with CAS 682809-81-0

Net peptide content

Peptide versus counterion and water

Net content or amino acid analysis

Purity quoted as though it were quantity

Purity read separately

Homogeneity, and only that

HPLC percentage on the same lot

Read as evidence about the salt form

The two-field rule is the whole method: name and mass, agreeing. What each test can and cannot reach is in what HPLC testing measures, and a real document read line by line is in how to read peptide lab test results.

Which salt-form claims survive scrutiny?

Six hold as stated, two are false and one is unmeasured. The chemistry claims survive because they rest on published molecular weights that anyone can check against a registry entry. The claim that fails hardest is the one embedded in this article's own title — that amidation is a third salt form alongside TFA and acetate — and the one nobody can currently answer is whether a stated salt form matches what actually shipped.

Claim

What the fact base supports

Verdict

The counterion changes the weighed mass

MOTS-c 114 Da; SS-31 17%

Holds

The counterion changes the peptide

It is ionically paired, not bonded into the sequence

False

Amidation is a salt form

It is a covalent modification, often required for activity

False

An unstated salt form is a real dose error

A 10 mg MOTS-c TFA vial holds roughly 9.5 mg

Holds

Acetate is purer or better than TFA

It is an extra ion-exchange step, not a quality grade

Overstated

A CAS number implies one molecular weight

AHK-Cu: 452.39 for CAS 682809-81-0, not 415.9

Holds — and it is routinely mismatched

HPLC purity reveals the salt form

The counterion is not the analyte

False

The amide is checkable in this market

Only through a mass result matching the amidated form

Holds, where MS is run

Vendors' stated salt forms are accurate

No study has verified a stated form against supplied material

Unmeasured

Three of those verdicts are factual corrections rather than judgements about evidence strength. "False" on the amidation row is the reason this page exists, and it will stay false whatever the market chooses to call it.

What do independent lab tests show about salt-form disclosure?

They show excellent homogeneity on compounds whose salt form is routinely undeclared. MOTS-c holds one of the deepest datasets here: 99.43 across 494 recency-weighted tests from 23 laboratories (verified August 2026), against a platform composite of 99.50. SS-31 records 99.68 across 194 recency-weighted tests from 16 laboratories (verified August 2026). Both figures describe how uniform the material was. Neither describes which of the two or three possible masses was in the vial, because no routine assay in this market reports the counterion.

Peptigrity tracks 530 shops, 11,852 independent lab tests, 118 peptides and 1,283 community reviews (verified August 2026), with trust scores weighted 50% community reviews and 50% independently verified lab purity. The limit on all of it, stated plainly because it is our own largest asset, is that not one of those tests establishes whether a vendor's declared salt form matches what shipped. Purity assays are blind to the counterion by construction.

MOTS-c price data shows 72 shops in stock at a median of $4.50/mg (verified August 2026); the page publishes shops in stock and median price per milligram, and no lowest tracked price, so none is printed here. SS-31 price data shows a median of $4.00/mg (verified August 2026). Those figures exclude shipping, taxes and customs, coupon codes, bulk tiers, multi-vial kits and account-gated pricing. At $4.50 a milligram, paying for TFA counterion by weight is a real cost rather than a rounding error, and the weighting behind every score is documented in how we calculate trust scores. Live per-compound figures sit on the Purity Index.

The trial that would settle whether a stated salt form is the one supplied

No study has taken vials whose certificates declare a salt form, measured the counterion content directly, and reported how often the declaration was correct. Ion chromatography and elemental analysis can both answer it, neither is offered by vendors in this market, and the result would convert salt-form disclosure from a stated intention into a verified fact. Everything on this page is reference chemistry plus documented specification errors, which establishes what the numbers mean and not whether the labels are true.

Element

What it would need

Design

Blinded purchase-and-assay study across vendors declaring a salt form

Test articles

Vials labelled free base, acetate, TFA and hydrochloride, in equal numbers

Measurements

Ion chromatography or elemental analysis for the counterion, plus MS and net peptide content

Primary endpoint

Proportion of vials whose measured counterion matches the declared form

Secondary endpoints

Gross-to-net mass ratio by declared form; whether declared forms cluster by vendor

Comparator

Vials supplied with no salt form declared, assayed the same way

What exists today

Published reference masses, documented CAS-to-mass mismatches, and no counterion assay in this market

How to use a salt form once you have it

Pick one basis and hold it through every step of the arithmetic. If the certificate says TFA salt, the vial's peptide content is the labelled weight times the free-base mass over the salt mass, and every concentration and draw follows from that single corrected figure. If the certificate says nothing, the label is an upper bound rather than a measurement, and the honest description of the concentration is a range rather than a number.

The order is short. Read the salt form before the purity percentage. Check that the mass result on the same document matches the form named. Check the CAS number against the mass rather than assuming a registry number implies one weight. Then, and only then, run the volume arithmetic, using the free-base mass throughout or the salt mass throughout, never a mixture of the two. The full working with every step shown is in how to calculate peptide doses.

Browse the immune support and longevity peptides category, or our complete peptide guide with 118 compounds (verified August 2026). For per-injection volume, use the MOTS-c calculator alongside the reconstitution calculator. Compare shops through independent lab tests and community-verified shop reviews, and see how to verify peptide quality before you buy for the surrounding sequence.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is amidate a peptide salt form?

No. C-terminal amidation is a covalent modification made during synthesis, not a counterion paired with the finished peptide. Exchanging acetate for TFA leaves the same molecule; removing an amide produces a different one, usually inactive. The term appears beside TFA and acetate on vendor pages, and a specification block that lists it as a salt option was assembled without checking.

Does the salt form change how much peptide I receive?

Yes, by a measurable amount. MOTS-c is published at 2,174.6 free base, 2,234.64 acetate and 2,288.6 TFA salt, so a 10 mg TFA vial holds roughly 9.5 mg of peptide. SS-31 is 639.79 free base against 749.2 trihydrochloride, a 17% gap. The peptide is unchanged in every case; the number on the balance is not.

Is acetate better than TFA?

Not in a quality sense. Acetate is what replaces trifluoroacetate after an ion-exchange step, which costs more and produces a lighter salt. Neither form is contamination and neither indicates better manufacturing. What matters for a buyer is that the certificate names which one was supplied, because the two differ by enough mass to move a dose calculation.

Why does a CAS number sometimes not match the molecular weight?

Because a registry number identifies one specific form. CAS 682809-81-0 is the AHK-Cu monohydrochloride at 452.39, so a spec block quoting MW 415.9 beside it has attached the mass of the uncharged complex to the registry entry for the salt, a 36 dalton and roughly 8% error. Check the two against each other before trusting either.

How can I tell whether a peptide is amidated?

Through a mass result. The amidated form and the free-acid form differ in mass, so a mass spectrometry figure matching the amidated reference value confirms it and a figure matching the acid does not. Kisspeptin's Phe121 amide, gonadorelin's glycinamide and oxytocin's C-terminal amide are all checked this way. Purity testing cannot address it.

What is the difference between PT-141 and melanotan II?

The C-terminus, and nothing else. They share an identical cyclic backbone, the same lactam bridge, the same D-phenylalanine and the same norleucine. Bremelanotide carries a free acid at 1,025.2 and melanotan II a lysine amide at 1,024.18 — about 1 dalton apart, under 0.1%. High-resolution mass spectrometry or MS/MS fragmentation is required to separate them.

This article is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. Peptides discussed may be investigational compounds not approved by the FDA (or equivalent regulators in your jurisdiction) for human use. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before using any peptide or research compound. Peptigrity is an independent review platform and does not sell, endorse, or recommend specific products or vendors.

P
◆ WRITTEN BY

The Peptigrity editorial team covering peptide quality, COA verification, and vendor analysis.

All articles →