§ EDITORIAL · INDEPENDENT RESEARCH23 MIN READ · PUBLISHED MAR 23, 2026
Home Blog Red Flags in Peptide Certificates of Analysis (CoA)
Buyer Education & Quality Verification

Red Flags in Peptide Certificates of Analysis (CoA)

P
Monday, March 23, 2026 · 23 min read

Most bad peptide certificates fail by omission, not by lying. The number printed is usually real. What is missing beside it — the batch, the date, the mass, the salt form, the quantity — is what decides whether the document describes your vial.

That is a checklist rather than a judgement call, and it runs in a fixed order. The tests themselves are covered in what HPLC testing measures and mass spectrometry for peptides; a real document read field by field is in how to read peptide lab test results. This page is the failure catalogue, drawn from compounds across the growth hormone peptides category and beyond.

What makes a peptide certificate of analysis untrustworthy?

A certificate becomes untrustworthy through what it leaves out, not through the number it prints. Nine document-level defects cover almost all of it: no batch identifier, no test date, a purity figure with no mass result, no salt form, no net peptide content, purity quoted as quantity, no endotoxin result, an unnamed laboratory, and a result too clean for the compound. A tenth failure sits outside the document entirely, in the chemical databases that vendors cite as corroboration.

Red flag

What it looks like on the page

Why it matters

What to ask for instead

No batch identifier

A product name and a percentage, no lot number

The document cannot be tied to your vial

Lot number matching the vial label

No test date, or a stale one

Undated, or a date months before the fill

Peptides degrade after testing

Date on the same batch, plus cold-chain evidence

HPLC with no MS

A purity percentage alone

Purity is homogeneity, never identity

A batch-matched mass result

No salt form

"Purity 99.4%", nothing about counterions

Up to 17% of the weighed mass is undefined

Free base, acetate, TFA or hydrochloride, named

No net peptide content

Purity present, quantity absent

Salts and water are being sold as peptide

Net content or amino acid analysis

Purity quoted as quantity

"99.8% pure" offered as proof of fill

Two independent assays, one performed

mg recovered, reported separately

No endotoxin result

Blank field on injectable material

Pyrogens are not chromatographic impurities

An LAL result on the same batch

Unnamed laboratory

No issuer, or "in-house"

An unattributed document is a claim

A named, contactable third-party laboratory

Too clean for the compound

100.00% on a polydisperse product

The result contradicts the chemistry

A distribution, not a single peak

Database corroboration

A screenshot of a PubChem page

Databases carry the conflations themselves

A measurement on your batch

Read the table top to bottom rather than picking the alarming rows. The first two are provenance failures and make everything below them unverifiable, which is why they come first. The last row is the one most buyers never think to check, and it is the subject of its own section further down.

Red flag: no batch number, or a batch that does not match the vial

A certificate with no lot number, or a lot number that does not match the vial in your hand, is a document about somebody else's material. This is the most common defect in the market and the easiest to check. Gonadorelin illustrates why it matters: across just seven independent tests, one April 2025 sample run by Vanguard Laboratory was labelled 5 mg and measured 2.12 mg, a 57.6% shortfall. The other six were unremarkable. Batch identity is the entire difference between those two facts.

Vendors circulate two kinds of document and only one is evidence. A specimen certificate is a representative result from some earlier production run, reproduced on the product page indefinitely. A batch-matched certificate carries the lot number stamped on your vial and was generated from that lot. The first is marketing collateral; the second is a measurement.

Batch-matched certificate

Vendor specimen certificate

Lot number

Matches the vial label

Absent, or from an unrelated run

What it evidences

The material you received

That the vendor once made a good batch

Date relationship

Test date sits near the fill date

Often years old, reused

Detects a bad lot

Yes

No — a bad lot is invisible to it

Typical availability

On request, sometimes refused

Published openly on the listing

Ask for the lot number before asking for anything else, because every check below inherits its authority from that one field. Individual batch-level results across this market are searchable in the lab test database. Where a vendor cannot produce a document tied to your lot, the honest description is that the vial is untested, not that it passed.

Red flag: no test date, or a date that predates the vial

An undated certificate, or one dated well before the vial was filled, describes a material that no longer exists in the state it was measured. Peptides degrade by defined routes that purity testing may not flag: methionine oxidises at +16 Da per residue, MOTS-c carrying two vulnerable methionines at positions 1 and 6; oxytocin's Cys1-Cys6 disulfide reduces at +2 Da; glutathione oxidises to GSSG; and NAD+ hydrolyses readily in solution. A result from before any of that happened is still a true result about a different sample.

The practical rule is that the test date should sit close to the fill date, and both should sit close to the shipping date. A long gap is not proof of degradation. It is an unmeasured interval, and the longer it runs the less the certificate constrains what is in the vial now.

Storage conditions between the test and your fridge matter as much as elapsed time, which is why room-temperature shipping on a compound that hydrolyses in solution is a documented concern rather than a theoretical one. The chemistry of that interval is set out in how to store peptides. Degradation products that share retention behaviour with the parent peptide will not always separate on the chromatogram, so an old certificate and a clean chromatogram together are weaker evidence than either looks alone.

Red flag: an HPLC purity figure with no mass result beside it

Purity with no mass is the single commonest defect on peptide paperwork, and it leaves identity entirely unaddressed. HPLC reports the proportion of detected peak area belonging to one species; it never reports which species. The gaps that matter are often small. PT-141 and melanotan II differ by about 1 dalton on 1,025 — an FDA-approved drug and an unapproved one, under 0.1% apart. Sermorelin and Mod GRF 1-29 differ by 10 daltons on roughly 3,360.

Neither of those pairs is separable by a purity percentage, and the first is not reliably separable by nominal-mass mass spectrometry either. That is the reason the correct ask is a mass result with a stated resolution rather than simply "an MS".

Some substitutions are trivially visible once a mass result exists. Thymosin alpha-1 missing its N-terminal acetyl group is 42 Da lighter. SS-31 with tyrosine substituted for 2,6-dimethyltyrosine is −28 Da. CJC-1295 without DAC sits at 3,367.9 Da against roughly 3,647 Da for the DAC form, a 280 Da gap that any instrument resolves. What a mass result can and cannot settle is worked through in mass spectrometry for peptides.

Red flag: the salt form is not stated

A certificate that does not name the salt form has left a large fraction of the weighed mass undefined. MOTS-c is supplied at three molecular weights — 2,174.6 free base, 2,234.64 acetate and 2,288.6 TFA salt, a spread of 114 daltons and more than 5% of what the scale reads. SS-31 is worse: 639.79 free base against 749.2 trihydrochloride is a 17% difference. Neither gap indicates anything wrong with the peptide. Both propagate straight into a dose calculation.

This is chemistry rather than a defect, and it becomes a defect only when the document is silent. Acetate adds roughly 60 Da per acetate to the weighed material without changing the peptide ion, so a mass spectrum and a balance can disagree honestly.

Two further cases show how the omission travels. Sigma-Aldrich supplies Semax research material as a TFA salt while quoting molecular weight on a free-base basis. PubChem carries acetate-salt entries for cagrilintide separately from the free base, so two records describe different masses of the same active peptide. The arithmetic and the amidation confusion that rides alongside it are in TFA versus acetate versus amidate salt forms.

Red flag: no net peptide content figure

Net peptide content is the measurement that separates peptide from everything else in the vial, and it is absent from most certificates in this market. Gross weight includes salt counterions, residual water and residual solvent, none of which is the compound being purchased. The measurement exists, it is routine in pharmaceutical manufacturing, and it is reported as net content or as amino acid analysis. Its absence does not indicate a shortfall. It inflates the apparent dose by an unknown amount, which is a different and less tractable problem.

The compounds where this bites hardest are the ones dosed in micrograms rather than milligrams, because the same proportional error is a larger fraction of a small dose. DSIP is dosed in the 200 to 500 microgram range in community practice, and an undefined salt and water fraction on a vial that small is not a rounding error.

A certificate carrying purity, identity and net content has answered three separate questions. One carrying purity alone has answered one of them and is routinely read as though it answered all three, which is the argument of why 10 mg isn't 10 mg.

Red flag: a purity percentage quoted as though it were a quantity

Purity and quantity are independent variables measured by different assays, and conflating them is the most common reading error on a peptide certificate. Mazdutide makes the point unarguable: an April 2026 sample labelled 20 mg assayed at 15.18 mg — a 24.1% shortfall — while testing 99.80% pure. Both numbers are correct. The material was very nearly homogeneous, and there was a quarter less of it than the label claimed. A purity figure cannot detect that, because a ratio carries no information about an amount.

The error runs in both directions and the overage direction is more common in this dataset than the shortfall direction. Vials measuring above label are not generosity; they are the same loss of fill control, pointing the other way, on compounds that are titrated in small steps.

Where a quantitative result exists and disagrees with the label, the dose arithmetic has to be redone from the assayed mass rather than the printed one. The reverse dose calculator runs that check backwards, from a draw already made to the amount it delivered. Where no quantitative result exists at all, the honest position is that the concentration is unknown within a range rather than known to be correct.

Red flag: no endotoxin result on injectable material

A blank endotoxin field on material intended for injection means the pyrogen question was not asked. Endotoxin is a bacterial cell-wall fragment, not a chromatographic impurity, so no purity percentage however high addresses it and no mass spectrum detects it. The Limulus amoebocyte lysate assay is the test that does. On this platform only 2 of 12 displayed thymalin tests carry an endotoxin result, and thymalin is an animal-tissue-derived injectable where pyrogen contamination is the realistic failure mode.

Where results do appear, compliant samples pass at ≤0.05 EU/mL. That is a specification a buyer can read against rather than a vague reassurance, and its presence on a document is a meaningful signal about the issuing laboratory's scope.

A blank field is not evidence of contamination. It is evidence that a separate and inexpensive test was not run, on the axis where the consequence of failure is acute rather than gradual. Interpretation is covered in endotoxin testing and LAL assay interpretation, and sterility is a third discipline again, handled in peptide sterility testing under USP <71>.

Red flag: an unnamed or unverifiable laboratory

An unattributed certificate is a claim rather than a measurement. If no laboratory is named on the document, nothing on it can be checked, chased or corroborated, and a vendor's own in-house result is not third-party testing regardless of how the document is formatted. The laboratories appearing across this platform's records are named and countable — Janoshik, Kovera, Vanguard, ILS, Freedom Diagnostics, Ethos Analytics, Bioviridian, Liquilabs, MZ Biolabs and Chromate among them — which is what makes a result traceable in the first place.

Naming a laboratory is necessary rather than sufficient. The next questions are whether that laboratory performs the assay in question, whether the document format matches its normal output, and whether the result can be confirmed with the laboratory directly.

Two related checks belong here. A vendor claiming a house purity standard should be able to produce a named laboratory's document rather than their own, and a house standard should be read against the compound's observed floor rather than in isolation — "above 98%" describes a bar most of this market already clears. Practical criteria are in third-party peptide testing labs and how to evaluate a peptide testing lab.

Red flag: a result too clean for the compound

Some products cannot chemically produce a perfect result, so a perfect result is evidence against them. PEG-MGF is the clearest case in this market. Polyethylene glycol is a polymer and is polydisperse, so a genuinely PEGylated peptide carries a chain-length distribution: mass spectrometry returns an envelope rather than a peak, and HPLC is compromised too, because different chain lengths have different retention behaviour. On this platform PEG-MGF averages 99.38% across 27 tests, with individual results running from 98.35% to 100.00%.

That 100.00% deserves scrutiny rather than confidence. A single perfect peak is more consistent with a non-PEGylated peptide, or with an assay unsuited to the product, than with well-made PEGylated material. Polydispersity is not a flaw in the technique — approved PEGylated biologics exist and handle it by specifying the distribution rather than a single mass.

Compound property

What a good certificate reports

What a suspicious certificate reports

Polydisperse conjugate (PEG-MGF)

A mass distribution and a stated degree of PEGylation

A single mass and one clean peak

Undefined extract (thymalin)

Composition, source tissue, process controls

A purity percentage against no declared analyte

Metal complex (GHK-Cu, AHK-Cu)

Elemental copper content

HPLC purity, which detects no metals at all

All-D peptide (FOXO4-DRI)

Chiral analysis or chiral amino acid analysis

Standard HPLC, blind to stereochemistry by design

Each row is a case where the routine assay is structurally incapable of answering the question the product raises. On PEG-MGF, no defined reference mass exists to match; on thymalin, a purity percentage has no analyte to be a percentage of; on the copper peptides, chromatography detects no metals; on FOXO4-DRI, the entire design is a configuration that co-elutes with its own mirror image. The PEG-MGF record is on the PEG-MGF compound page.

Which chemical database entries route a careful buyer to the wrong molecule?

Four database records in this corpus will send a diligent buyer to the wrong compound, which matters because cross-checking a certificate against a public database is the standard advice and is sometimes worse than not checking. PubChem indexes the copper-free tripeptide, CID 73587 at 340.38 Da, under the synonyms "GHK-Cu," "Copper Peptide" and "Prezatide" — the copper is 18% of the real molecule. ChemicalBook lists PL14736 as a Selank synonym, and PL14736 is BPC-157, a different peptide entirely.

Database record

The trap

The correct position

PubChem CID 73587

Copper-free GHK at 340.38 carries "GHK-Cu", "Copper Peptide" and "Prezatide" among six synonyms

The complex is ~403 Da: CID 378611 (403.92) and CID 71587328 (402.92)

ChemicalBook, Selank entry

Lists PL14736 as a synonym

PL14736 is BPC-157 — do not use this as a synonym source

CAS 682809-81-0

Quoted beside MW 415.9 on vendor spec blocks

That CAS is the monohydrochloride at 452.39; a 36 Da, roughly 8% mismatch

PubChem, CJC-1295

The record has carried both "CJC1295 With DAC" and "CJC1295 Without DAC" as synonyms

Treat it as the DAC form only; verify against 3,367.9 or ~3,647 Da

CAS 868844-74-0

Returns two SNAP-8 records, CID 76283482 (C₄₁H₇₀N₁₆O₁₆S) and CID 71587832 (C₄₂H₇₂N₁₆O₁₅S)

No single unambiguous reference record exists

PubChem CID 16130265

Commonly cited for thymosin alpha-1

It is a different 14-residue peptide; the correct record is CID 16130571

Wikipedia GHK-Cu chembox

Formula C₁₄H₂₂CuN₆O₄ with CAS 89030-95-5

Matches none of the three PubChem records

One entry on that theme is not an error and is worth stating so, because indiscriminate suspicion is its own failure mode. PubChem titles the Semax record, CID 9811102, "ACTH (4-7), Pro-Gly-Pro-" rather than "Semax". That is a systematic naming convention, not a mismatch, and a buyer who rejects a certificate over it has misread a correct record.

The AHK-Cu case is the most instructive because it is arithmetic rather than nomenclature. A specification block reading "AHK-Cu, MW 415.9, CAS 682809-81-0" has paired a registry number describing the 452.39 Da hydrochloride with the mass of the uncharged complex. An 8% error is not catastrophic in a dose calculation. It is a reliable signal about how the block was assembled: by copying, not by checking. The compound-level detail sits in where to buy GHK-Cu and CJC-1295 versus CJC-1295 with DAC, and dose arithmetic on the correct form runs through the CJC-1295 and ipamorelin calculator.

A vendor citing a database is not a vendor who checked.

Which certificate red flags survive scrutiny?

Eight of ten hold as stated, one holds with a qualification and one is commonly overstated. The flags resting on analytical chemistry — missing mass, missing salt form, missing quantity, missing endotoxin — are structural facts about what each assay can reach, and no amount of vendor assurance changes them. The flags resting on frequency are weaker, because this corpus documents that each failure has occurred with a compound and a date attached, and documents nothing about how often it occurs market-wide.

Claim about certificates

What the fact base supports

Verdict

Purity with no mass leaves identity unaddressed

PT-141 vs melanotan II at ~1 Da; sermorelin vs Mod GRF at 10 Da

Holds

An unstated salt form hides real mass

MOTS-c 114 Da spread; SS-31 17%

Holds

Purity does not measure quantity

Mazdutide 15.18 mg in a 20 mg vial at 99.80% pure

Holds

A missing endotoxin result is a gap

2 of 12 thymalin tests carry one

Holds

An unnamed laboratory is not third-party testing

An unattributed document cannot be corroborated

Holds

A perfect result can be a warning

PEG-MGF 100.00% on a polydisperse product

Holds

Databases can corroborate a certificate

PubChem CID 73587; ChemicalBook PL14736; two SNAP-8 CIDs on one CAS

False

A stale test date means the product is degraded

Degradation routes are documented; degradation in your vial is not

Overstated — it is an unmeasured interval

A high purity figure means good manufacturing

AHK-Cu: one June 2026 test at 50.63% with a 10.6% shortfall, the rest above 99%

Holds only per batch

Every red flag should stop a purchase

Provenance flags are disqualifying; scope flags are compound-dependent

Qualified

Three of those verdicts are corrections rather than judgements about strength of evidence. "False", "Overstated" and "Qualified" will remain true whatever any future dataset shows, because they are statements about what the measurements can reach.

What do 11,852 independent lab tests show about which flags fire?

They show that these failures are real and named, and nothing about their frequency. Peptigrity tracks 530 shops, 11,852 independent lab tests, 118 peptides and 1,283 community reviews (verified August 2026), with trust scores weighted 50% community reviews and 50% independently verified lab purity. PEG-MGF, the too-clean case, records 99.38% average across 27 tests from five laboratories — Chromate, ILS, MZ Biolabs, Ethos Analytics and Vanguard — across 219 verified shops (verified August 2026), with one March 2026 sample labelled 5 mg testing at 6.35 mg.

The limit on that dataset is worth stating plainly, because it is our own largest asset. Every one of those 11,852 results exists because somebody chose to submit a sample and publish the outcome. It is not a random sample of the market, so it establishes that a 57.6% gonadorelin shortfall and a 100.00% PEG-MGF purity result both happened, and it cannot tell you what proportion of unsubmitted vials would have failed.

PEG-MGF price data shows 13 shops in stock, median $18.99/mg, lowest $12.50/mg on a 2 mg vial (verified August 2026), with vial prices from $25.00 to $94.97. Those figures exclude shipping, taxes and customs, coupon codes, bulk tiers, multi-vial kits and account-gated pricing. Individual results are searchable in the lab test database, and the weighting behind every score is documented in how we calculate trust scores.

The trial that would settle which certificate defects predict a bad vial

No published study has taken certificates carrying each of these defects, purchased the corresponding vials, assayed them independently, and reported which document features predicted a failure. That study would convert this checklist from analytical reasoning into a measured hierarchy, and it does not exist. Everything above is a chain of inference from what each assay can physically reach, plus a catalogue of documented anomalies with compound names and dates attached, and that is weaker than a prospective study would be.

Element

What it would need

Design

Prospective purchase-and-assay study, blinded to the certificate at the point of assay

Sampling frame

Vials bought at random across tracked shops, not vendor-submitted samples

Exposure

Presence or absence of each of the ten red flags on the supplied document

Primary endpoint

Proportion of vials failing identity, quantity or endotoxin, by red flag

Secondary endpoints

Positive predictive value of each flag; whether flags cluster on the same vendors

Comparator

Vials supplied with batch-matched certificates carrying no flags

What exists today

11,852 submitted tests, per-compound anomalies with dates, and no prospective sampling

How to work through a certificate you are already holding

Run the checks in provenance order, because the later ones inherit their authority from the earlier ones. Confirm the lot number matches your vial, then the test date, then that a named third-party laboratory issued it. Only then read the analytical fields: mass result, salt form, quantitative content, endotoxin, and last of all the purity percentage. A document failing at the provenance stage cannot be rescued by excellent chemistry further down, because the chemistry describes material you cannot show you received.

Check

What it confirms

How

Red flag

Lot number

The document describes your vial

Lot on the certificate matches the vial label

No lot, or a mismatch

Test date

The result is current for this material

Date near the fill and ship dates

Undated, or predating the vial

Issuing laboratory

A measurement rather than a claim

Named, contactable third party

In-house or unattributed

Mass result

Which molecule was tested

MS on your lot, with resolution stated

Purity reported with no identity test

Salt form

Which mass was weighed

Free base, acetate, TFA or HCl, named

Not stated — up to 17% undefined

Quantitative content

The vial matches the label

mg recovered, reported separately

Purity quoted as though it were quantity

Endotoxin

No pyrogens in injectable material

LAL result, ≤0.05 EU/mL where reported

Field blank

Assay fits the compound

The test can answer the question

Chiral, elemental or distribution data where needed

A clean single peak on a polydisperse product

Reject on provenance if the first three fail. If they pass and the analytical fields are thin, the correct description is that specific questions remain unanswered, which is a negotiating position rather than a verdict — most vendors can supply a batch-matched document when a buyer asks for one by lot number.

Browse the growth hormone peptides category, or our complete peptide guide with 118 compounds (verified August 2026). For per-injection volume, use the reconstitution calculator once the assayed mass rather than the label mass is in hand. Compare shops through independent lab tests and community-verified shop reviews, and see how to verify peptide quality before you buy for the sequence that surrounds this one.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does a certificate of analysis prove a peptide is what the label says?

Not on its own. A purity percentage establishes that the tested material was homogeneous, not which molecule it was. Identity requires a mass result, and on some pairs it requires high-resolution mass spectrometry — PT-141 and melanotan II are about 1 dalton apart on 1,025. A certificate carrying purity alone has answered one of the four questions a buyer needs answered.

What is the difference between a batch-matched certificate and a specimen certificate?

A batch-matched certificate carries the lot number stamped on your vial and was generated from that lot. A specimen certificate is a representative result from an earlier run, republished on the product page. Only the first can detect a bad batch. Gonadorelin's 57.6% shortfall appeared in one sample out of seven tested, and a specimen document from any of the other six would have looked reassuring.

Is a 100% purity result a good sign?

It depends entirely on the compound. On a well-defined peptide it is unremarkable. On PEG-MGF it is a warning: polyethylene glycol is polydisperse, so genuinely PEGylated material carries a chain-length distribution and should not resolve as one perfect peak. A 100.00% result there is more consistent with missing PEG, or an unsuitable assay, than with good manufacturing.

Can I verify a certificate against PubChem?

Only with care, because the databases carry conflations of their own. PubChem indexes copper-free GHK under the synonym "GHK-Cu"; ChemicalBook lists BPC-157's code PL14736 as a Selank synonym; CAS 868844-74-0 returns two SNAP-8 records with two different formulas. A database record is a starting point for the reference mass, never a measurement of your batch, and a vendor screenshotting one has confirmed nothing.

Does a missing endotoxin result mean the product is contaminated?

No. It means the question was not asked. Endotoxin is a bacterial cell-wall fragment rather than a chromatographic impurity, so purity testing is blind to it and the LAL assay is the test that reaches it. On this platform only 2 of 12 displayed thymalin tests include an endotoxin result, on an animal-tissue-derived injectable where pyrogens are the realistic failure mode.

Which single red flag should stop a purchase on its own?

A missing or mismatched lot number, because it makes every other field unverifiable. The analytical omissions below it describe questions that remain open and can usually be closed by asking the vendor for a batch-matched document. A certificate that cannot be tied to your vial describes material you have no evidence of receiving, and no percentage printed on it changes that.

This article is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. Peptides discussed may be investigational compounds not approved by the FDA (or equivalent regulators in your jurisdiction) for human use. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before using any peptide or research compound. Peptigrity is an independent review platform and does not sell, endorse, or recommend specific products or vendors.

P
◆ WRITTEN BY

The Peptigrity editorial team covering peptide quality, COA verification, and vendor analysis.

All articles →