Enter the vial size and the bacteriostatic water you added to get the concentration and the micrograms carried by each unit on a U-100 syringe. Elamipretide is approved as FORZINITY for one rare disease, but research-grade SS-31 is not that product and Peptigrity states no SS-31 dose, so this page does the arithmetic, not the recommendation. The compound itself is covered in the SS-31 guide.
A 10 mg vial of SS-31 reconstituted with 2 mL of bacteriostatic water gives a concentration of 5.0 mg/mL, or 50 mcg per unit on a U-100 syringe.
Defaults: 10 mg is the most common labelled vial among the SS-31 tests on file, 21 Sep 2026 (121 of 223); 2 mL was chosen for simple arithmetic and is not a sourced volume. Peptigrity publishes no SS-31 dose, so the dose field starts empty.
Draw the syringe up to
Enter your own amount to see the draw. Add 2 mL of water to your 10 mg vial first.
SS-31 has 224 independent lab tests on file at Peptigrity, averaging 99.69% HPLC purity across the tests that report one. Purity is not net content: a clean certificate confirms what is in a vial, not how much. See the SS-31 lab-test records.
SS-31 (elamipretide, also MTP-131 and Bendavia) is a synthetic mitochondria-targeted tetrapeptide that binds cardiolipin in the inner mitochondrial membrane, and the first approved drug in the mitochondria-targeted peptide class: on September 19, 2025 the FDA granted accelerated approval to elamipretide as FORZINITY (Stealth BioTherapeutics), to improve muscle strength in patients with Barth syndrome weighing at least 30 kg. The compound page gives that product's route but not its strength in milligrams, so there is no label figure to print here — and even if there were, research-grade SS-31 sold by peptide vendors is not the approved product: it is a separate supply chain that carries none of its pharmaceutical quality controls.
The table summarises what the SS-31 compound page states (last updated August 2026).
| Question | What the compound page states | Evidence level |
|---|---|---|
| What is it? | A synthetic tetrapeptide (D-Arg-2'6'-dimethylTyr-Lys-Phe-NH₂) that binds cardiolipin | Chemical identity |
| An approved product? | FORZINITY, FDA accelerated approval September 19, 2025, for muscle strength in Barth syndrome (patients weighing at least 30 kg) only | FDA-approved (accelerated), one indication |
| The approved strength? | Not stated on the compound page | Not stated |
| Other indications? | Heart failure, ischemia-reperfusion and primary mitochondrial myopathy programs (PROGRESS-HF, EMBRACE-STEMI, MMPOWER-3) did not meet their primary endpoints | Phase 2/3 — primary endpoints not met |
| A research dose? | None — "Does Peptigrity recommend an SS-31 dose? No." | None — declined |
One practical consequence: SS-31 vials on the research market come in several sizes (this calculator offers 10, 30 and 50 mg), and the same quantity is a very different number of units depending on the vial and the water. Read the tables below for the vial you actually have. A certificate's purity figure confirms what is in a vial, not that it is the pharmaceutical product.
The table converts reference quantities to syringe units at the default of 5.0 mg/mL (10 mg of SS-31 in 2 mL), and counts how many draws of each a vial holds. Every row is arithmetic, not a dose: read the units for the amount you already intend to measure.
| Quantity | Draw at 5.0 mg/mL | Volume | Draws from a 10 mg vial | Draws from a 30 mg vial |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 100 mcg | 2.0 units | 0.02 mL | 100 | 300 |
| 250 mcg | 5.0 units | 0.05 mL | 40 | 120 |
| 500 mcg | 10.0 units | 0.10 mL | 20 | 60 |
| 1 mg | 20.0 units | 0.20 mL | 10 | 30 |
| 2 mg | 40.0 units | 0.40 mL | 5 | 15 |
The same SS-31 quantity lands on a different mark depending on how much water went into the vial. Read down the column for the concentration you actually mixed; a units figure carried across from another column is simply wrong.
| Quantity | At 10 mg/mL (10 mg + 1 mL) | At 5.0 mg/mL (10 mg + 2 mL) | At 2.0 mg/mL (10 mg + 5 mL) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 100 mcg | 1.0 units | 2.0 units | 5.0 units |
| 250 mcg | 2.5 units | 5.0 units | 12.5 units |
| 500 mcg | 5.0 units | 10.0 units | 25.0 units |
| 1 mg | 10.0 units | 20.0 units | 50.0 units |
| 2 mg | 20.0 units | 40.0 units | 100.0 units |
Every cell is the same arithmetic: units = (quantity in mg ÷ concentration in mg/mL) × 100 on a U-100 syringe. More water spreads the same mass over more units, which is the fix when a small quantity would otherwise sit at two or three units, where a one-unit misread is a large error.
Each SS-31 vial holds as many draws as its labelled mass divided by the quantity per draw; the water volume changes nothing about it. The grid counts draws, not weeks — this page states no frequency.
| Vial size | At 100 mcg | At 250 mcg | At 500 mcg | At 1 mg | At 2 mg |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10 mg | 100 | 40 | 20 | 10 | 5 |
| 30 mg | 300 | 120 | 60 | 30 | 15 |
| 50 mg | 500 | 200 | 100 | 50 | 25 |
The labelled mass is not a guarantee of the mass in your vial: net content is a separate measurement from purity, and certificates on file often measure a few percent above or below the label.
No label sets a diluent volume for research-grade SS-31, and the compound page states none, so the volume is a choice. The one decision with real consequences is resolution: a small quantity drawn from a strong solution sits at two or three units, where a one-unit misread is a large error, and the fix is more water. The technique is covered once, elsewhere: reconstituting peptides step by step and the bacteriostatic water guide. Storage and in-use guidance there is general peptide guidance, not an SS-31-specific finding.
Elamipretide is FDA-approved as FORZINITY (September 19, 2025, accelerated approval) for one indication only. In the compound page's words: "improving muscle strength in adult and pediatric patients with Barth syndrome weighing at least 30 kg, dosed subcutaneously once daily." That is the label of a prescription product for one rare disease; it is not a frequency for research-grade SS-31, and this calculator uses none. Accelerated approval means continued approval may be contingent on verification of clinical benefit in confirmatory trials. It is not approved for any other indication — including the longevity, energy and heart-failure uses discussed in research communities — and no other regulator has approved it for those uses as of August 2026. Research-grade SS-31 is legal to purchase as a research chemical for laboratory use in most jurisdictions, but it is not approved for human consumption.
Independent test records: SS-31 lab tests. Tracked prices: SS-31 price per milligram. How SS-31 compares with MOTS-c and NAD+: peptides for energy, reviewed.
It depends on the concentration. At the page default of 5 mg/mL (a 10 mg vial with 2 mL of water), each unit on a U-100 syringe carries 50 mcg, so 500 mcg is 10 units (0.10 mL). With 5 mL in the same vial (2 mg/mL) it is 25 units. A units figure quoted without a concentration cannot be used.
There isn't one Peptigrity states. Per its approval, the FORZINITY product is dosed subcutaneously once daily in Barth syndrome, but the compound page does not state its strength, and research-grade SS-31 is not that product. Peptigrity does not recommend a dose; this calculator converts a quantity you already have in mind into syringe units.
No. FORZINITY is the FDA-approved prescription form of elamipretide. Research-grade SS-31 sold by peptide vendors is a separate supply chain and carries none of the prescription product's pharmaceutical quality controls.
Yes, for one rare disease. Elamipretide received FDA accelerated approval as FORZINITY on September 19, 2025, to improve muscle strength in patients with Barth syndrome weighing at least 30 kg. It is not approved for any other indication.
Divide the vial's mass by the quantity per draw: 50 mg is 50,000 mcg, so at 500 mcg a draw it holds 100 draws, and at 1 mg it holds 50. The water volume changes the units per draw, not the number of draws. These are draws, not days.