Semaglutide
GLP-1 receptor agonist for blood sugar regulation and weight management. Sold as Ozempic®, Wegovy®, and Rybelsus®.
Also known as Wegovy, Ozempic, Rybelsus, NNC0113-0217
Peptigrity has 455 lab tests of semaglutide on file from 142 shops and 22 labs; the newest is from . Average HPLC purity is 99.66% across the 448 results that report it, and 97.3% of results are at or above 99%. 446 results compare the measured amount with the label (median 110.6% of label); 55 report endotoxin. 26 shops publish prices: $1.50 to $60.00 per mg, median $6.58. Peptigrity publishes measurements, not dosing advice.
From Peptigrity records · figures updated · Cite these figures
Also in 1 blend:CagriSema
Lab test results
| Tested | Shop | Lab | Purity | Measured vs label | Endotoxin | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ThePeptide | Testides | 98.92% | 9.39 / 10 mg 94% of label | — | SEMA10-0626-01 | |
| ThePeptide | Testides | 99.15% | 5.33 / 5 mg 107% of label | — | SEMA5-0626-01 | |
| Peptide Hackers | Accumark Labs | 99.93% | 37.82 / 5 mg 756% of labelCheck label | — | 7832 | |
| Purely Peptides | Krause Analytical | 98.60% | 33.4 / 30 mg 111% of label | — | tes8zb2 | |
| Purely Peptides | Krause Analytical | 98.80% | 32.3 / 30 mg 108% of label | — | muz22ts | |
| Purely Peptides | Bioviridian | 99.78% | 31.38 / 30 mg 105% of label | — | SEM-20260828-01 | |
| NWF Bio Peptides | Janoshik Labs | 99.87% | 7.9 / 5 mg 158% of labelCheck label | — | SM5/2026-9-5 | |
| Purely Peptides | Bioviridian | 99.78% | 10.34 / 10 mg 103% of label | — | SEM-20260811-01 | |
| Peptide Plugs | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.86% | 24.19 / 20 mg 121% of label | Pass | 135-02-2B✓ | |
| Backroad Aminos | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.94% | 11.25 / 10 mg 113% of label | Pass | 0826SM10 | |
| Peptide Plugs | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.85% | 11.76 / 10 mg 118% of label | Pass | 189-02-DK✓ | |
| S1 Research | ILS Laboratories | 99.50% | 5.33 / 5 mg 107% of label | — | SMW071526✓ |
Shops with a semaglutide test since
41 shops. A shop is listed when a third-party lab published a test of its semaglutide in the last six months; the newest result is shown, as the lab reported it. Ordered by date, nothing else.
| Shop | Newest test | Result | Semaglutide tests | Warehouse | Reviews |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ThePeptideClaimedTests on file | Lot SEMA10-0626-01 · Testides | 98.92% | 2 | 🇨🇦 Canada | 2 · 5.0 |
| Peptide HackersClaimedTests on file | Lot 7832 · Accumark Labs | 99.93% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Purely PeptidesClaimedTests on file | Lot tes8zb2 · Krause Analytical | 98.60% | 4 | 🇺🇸 United States | 1 · 5.0 |
| NWF Bio PeptidesClaimedTests on file | Lot SM5/2026-9-5 · Janoshik Labs | 99.87% | 1 | Not stated | 3 · 5.0 |
| Peptide PlugsTests on file | Lot 135-02-2B · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.86% | 3 | Not stated | 20 · 4.5 |
| Backroad AminosTests on file | Lot 0826SM10 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.94% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| S1 ResearchClaimedTests on file | Lot SMW071526 · ILS Laboratories | 99.50% | 3 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Molecular Solutions PeptidesTests on file | Lot R260708-SM10-R001 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.88% | 5 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Double R LabsTests on file | Lot DRL-07-SM5 · Kovera Labs | 99.53% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Global AminosTests on file | View record · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.84% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
Show the other 31 shops
| PurgoLabs PeptidesTests on file | Lot PL-GLP1-03 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.95% | 3 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Ascend ScienceTests on file | Lot C37H53N40S189 · Kovera Labs | 98.50% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| PepGenics ResearchTests on file | Lot SM5063026 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.93% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| American PeptidesTests on file | Lot SEMA10-0616 · Bioviridian | 99.90% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Modified AminosTests on file | Lot MA-GLP1S-100 · Ethos Analytics | 99.00% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| NuLife PeptidesTests on file | Lot NLGLP130501 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.89% | 1 | Not stated | 2 · 5.0 |
| Elevated PeptidesTests on file | Lot 2026-06-22 · MZ Biolabs | 99.68% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Ascension PeptidesTests on file | Lot 04-05260628 · Kovera Labs | 99.25% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Modern Research PeptidesTests on file | Lot 81488WE · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.75% | 5 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| My Amino LabClaimedTests on file | Lot V2606-S5-2401 · Kovera Labs | 99.62% | 1 | 🇺🇸 United States | No reviews yet |
| PeptideRUOTests on file | Lot SM050615 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.91% | 1 | Not stated | 1 · 4.0 |
| AMC EssentialsTests on file | Lot AMC-SM22-01 · Kovera Labs | 99.64% | 4 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Zen AminosClaimedTests on file | Lot ZA-3417042-P · Horizon Analytical | 99.49% | 4 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Puratek PeptidesTests on file | Lot PUR1S002 · ILS Laboratories | 99.63% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Umbrella LabsTests on file | Lot ULP-48814D · Vanguard Laboratory | 99.80% | 4 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| LA PeptidesTests on file | Lot 1318 · Bioviridian | 99.90% | 3 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Nura PeptideTests on file | Lot GS10-062026-1 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.91% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| National Science LabsTests on file | Lot C187H291N45O59 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.91% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| GenPeptideTests on file | Lot GPSEM10060726 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.65% | 5 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Peptide PartnersTests on file | View record · TrustPointe Analytics | 99.97% | 4 | Not stated | 33 · 4.7 |
| Peptide MindsTests on file | Lot PMINDS69 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.84% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Kalyx LabsTests on file | Lot SM10-B02 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.83% | 1 | Not stated | 3 · 5.0 |
| Research Chem HQTests on file | Lot #HX2X7 · ILS Laboratories | 99.83% | 3 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| PeptidePro CanadaTests on file | Lot 2511-1-246 · Janoshik Labs | 99.64% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| BulkGLPTests on file | Lot 062502 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.87% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Ameano PeptidesTests on file | Lot AMP-1P1005102026-03 · Janoshik Labs | 99.75% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| EZ PeptidesTests on file | Lot EZP-1P1005102026-03 · Janoshik Labs | 99.73% | 2 | Not stated | 1 · 4.0 |
| Glow AminosClaimedTests on file | Lot GL-010117 · ILS Laboratories | 99.79% | 3 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| TruLab PeptidesClaimedTests on file | Lot Poly2605070122 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.59% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Petratide ScienceTests on file | Lot PS05-SM1B · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.90% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| True Research LabsTests on file | Lot TRL-2885342 · Horizon Analytical | 99.23% | 3 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
Shops listing Semaglutide
Compare prices from 26 shops →What is Semaglutide?
Semaglutide is a 31-amino-acid synthetic GLP-1 receptor agonist developed by Novo Nordisk, marketed as Ozempic for type 2 diabetes, Wegovy for chronic weight management, and Rybelsus as the first oral GLP-1 receptor agonist. It received initial FDA approval in 2017 (Ozempic) and 2021 (Wegovy). Research-grade semaglutide is sold by third-party laboratories for laboratory use only — that material is not the FDA-approved prescription product and carries no pharmacy-grade quality controls.
What is semaglutide and how does it work?
Semaglutide activates the GLP-1 receptor to increase glucose-dependent insulin secretion, slow gastric emptying, suppress appetite via central pathways, and reduce hepatic glucose production. The molecule is modified from native GLP-1 with two amino acid substitutions and a C18 fatty diacid side chain that binds serum albumin, extending half-life to approximately 7 days and enabling once-weekly subcutaneous dosing. Rybelsus uses an oral absorption enhancer (SNAC) to achieve bioavailability through the gastric mucosa.
Evidence level: human RCT (multiple Phase 3 trials in STEP, SUSTAIN, and PIONEER programs)
What does the Phase 3 evidence show for semaglutide?
In STEP 1 (n=1,961), semaglutide produced an average weight loss of 14.9% at the 2.4 mg dose over 68 weeks in adults with obesity without type 2 diabetes, versus 2.4% for placebo. In type 2 diabetes (SUSTAIN program), semaglutide reduced HbA1c by up to 1.8 percentage points and demonstrated cardiovascular outcome benefit in SUSTAIN-6. The SELECT trial later established cardiovascular event reduction in obesity without diabetes — a first-in-class result.
Source: Once-Weekly Semaglutide in Adults with Overweight or Obesity, Wilding J.P.H. et al., N Engl J Med, 2021 · Evidence level: human RCT (Phase 3, multiple programs)
How does semaglutide compare to tirzepatide and retatrutide?
Semaglutide is the founding compound of the modern GLP-1 weight-loss class, but produces lower percent weight loss than the dual and triple agonists that followed it. Tirzepatide's SURMOUNT-1 result (22.5% at 72 weeks) exceeded semaglutide's STEP 1 result (14.9% at 68 weeks) A direct head-to-head Phase 3b trial, SURMOUNT-5 (n=751), settled the comparison in 2025: tirzepatide produced 20.2% average weight loss at 72 weeks versus 13.7% with semaglutide 2.4 mg. in matched populations, and SURPASS-2 demonstrated tirzepatide superiority head-to-head in type 2 diabetes. Retatrutide's Phase 3 readouts are exceeding both. Full cross-compound comparison is in our comparing semaglutide and tirzepatide guide.
Source: Tirzepatide as Compared with Semaglutide for the Treatment of Obesity, Aronne L.J. et al. (SURMOUNT-5 Trial Investigators), N Engl J Med, 2025
| Compound | Mechanism | Phase 3 weight loss | Regulatory status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Retatrutide | GLP-1 + GIP + glucagon (triple) | 24.2% — Phase 2, 48 wks (published); Phase 3 TRIUMPH figures (~28–30%) are company topline, not yet peer-reviewed | Investigational |
| Tirzepatide | GLP-1 + GIP (dual) | 22.5% — SURMOUNT-1, 72 wks | FDA-approved (Mounjaro/Zepbound) |
| Semaglutide | GLP-1 (single) | 14.9% — STEP 1, 68 wks | FDA-approved (Ozempic/Wegovy) |
What are the documented side effects of semaglutide?
The most common semaglutide side effects in STEP 1 were gastrointestinal — nausea (44%), diarrhea (32%), vomiting (25%), and constipation (24%) — typically mild-to-moderate and concentrated in the dose-escalation phase. Less common but clinically relevant signals include rare pancreatitis cases, gallbladder events, and reported "Ozempic face" / "Ozempic butt" cosmetic changes attributable to rapid fat loss. Discontinuation rates due to adverse events were 7.0% on semaglutide versus 3.1% on placebo. Evidence level: Human RCT (Phase 3). Cross-compound side effect comparison is in peptide side effects by compound and route.
Source: Once-Weekly Semaglutide in Adults with Overweight or Obesity, Wilding J.P.H. et al., N Engl J Med, 2021
What is the regulatory status of semaglutide?
Semaglutide is FDA-approved as Ozempic (type 2 diabetes, 2017), Rybelsus (oral, 2019), and Wegovy (chronic weight management, 2021), with EMA approval following for all three. It is available by prescription through licensed pharmacies. Research-grade semaglutide sold by third-party laboratories is not the FDA-approved prescription product. In December 2025 the FDA also approved an oral semaglutide 25 mg tablet (Wegovy pill) for chronic weight management — the first oral GLP-1 approved for that indication. The compounded-semaglutide era is over: the FDA declared the semaglutide shortage resolved on February 21, 2025, and its enforcement-discretion window for compounders closed on April 22, 2025 (503A pharmacies) and May 22, 2025 (503B outsourcing facilities). On April 30, 2026 the FDA went further, proposing to exclude semaglutide (along with tirzepatide and liraglutide) from the 503B bulks list after finding no clinical need for outsourcing facilities to compound them — a proposal still pending as of August 2026. For athletes: semaglutide is not on the WADA Prohibited List — it is tracked under WADA's 2026 Monitoring Program to detect patterns of misuse, which is not a ban. For prescription access pathways including telehealth options, see can you get semaglutide without a prescription.
Sources: Novo Nordisk announcement — FDA approval of Wegovy® pill (oral semaglutide 25 mg) for weight management, Novo Nordisk, via novonordisk.com (company announcement); FDA clarifies policies for compounders as national GLP-1 supply begins to stabilize, FDA, via fda.gov (Drug Alerts and Statements); FDA Proposes to Exclude Semaglutide, Tirzepatide, and Liraglutide on 503B Bulks List, FDA, via fda.gov (Press Announcements); WADA 2026 Monitoring Program — GLP-1 receptor agonist markers (semaglutide, tirzepatide) tracked; not prohibited, WADA (reported by EMJ Reviews), via EMJ Reviews (secondary; WADA primary PDF pending)
Why does semaglutide vendor verification matter even though it's FDA-approved?
Because FDA approval applies to Novo Nordisk's pharmacy-distributed Ozempic, Wegovy, and Rybelsus — not to research-grade semaglutide sold by third-party labs. Research-grade semaglutide is a separate supply chain with its own quality risks: wider purity variance, occasional underdosing, and inconsistent endotoxin control. Independent HPLC purity testing and mass spectrometry identity confirmation (expected MW 4,113.6 Da) are the only meaningful purity signals a research-grade vendor can provide. Learn how to interpret these in our how-to-test-peptides hub.
How does Peptigrity verify semaglutide vendors?
Peptigrity collects independent third-party Certificates of Analysis for semaglutide from shops' official channels and verifies each for authenticity before publishing. Because shops choose which COAs to publish, results reflect the batches shops have made public rather than every production batch — a selection bias we state openly. A community-funded Testing Grant to purchase and test vials anonymously is in development. The lab test table above this section shows the full cross-shop dataset, sortable by date, purity, and labeled-vs-tested quantity. Tests come from named labs including Freedom Diagnostics, Janoshik Analytical, Chromate, and Vanguard Laboratory. Methodology detail is in how we calculate trust scores.
Frequently asked questions
How can I verify a semaglutide vendor is selling real product?
The only reliable purity signal is an independent third-party HPLC certificate of analysis from a lab the vendor does not own or pay. Peptigrity publishes independent semaglutide test results from independent labs in the table above. For COA interpretation, see red flags in peptide certificates of analysis and the compound-specific where to buy semaglutide guide.
Can I get semaglutide without a prescription?
Research-grade semaglutide is legally sold as a research chemical without prescription in most jurisdictions, but is not approved for human consumption. The FDA-approved versions (Ozempic, Wegovy, Rybelsus) require a prescription, which can be obtained through traditional medical care or telehealth platforms. Full pathway breakdown is in can you get semaglutide without a prescription.
Can I get semaglutide from a compounding pharmacy?
Compounding pharmacy access to semaglutide depends on FDA shortage status and 503A/503B regulations, both of which have shifted during 2024–2025. Generally no — that era ended in 2025. Mass compounding was lawful only while semaglutide was on the FDA shortage list. The FDA declared the shortage resolved on February 21, 2025, and its enforcement-discretion window closed on April 22, 2025 for 503A pharmacies and May 22, 2025 for 503B outsourcing facilities. In April 2026 the FDA additionally proposed excluding semaglutide from the 503B bulks list, which would close the main remaining route permanently. For the full sequence of events, see the FDA peptide regulation 2025–2026 timeline. Track current status in FDA peptide regulation 2025–2026: the complete timeline.
Sources: FDA clarifies policies for compounders as national GLP-1 supply begins to stabilize, FDA, via fda.gov (Drug Alerts and Statements); FDA Proposes to Exclude Semaglutide, Tirzepatide, and Liraglutide on 503B Bulks List, FDA, via fda.gov (Press Announcements)
Why does research-grade semaglutide cost less than Ozempic or Wegovy?
Research-grade semaglutide is manufactured without the pharmaceutical-grade overhead (FDA inspections, full GMP compliance, branded packaging, distribution markups) that prices the prescription products. It also carries no regulatory protection or quality guarantee. Current research-grade pricing is broken down in how much do peptides cost.
Does Peptigrity recommend a semaglutide dose?
No. Peptigrity is an independent review platform, not a medical authority. The doses studied in STEP and SUSTAIN (0.25 mg through 2.4 mg weekly, with mandatory titration) were administered under clinical supervision. Anyone considering semaglutide should consult a licensed physician about the prescription product.
How does semaglutide compare to tirzepatide for weight loss?
Tirzepatide produces larger percent weight loss than semaglutide — confirmed directly in the SURMOUNT-5 head-to-head trial (n=751), where tirzepatide averaged 20.2% weight loss at 72 weeks versus 13.7% for semaglutide 2.4 mg. The single-drug Phase 3 programs told the same story: 22.5% in SURMOUNT-1 (72 weeks) versus 14.9% in STEP 1 (68 weeks). Full comparison in our comparing semaglutide and tirzepatide guide.
Sources: Tirzepatide as Compared with Semaglutide for the Treatment of Obesity, Aronne L.J. et al. (SURMOUNT-5 Trial Investigators), N Engl J Med, 2025; Tirzepatide Once Weekly for the Treatment of Obesity, Jastreboff A.M. et al., N Engl J Med, 2022; Once-Weekly Semaglutide in Adults with Overweight or Obesity, Wilding J.P.H. et al., N Engl J Med, 2021
This section is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. Research-grade semaglutide sold for laboratory use is not the FDA-approved prescription product (Ozempic, Wegovy, Rybelsus). Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before using any peptide or research compound. Peptigrity is an independent review platform and does not sell, endorse, or recommend specific products or vendors.
Semaglutide and other weight loss & metabolic peptides
| Compound | Mechanism | Avg purity | Tests | Shops |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Semaglutide This page | GLP-1 receptor agonist | 99.7% | 455 | 298 |
| Retatrutide | GLP-1 / GIP / Glucagon triple-agonist | 99.7% | 1,432 | 424 |
| Tirzepatide | GLP-1 / GIP dual-agonist | 99.8% | 1,065 | 374 |
| MOTS-C | Mitochondrial-derived metabolic peptide | 99.4% | 612 | 482 |
| Cagrilintide | Long-acting amylin receptor agonist | 99.6% | 284 | 296 |
| 5-Amino-1MQ | NNMT inhibitor (small molecule) | 99.6% | 190 | 355 |
| AOD-9604 | Direct adipocyte lipolysis (GH 176–191 analog) | 99.3% | 150 | 295 |
| HGH Fragment 176–191 | HGH fragment for lipolysis | 99.0% | 62 | 143 |
Community
No logs, questions or discussions about Semaglutide yet — early posts get the most eyes.
Discuss Semaglutide
Have a lab test for Semaglutide?
Every submitted test helps the community verify purity across brands. Free, fast, independent.