SEMAX
Synthetic heptapeptide derived from ACTH(4-10), researched for neuroprotection, cognitive enhancement, and brain injury recovery. Approved in Russia as a nootropic.
Also known as MEHFPGP, ACTH (4-7) Pro-Gly-Pro
Peptigrity has 318 lab tests of SEMAX on file from 196 shops and 24 labs; the newest is from . Average HPLC purity is 99.45% across the 307 results that report it, and 89.3% of results are at or above 99%. 306 results compare the measured amount with the label (median 107.9% of label); 68 report endotoxin. 90 shops publish prices: $1.49 to $44.00 per mg, median $4.40. Peptigrity publishes measurements, not dosing advice.
From Peptigrity records · figures updated · Cite these figures
Also in 1 blend:Brain Blend
Lab test results
| Tested | Shop | Lab | Purity | Measured vs label | Endotoxin | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rogue Compounds | ILS Laboratories | 99.90% | 10.67 / 10 mg 107% of label | Pass | SXL-002 | |
| SF Bay Area Peptides | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.31% | 12.28 / 10 mg 123% of label | — | 10567 | |
| Peptide Hackers | Accumark Labs | 99.70% | 9.83 / 10 mg 98% of label | — | AM20260925-12 | |
| AethelCore | Janoshik Labs | 98.89% | 9.71 / 10 mg 97% of label | — | 09-2026-H07 | |
| Backroad Aminos | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.08% | 10.93 / 10 mg 109% of label | Pass | 0926XA10 | |
| Purely Peptides | Bioviridian | 99.78% | 30.72 / 30 mg 102% of label | — | SMX-20260828-01 | |
| Backroad Aminos | Kovera Labs | 99.74% | 11.69 / 10 mg 117% of label | Pass | 08142026AD10 | |
| Ramp Peptides | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.32% | 9.82 / 10 mg 98% of label | — | SX10-RP02✓ | |
| High Tide Compounds | Kovera Labs | 99.54% | 13.79 / 10 mg 138% of label | Pass | XA10-002✓ | |
| Luv Aminos | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.83% | 4.37 / 5 mg 87% of label | — | SEMAX-5-001 | |
| Biotech Compounds | Bioviridian | 99.86% | 11.24 / 10 mg 112% of label | — | 202609-01-XA✓ | |
| PeptideRUO | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.29% | 10.95 / 10 mg 110% of label | — | SX101125✓ |
Shops with a SEMAX test since
68 shops. A shop is listed when a third-party lab published a test of its SEMAX in the last six months; the newest result is shown, as the lab reported it. Ordered by date, nothing else.
| Shop | Newest test | Result | SEMAX tests | Warehouse | Reviews |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rogue CompoundsClaimedTests on file | Lot SXL-002 · ILS Laboratories | 99.90% | 1 | 🇺🇸 United States | No reviews yet |
| SF Bay Area PeptidesClaimedTests on file | Lot 10567 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.31% | 1 | 🇺🇸 United States | No reviews yet |
| Peptide HackersClaimedTests on file | Lot AM20260925-12 · Accumark Labs | 99.70% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| AethelCoreClaimedTests on file | Lot 09-2026-H07 · Janoshik Labs | 98.89% | 1 | 🇩🇪 Germany · 🇷🇴 Romania | No reviews yet |
| Backroad AminosTests on file | Lot 0926XA10 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.08% | 3 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Purely PeptidesClaimedTests on file | Lot SMX-20260828-01 · Bioviridian | 99.78% | 1 | 🇺🇸 United States | 1 · 5.0 |
| Ramp PeptidesTests on file | Lot SX10-RP02 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.32% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| High Tide CompoundsTests on file | Lot XA10-002 · Kovera Labs | 99.54% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Luv AminosClaimedTests on file | Lot SEMAX-5-001 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.83% | 1 | 🇺🇸 United States | No reviews yet |
| Biotech CompoundsTests on file | Lot 202609-01-XA · Bioviridian | 99.86% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
Show the other 58 shops
| PeptideRUOTests on file | Lot SX101125 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.29% | 1 | Not stated | 1 · 4.0 |
| Peptide FoundryTests on file | Lot FO889 · ILS Laboratories | 99.62% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Phase One LabzTests on file | Lot P1-SMX-26 · ILS Laboratories | 98.83% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Aigil ResearchTests on file | Lot AG-SK10 · ILS Laboratories | 99.79% | 1 | Not stated | 1 · 4.0 |
| Global AminosTests on file | View record · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.63% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Pure AminoTests on file | Lot PA25070501 · ILS Laboratories | 99.71% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| TriVial BioWorksClaimedTests on file | Lot SX10-0705 · Kovera Labs | 99.72% | 3 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Janera ScienceTests on file | Lot Semax-10-0626-02 · Vanguard Laboratory | 99.24% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| BiopeptitechTests on file | Lot BPTS629265EMAX · Accurate Test Lab | 99.68% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Maple Research LabsTests on file | Lot 5813 · Testides | 99.88% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Modified AminosTests on file | Lot MA-SEMP-100 · Ethos Analytics | 99.00% | 3 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| My Amino LabClaimedTests on file | Lot V2606-SX10-2401 · Kovera Labs | 99.74% | 1 | 🇺🇸 United States | No reviews yet |
| Peptide PlugsTests on file | Lot 148-03-DK · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.79% | 2 | Not stated | 20 · 4.5 |
| Voltera Sciences PeptidesTests on file | Lot XA10-06152026 · ILS Laboratories | 99.90% | 1 | Not stated | 1 · 4.0 |
| Humatide PeptidesClaimedTests on file | Lot H40SEMX060126 · ILS Laboratories | 99.65% | 1 | 🇺🇸 United States | 27 · 4.9 |
| Synerium PeptidesTests on file | Lot Sr-202601-039 · Uzorak | 99.18% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Blank PeptidesClaimedTests on file | Lot B-4383620-P · Horizon Analytical | 99.34% | 1 | Not stated | 11 · 4.6 |
| Molecular Solutions PeptidesTests on file | Lot R260616-SMX3-W001 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.81% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Silverstone Labs CoTests on file | Lot SAX-0726 · ILS Laboratories | 99.87% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Ascend Peptides AUClaimedTests on file | Lot 16/06/2026 · Ozcanium Analytics | 98.98% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Honest PeptideTests on file | Lot SX1006152026 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.59% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| AminoVaultTests on file | Lot XA10189 · MDx BioAnalytical Laboratory | 99.76% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Synova SupplyClaimedTests on file | Lot SS-4383620-P · Horizon Analytical | 99.34% | 1 | Not stated | 1 · 5.0 |
| Glow AminosClaimedTests on file | Lot GL-010154 · ILS Laboratories | 99.86% | 4 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Research Chem HQTests on file | Lot #HX2ZN · ILS Laboratories | 99.71% | 3 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Optimum FormulaTests on file | Lot #HX2ZN · ILS Laboratories | 99.71% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| American PeptidesTests on file | Lot SEMX10-0528 · Bioviridian | 99.90% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Ascension PeptidesTests on file | Lot 30-05260628 · Kovera Labs | 99.89% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Oasis LabsClaimedTests on file | Lot 112455 · Bioviridian | 99.90% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Regenorix PeptidesClaimedTests on file | Lot RGXSEMAX10-2606-01 · liquilabs | 99.80% | 1 | 🇳🇱 Netherlands | No reviews yet |
| PepmeTests on file | View record · liquilabs | 99.70% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Puratek PeptidesTests on file | Lot SEM10004 · ILS Laboratories | 99.84% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Everest PeptidesTests on file | Lot EVR SEMAX10 2606 002 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.49% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| BioGlowTests on file | Lot BG-117 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.86% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| PeptideTechTests on file | Lot SEM5-2235 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.58% | 1 | Not stated | 1 · 4.0 |
| Zen AminosClaimedTests on file | Lot ZAP-SMX-04 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.39% | 5 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Modern Research PeptidesTests on file | Lot MRSUN2566 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.80% | 3 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| EVO Labs ResearchTests on file | Lot EVO5213026 · Kovera Labs | 99.77% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Adria ScienceClaimedTests on file | Lot 2025282 · liquilabs | 99.60% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Good ScienceTests on file | Lot 3548321 · Vanguard Laboratory | 99.14% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Alpha PeptidesTests on file | Lot SX-51826528 · Analytical Formulations Inc | 99.50% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Crystal PeptidesTests on file | Lot Se1010CP · Janoshik Labs | 99.02% | 1 | Not stated | 1 · 5.0 |
| Snap PeptidesTests on file | Lot SP26-SEMAX10-01 · Kovera Labs | 99.88% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| CuroClaimedTests on file | Lot SEM10SR526 · BTLabs | 99.60% | 1 | 🇺🇸 United States | 1 · 5.0 |
| Drakon PeptidesTests on file | Lot DRK-SEM-MAY26 · Janoshik Labs | 99.16% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Vistara LabsClaimedTests on file | View record · Testides | 99.78% | 1 | 🇨🇦 Canada | No reviews yet |
| Protide HealthTests on file | Lot PH-sem10-0128 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.89% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Rescue Research USA PeptidesTests on file | View record · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.61% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Valor PeptidesTests on file | Lot ARC-SE10-001 · Accumark Labs | 99.50% | 3 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Precisely PeptidesTests on file | Lot PP412-26-001 · Vanguard Laboratory | 99.79% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| ElutideClaimedTests on file | Lot E-3157061-P · Horizon Analytical | 99.23% | 2 | 🇺🇸 United States | No reviews yet |
| PeptidePro CanadaTests on file | Lot 2511-2-249 · Janoshik Labs | 99.63% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Peptify UKTests on file | Lot 2026/04 · Janoshik Labs | 98.35% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Synthesis PeptidesClaimedTests on file | View record · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.72% | 4 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Idun PeptidesClaimedTests on file | Lot SM10-260411 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.21% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| NG PeptideTests on file | Lot SMX-09 · ILS Laboratories | 99.77% | 3 | Not stated | 13 · 4.5 |
| KOLD PeptidesTests on file | Lot 1220 · Accumark Labs | 99.57% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Vertex LabsClaimedTests on file | Lot SX0000038 · BTLabs | 99.80% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
Shops listing SEMAX
Compare prices from 90 shops →What is SEMAX?
Semax is a synthetic heptapeptide (Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro) derived from a fragment of adrenocorticotropic hormone (ACTH 4-10), approved in Russia as a nootropic and neuroprotective agent and used clinically for stroke recovery, cognitive impairment, and ischemic brain injury. It is one of the longest-clinically-used peptides in the Russian medical system and has substantial post-market clinical experience but limited Western RCT replication. Important regulatory update: Semax came off the FDA's Category 2 bulk-substances list in April 2026 because the nominations were withdrawn by the nominators, and at its July 23–24, 2026 meeting the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee voted to recommend it for the 503A compounding list — an advisory vote only, with rulemaking not expected before late 2027.
What is Semax and how does the ACTH(4-10)-derived mechanism work?
Semax is a synthetic heptapeptide (Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro) derived from the ACTH(4-10) fragment with N-terminal modifications for stability and intranasal bioavailability, proposed to act through multiple mechanisms: BDNF (brain-derived neurotrophic factor) upregulation, melanocortin receptor modulation, neurotransmitter system effects (dopaminergic, serotonergic), and direct neuroprotective effects against ischemic injury. The intranasal route allows direct nose-to-brain delivery, bypassing the blood-brain barrier and limiting systemic exposure.
Evidence level: approved in Russia (stroke, cognitive disorders); preclinical extensive (neuroprotection, BDNF); Western Phase 2/3 RCT limited
What does the research show for Semax?
Russian clinical practice has used Semax for ischemic stroke recovery, transient ischemic attack, cognitive impairment, and ADHD in pediatric populations, with substantial post-market clinical experience accumulated over 30+ years. Preclinical studies have shown BDNF upregulation, neuroprotection in stroke models, and effects on cognitive performance markers in rodents. Western-standard Phase 2/3 RCT data is limited; the strongest evidence base comes from Russian clinical use rather than blinded controlled trials.
Evidence level: russian clinical (approved use, decades of practice); preclinical extensive; Western RCT limited
How does Semax compare to other nootropic peptides?
Semax sits in the Russian-developed cognitive peptide cluster alongside Selank (anxiolytic) and N-Acetyl Semax Amidate (extended-stability Semax analog), distinguished by its primary cognitive enhancement and neuroprotection positioning.
| Compound | Mechanism | Primary effect | Approved status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Semax | ACTH(4-10), BDNF upregulation | Cognitive, neuroprotection | Approved in Russia |
| N-Acetyl Semax Amidate | Acetylated/amidated Semax analog | Cognitive (longer half-life) | Not approved (research) |
| Selank | Tuftsin-derived, GABA/serotonin | Anxiolytic, cognitive | Approved in Russia |
| P21 | CNTF-derived, neurogenesis | Neurogenic | Preclinical only |
What are the documented side effects of Semax?
Side effects in Russian clinical use are generally mild — occasional mild irritation of nasal mucosa with intranasal administration, transient headache, and rare reports of mild stimulation effects. The favorable safety profile is consistent with the ACTH-fragment origin and intranasal delivery limiting systemic exposure. Long-term safety has been observed in Russian clinical practice over decades with the caveats that apply to non-blinded clinical use.
Evidence level: russian clinical safety record (decades); Western RCT safety data limited
What is the regulatory status of Semax?
Semax is approved for medical use in Russia for ischemic stroke recovery, transient ischemic attack, and cognitive disorders, but is not approved by the FDA, EMA, or other major Western regulators. In April 2026 the FDA removed semax (as semax acetate) from its Category 2 "significant safety risks" bulk-substances list — a change the FDA attributed to the original nominations being withdrawn by the nominators, not a safety clearance, and one that did not add semax to Category 1 or authorize compounding. At its July 23–24, 2026 meeting the FDA's Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee voted 8–5 (one abstention) to recommend semax for the 503A compounding list — one of six of seven peptides recommended over FDA reviewers' objections. The vote is advisory only: pharmacies cannot legally compound semax under 503A until the FDA completes formal rulemaking, which is not expected before late 2027, and the agency may decline. Current status in FDA peptide regulation 2025–2026 timeline.
Sources: FDA Announces Removal of 12 Peptides from Category 2 (nominations withdrawn by the nominators) and Schedules PCAC Meetings, Orrick (legal analysis of the FDA notice), via Orrick Insights; PCAC July 23–24 2026 meeting outcome, FDA PCAC, via Buchanan Ingersoll / Clinical Peptide / NCPA / AJMC
Why does Semax vendor verification matter?
Semax synthesis is mature and widely available in the research-grade market, but the structural similarity between Semax (Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro) and N-Acetyl Semax Amidate (Ac-Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro-NH₂) creates mislabeling risk — vendors occasionally sell one as the other. Mass spectrometry identity confirmation distinguishes the two definitively. Intranasal formulations have additional stability and excipient considerations not addressed by basic peptide HPLC. Guidance in how-to-test-peptides hub.
How does Peptigrity verify Semax vendors?
Peptigrity collects independent third-party Certificates of Analysis for Semax from shops' official channels and verifies each for authenticity before publishing. Because shops choose which COAs to publish, results reflect the batches shops have made public rather than every production batch — a selection bias we state openly. A community-funded Testing Grant to purchase and test vials anonymously is in development. The lab test table above this section shows the cross-shop dataset. Tests come from labs including Janoshik Analytical, Freedom Diagnostics, and Chromate. Methodology in how we calculate trust scores.
Frequently asked questions
What does Semax do?
Semax is researched and clinically used in Russia for cognitive enhancement, ischemic stroke recovery, and neuroprotection, with proposed mechanisms including BDNF upregulation and effects on multiple neurotransmitter systems. Russian clinical evidence base is substantial; Western Phase 2/3 RCT evidence is more limited.
Is Semax legal to purchase?
Semax is approved for medical use in Russia and is legal to purchase as a research chemical for laboratory use in most other jurisdictions, but it is not approved for human consumption in the US, EU, or most Western markets. The April 2026 Category 2 removal (attributed to withdrawn nominations) and the July 2026 PCAC recommendation are steps toward a possible future compounding pathway, but neither authorizes compounding today — that requires FDA rulemaking not expected before late 2027. Country breakdown in peptide legal status guide.
When will the FDA decide on Semax?
The PCAC has already reviewed Semax: at its July 23–24, 2026 meeting it voted 8–5 (one abstention) to recommend adding Semax to the 503A bulks list, over the objection of FDA's own reviewers. That recommendation is advisory, not a rule — the FDA must complete formal rulemaking (realistically late 2027 at the earliest) before compounding is lawful, and it may decline. The PCAC will evaluate historical safety data and clinical utility to make a recommendation on whether Semax should be added to the 503A bulks list. Track developments in FDA peptide regulation 2025–2026 timeline.
Source: PCAC July 23–24 2026 meeting outcome, FDA PCAC, via Buchanan Ingersoll / Clinical Peptide / NCPA / AJMC
How does Semax differ from N-Acetyl Semax Amidate?
N-Acetyl Semax Amidate is Semax with N-terminal acetylation and C-terminal amidation modifications that extend half-life and improve bioavailability. They are different molecules with related effects; the modified analog has longer activity per dose. Some research-grade vendors sell one mislabeled as the other.
How can I verify a Semax vendor is selling real product?
Independent third-party HPLC certificate of analysis from a lab the vendor does not own or pay, with mass spectrometry identity confirmation. Mass spec is essential to distinguish Semax from N-Acetyl Semax Amidate and from related ACTH-fragment peptides. COA interpretation in red flags in peptide certificates of analysis.
Does Peptigrity recommend a Semax dose?
No. Peptigrity is an independent review platform, not a medical authority. Russian clinical protocols for stroke recovery and cognitive indications vary; intranasal dosing is the primary clinical route. Anyone considering Semax use should consult a licensed physician.
This section is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. Semax is approved for medical use in Russia but is not approved by the FDA or other major Western regulators. It was removed from Category 2 of the FDA 503A bulk substances list in April 2026 and is scheduled for PCAC review in July 2026. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before using any peptide or research compound. Peptigrity is an independent review platform and does not sell, endorse, or recommend specific products or vendors.
SEMAX and other cognitive enhancement & neuroprotection peptides
| Compound | Mechanism | Avg purity | Tests | Shops |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SEMAX This page | Synthetic ACTH(4-10) heptapeptide analog | 99.5% | 318 | 430 |
| SELANK | Tuftsin-derived anxiolytic heptapeptide | 99.6% | 338 | 432 |
| DSIP (Delta Sleep-inducing Peptide) | Nine-amino-acid sleep-regulating neuropeptide | 99.3% | 247 | 384 |
| Oxytocin | Nonapeptide neurohypophyseal hormone | 99.1% | 65 | 229 |
| Adamax (Davunetide/NAP) | ADNP-derived microtubule-stabilizing octapeptide | 99.6% | 40 | 191 |
| N-Acetyl Semax Amidate | Acetylated/amidated SEMAX analog | 99.7% | 37 | 116 |
| PE-22-28 | TREK-1-blocking antidepressant peptide (rodent) | 99.7% | 12 | 82 |
| P21 (P021) | CNTF-derived neurogenic peptide mimetic | 99.5% | 10 | 124 |
Community
No logs, questions or discussions about SEMAX yet — early posts get the most eyes.
Have a lab test for SEMAX?
Every submitted test helps the community verify purity across brands. Free, fast, independent.