ForumPromotional activities from 11.2 to 11.8· Shop talk · last reply 9 h ago
Growth hormone

Sermorelin

Synthetic 29-amino acid GHRH analog, the first FDA-approved GH-releasing peptide (Geref®). Stimulates natural pulsatile GH secretion from the pituitary.

Also known as Geref, Gerel, GHRH (1-29), GRF (1-29)

Peptigrity has 231 lab tests of sermorelin on file from 133 shops and 17 labs; the newest is from . Average HPLC purity is 99.36% across the 228 results that report it, and 91.2% of results are at or above 99%. 224 results compare the measured amount with the label (median 110.4% of label); 41 report endotoxin. 64 shops publish prices: $2.50 to $15.80 per mg, median $7.20. Peptigrity publishes measurements, not dosing advice.

From Peptigrity records · figures updated · Cite these figures

Average purity
99.36%
HPLC · 228 results · 91.2% at 99%+
Lab tests on file
231
from 133 shops · 17 labs
Shops listing it
314
64 publish prices
Median price per mg
$7.20
range $2.50–$15.80

Also in 4 blends:Sermorelin + GHRP-2Sermorelin + GHRP-6Sermorelin + GHRP-6 + GHRP-2Sermorelin + Ipamorelin

Lab test results

231 tests · average purity 99.36% · newest first
Sermorelin — independent lab test results, newest first
TestedShopLabPurityMeasured vs labelEndotoxinRecord
Peptide HackersAccumark Labs99.81%11.23 / 10 mg 112% of label—AM20260925-22
Rogue CompoundsILS Laboratories99.68%5.2 / 5 mg 104% of label—SER-260808-001
ANKR LabFreedom Diagnostics99.32%6.33 / 5 mg 127% of labelPass1010
Backroad AminosFreedom Diagnostics99.54%11.4 / 10 mg 114% of labelPass0926SMO10
BioEdge Research LabsKovera Labs99.49%5.99 / 5 mg 120% of labelPass052626SER5✓
Elevated PeptidesMZ Biolabs99.45%not reported—2026-07-08
Peptide FoundryILS Laboratories99.28%10.61 / 10 mg 106% of labelPassFO339✓
PepGenics ResearchFreedom Diagnostics99.34%5.86 / 5 mg 117% of label—SM05060626Q✓
Umbrella LabsFreedom Diagnostics98.17%2.14 / 2 mg 107% of label—ULP-20304A✓
GenPeptideKovera Labs99.63%6.26 / 5 mg 125% of label—GPSER5070726✓
Glow AminosILS Laboratories99.25%5.17 / 5 mg 103% of label—GL-010209✓
Blank PeptidesHorizon Analytical99.35%4.95 / 5 mg 99% of label—B-3441701-P
Showing 12Showing 5 of 231All 231 Sermorelin lab tests →

Shops with a sermorelin test since

35 shops. A shop is listed when a third-party lab published a test of its sermorelin in the last six months; the newest result is shown, as the lab reported it. Ordered by date, nothing else.

Shops with a sermorelin test since 2 May 2026, newest test first
ShopNewest testResultSermorelin testsWarehouseReviews
Peptide HackersClaimedTests on fileLot AM20260925-22 · Accumark Labs99.81%2Not statedNo reviews yet
ANKR LabClaimedTests on fileLot 1010 · Freedom Diagnostics99.32%1🇺🇸 United StatesNo reviews yet
Rogue CompoundsClaimedTests on fileLot SER-260808-001 · ILS Laboratories99.68%1🇺🇸 United StatesNo reviews yet
Backroad AminosTests on fileLot 0926SMO10 · Freedom Diagnostics99.54%2Not statedNo reviews yet
BioEdge Research LabsTests on fileLot 052626SER5 · Kovera Labs99.49%2Not statedNo reviews yet
Elevated PeptidesTests on fileLot 2026-07-08 · MZ Biolabs99.45%2Not statedNo reviews yet
Peptide FoundryTests on fileLot FO339 · ILS Laboratories99.28%1Not statedNo reviews yet
PepGenics ResearchTests on fileLot SM05060626Q · Freedom Diagnostics99.34%1Not statedNo reviews yet
Umbrella LabsTests on fileLot ULP-20304A · Freedom Diagnostics98.17%2Not statedNo reviews yet
GenPeptideTests on fileLot GPSER5070726 · Kovera Labs99.63%3Not statedNo reviews yet
Show the other 25 shops
Shops with a sermorelin test since 2 May 2026, newest test first (continued)
Glow AminosClaimedTests on fileLot GL-010209 · ILS Laboratories99.25%3Not statedNo reviews yet
Blank PeptidesClaimedTests on fileLot B-3441701-P · Horizon Analytical99.35%3Not stated11 · 4.6
Ascend ScienceTests on fileLot C149H240N44O425 · Kovera Labs99.55%1Not statedNo reviews yet
Corix LabsTests on fileLot SER-10 - 06/26 · Janoshik Labs99.55%1Not statedNo reviews yet
Double R LabsTests on fileLot DRL-06-SMO10 · Kovera Labs99.56%1Not statedNo reviews yet
Synova SupplyClaimedTests on fileLot SS-9002345-P · Horizon Analytical99.31%1Not stated1 · 5.0
Real PeptidesTests on fileLot BATCH-0322 · Kovera Labs99.55%3Not stated20 · 4.3
Oasis LabsClaimedTests on fileLot 112455 · Bioviridian99.90%1Not statedNo reviews yet
Ascension PeptidesTests on fileLot 38-05260628 · Kovera Labs99.41%2Not statedNo reviews yet
Adria ScienceClaimedTests on fileLot 1320227 · liquilabs99.70%1Not statedNo reviews yet
Peptide PlugsTests on fileLot DK-132-09 · Freedom Diagnostics99.13%1Not stated20 · 4.5
Modern Research PeptidesTests on fileLot CUMK6426 · Freedom Diagnostics99.49%2Not statedNo reviews yet
Protide HealthTests on fileLot PH smS 0327 · Freedom Diagnostics99.21%2Not statedNo reviews yet
Kalyx LabsTests on fileLot SMO10-B01 · Freedom Diagnostics99.31%1Not stated3 · 5.0
Studz PeptidesClaimedTests on fileLot SERM10-051926-LIS · Kovera Labs99.61%1Not stated1 · 5.0
Good ScienceTests on fileLot 3548339 · Vanguard Laboratory99.09%1Not statedNo reviews yet
Ameano PeptidesTests on fileLot SER0505052026-05 · Janoshik Labs99.04%1Not statedNo reviews yet
EZ PeptidesTests on fileLot EZP-SER0505052026-05 · Janoshik Labs99.07%1Not stated1 · 4.0
LA PeptidesTests on fileLot 1218 · Bioviridian99.90%3Not statedNo reviews yet
True Research LabsTests on fileLot TRL-9002345 · Horizon Analytical99.31%2Not statedNo reviews yet
Warrior MakersTests on fileLot 07-SG5 · MZ Biolabs98.79%1Not statedNo reviews yet
Ignite PeptidesTests on fileLot sermor41601 · Janoshik Labs99.87%1Not statedNo reviews yet
Research Peptides EuropeTests on fileLot 2026-05-01 · liquilabs99.80%1Not statedNo reviews yet
Synthesis PeptidesClaimedTests on fileView record · Freedom Diagnostics99.35%2Not statedNo reviews yet
Panda PeptidesClaimedTests on fileLot PP2602-0377 · Janoshik Labs99.21%1Not statedNo reviews yet
Newest test per shop · 35 shops

Shops listing Sermorelin

314 shops list it · top 6 by trust scoreCompare prices from 64 shops →
Rivn Research PeptidesTrust 98/100 · 99.6% avg purity · 24 tests
Humatide PeptidesTrust 98/100 · 99.7% avg purity · 44 tests
Peptide PartnersTrust 96/100 · 99.7% avg purity · 98 tests
Core PeptidesTrust 96/100 · 99.4% avg purity · 87 tests
PeptuviaTrust 95/100 · 99.7% avg purity · 22 tests
Optima SupplyTrust 93/100 · 99.6% avg purity · 39 tests
Trust score, average purity and test count on these cards cover each shop's whole catalogue, not only Sermorelin.Browse all 314 shops listing Sermorelin →

What is Sermorelin?

figures updated · article reviewed Aug 2026

Sermorelin is a synthetic 29-amino-acid peptide corresponding to the first 29 amino acids of human GHRH — the minimum sequence required for full GHRH receptor activation. It was the first FDA-approved GH-releasing peptide, marketed as Geref for pediatric growth hormone deficiency before being discontinued from the US market in 2008 for commercial (not safety) reasons. Sermorelin is currently available through compounding pharmacies in the US and as a research-use-only compound from third-party laboratories.

What is sermorelin and how does the GHRH(1-29) mechanism work?

Sermorelin is the synthetic first-29-amino-acid fragment of human GHRH, which retains full GHRH receptor agonist activity and stimulates pituitary growth hormone release. It is the parent compound from which mod GRF 1-29 and the CJC-1295 family were derived through stability-enhancing modifications. Sermorelin itself has a short half-life (~10–20 minutes) and is degraded by DPP-4, requiring daily subcutaneous dosing.

Evidence level: human RCT (Phase 3 for pediatric GH deficiency)

What does the clinical evidence show for sermorelin?

Sermorelin received FDA approval as Geref in 1990 based on pivotal pediatric GH deficiency trials demonstrating improved growth velocity and IGF-1 elevation. Adult use, while not FDA-approved, is well-characterized in pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic studies — daily evening administration reliably produces nocturnal GH pulses approximating physiological patterns. The Geref product was discontinued from the US market in 2008 for commercial reasons; sermorelin remains available through compounding pharmacies and research-grade suppliers.

Evidence level: human RCT (Phase 3, pediatric); PK/PD extensive (adult)

How does sermorelin compare to tesamorelin and CJC-1295?

Sermorelin is the reference GHRH(1-29) analog from which more-stable analogs were developed. Tesamorelin adds N-terminal modification for DPP-4 resistance and extended action; mod GRF 1-29 adds four amino acid substitutions for stability; CJC-1295 with DAC adds an albumin-binding tether for 6–8 day half-life.

Source: Prolonged stimulation of GH and IGF-I secretion by CJC-1295…, Teichman S.L. et al., J Clin Endocrinol Metab, 2006

GHRH analogSequenceStability modificationHalf-lifeFDA status
SermorelinGHRH(1-29) nativeNone~10–20 minFDA-approved (Geref, discontinued)
Mod GRF 1-29GHRH(1-29) + 4 substitutionsStability substitutions~30 minResearch-use
TesamorelinGHRH(1-44) + hexenoic acidDPP-4 resistance~26 minFDA-approved (Egrifta)
CJC-1295 with DACGHRH(1-29) + DAC tetherAlbumin binding~6–8 daysResearch-use

What are the documented side effects of sermorelin?

Sermorelin's side effect profile in pediatric Geref trials was mild — injection-site reactions, occasional flushing, transient headache. Cortisol and prolactin effects are minimal (it is a pure GHRH analog, not a ghrelin-receptor GHS). IGF-1 elevation is dose-dependent and modest, with monitoring recommended for sustained administration. Long-term safety in adults at research-use dosing is less characterized than in pediatric Geref use.

Evidence level: human Phase 3 safety data (pediatric); adult long-term less characterized

What is the regulatory status of sermorelin?

Sermorelin was marketed by Serono/EMD Serono as Geref in two FDA-approved forms: Geref Diagnostic (NDA 019863), approved in December 1990 to evaluate the pituitary's growth-hormone-secretory capacity, and Geref (NDA 020443), approved in September 1997 to treat idiopathic growth-hormone deficiency in children. EMD Serono discontinued both products in 2008; the FDA later determined, in 2013, that Geref was not withdrawn for reasons of safety or effectiveness — the discontinuation was commercial, as the market shifted toward recombinant human growth hormone. It is currently available in the US through compounding pharmacies under 503A and 503B regulations, and as research-grade material from third-party laboratories. The compounding pharmacy pathway depends on regulatory status that has been in flux during 2024–2026. Current status in FDA peptide regulation 2025–2026 timeline.

Source: Determination That GEREF (Sermorelin Acetate) Injection … Were Not Withdrawn From Sale for Reasons of Safety or Effectiveness, FDA (HHS), via Federal Register (78 FR / doc 2013-04827)

Why does sermorelin vendor verification matter?

Because sermorelin is widely sold by both compounding pharmacies and research-grade suppliers — and the quality assurance between the two pathways differs substantially. Compounding pharmacy product carries pharmacy-grade QA; research-grade material varies by vendor. Independent HPLC purity testing and mass spectrometry identity confirmation are essential for research-grade material. Guidance in how-to-test-peptides hub.

How does Peptigrity verify sermorelin vendors?

Peptigrity collects independent third-party Certificates of Analysis for sermorelin from shops' official channels and verifies each for authenticity before publishing. Because shops choose which COAs to publish, results reflect the batches shops have made public rather than every production batch — a selection bias we state openly. A community-funded Testing Grant to purchase and test vials anonymously is in development. Tests in the database come from independent labs such as Janoshik Analytical, Freedom Diagnostics, and Chromate. The lab test table above this section shows the cross-shop dataset. Methodology in how we calculate trust scores.

Frequently asked questions

How can I verify a sermorelin vendor is selling real product?

Independent third-party HPLC certificate of analysis from a lab the vendor does not own or pay. Peptigrity publishes independent sermorelin test results in the table above. For COA interpretation, see red flags in peptide certificates of analysis.

Sermorelin is available legally through US compounding pharmacies (503A/503B) when prescribed by a licensed physician, and is legal to purchase as a research chemical from third-party laboratories for laboratory use only. The compounding pathway has been subject to FDA regulatory action during 2024–2026. Country breakdown in peptide legal status guide.

Why was Geref discontinued?

Geref was withdrawn from the US market in 2008 for commercial reasons — the pediatric GH deficiency market shifted toward recombinant human growth hormone (rhGH) products, and Geref's market share did not justify continued production. The withdrawal was not safety-related; sermorelin's safety profile remained favorable.

How does sermorelin compare to mod GRF 1-29?

Mod GRF 1-29 is sermorelin (GHRH(1-29)) with four amino acid substitutions for stability and DPP-4 resistance. The stabilized analog has slightly longer half-life and is more commonly used in research protocols where extended GH stimulation is desired. They are not interchangeable as products though pharmacologically related.

Does Peptigrity recommend a sermorelin dose?

No. Peptigrity is an independent review platform, not a medical authority. The Geref pediatric dose was 30 mcg/kg subcutaneous daily; adult use is not FDA-approved and protocols vary. In adults, the evidence is older and thinner: a six-week study of nightly subcutaneous GHRH(1-29) injections in healthy elderly men raised nocturnal GH release and GH-peak amplitude but produced no significant change in IGF-1, IGFBP-3, or GH pulse frequency — which is why the adult "GH optimization" use remains far less established than the pediatric approval. Anyone considering sermorelin should consult a licensed physician.

Source: Effects of single nightly injections of growth hormone-releasing hormone (GHRH 1-29) in healthy elderly men, Vittone J., Blackman M.R., Busby-Whitehead J., et al., Metabolism, 1997

Does sermorelin show up on a drug test?

Sermorelin and other GHRH analogs are prohibited at all times by the World Anti-Doping Agency under Section S2.2.4 (growth-hormone-releasing factors) of the Prohibited List and competitive athletes face sanctions for use. Detection methods for GHRH analogs in anti-doping testing have improved. For drug-testing context, see do peptides show up on drug tests.

Source: WADA Prohibited List (current year)

This section is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. Sermorelin is FDA-approved (Geref, discontinued from US market) but research-grade material sold for laboratory use is not the prescription product. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before using any peptide or research compound. Peptigrity is an independent review platform and does not sell, endorse, or recommend specific products or vendors.

Sermorelin and other growth hormone peptides

same category · by lab tests on file
Growth hormone peptides compared on independent lab data
CompoundMechanismAvg purityTestsShops
Sermorelin This page29-amino acid GHRH analog99.4%231314
TesamorelinSynthetic GHRH analog99.4%578443
IpamorelinSelective GH secretagogue (ghrelin receptor)99.7%452437
CJC-1295 without DACModified GHRH analog (Mod GRF 1-29)99.5%302332
IGF-1 LR3Long-acting IGF-1 analog98.6%144310
CJC-1295 with DACGHRH analog with extended half-life99.2%119264
GHRP-6Hexapeptide GH secretagogue + appetite99.3%48203
GHRP-2Hexapeptide GH secretagogue99.2%39186

Community

protocol logs, questions and discussions — shop accounts are always tagged

No logs, questions or discussions about Sermorelin yet — early posts get the most eyes.

Have a lab test for Sermorelin?

Every submitted test helps the community verify purity across brands. Free, fast, independent.

Test your Sermorelin →