A purity percentage is the first number most buyers look for and the last one that should change a decision. Across 11,852 independent lab tests, this market clears 98% almost everywhere. It fails on quantity, identity, salt form and endotoxin instead.
That is an uncomfortable conclusion for a platform whose most visible metric is a purity index, and it is what the data supports. The method behind the number is set out in what HPLC testing measures; the checks that actually discriminate between vendors are in how to verify peptide quality before you buy.
What does a 98% peptide purity standard actually measure?
A peptide purity standard states that at a stated detection wavelength, at least that share of the total integrated peak area belonged to the main peak. It is a statement about homogeneity among species the detector can see, not a mass fraction of what is in the vial. Reversed-phase HPLC separates by hydrophobicity on an achiral column, so anything that co-elutes with the target, carries no chromophore, or is not a peptide at all never enters the arithmetic.
Three consequences follow from that definition, and every argument on this page rests on them. Area percent is not mass percent, so a 99% figure says nothing about how many milligrams of peptide the vial holds. The denominator contains only detected species, so water, residual salts, counterions and metals sit outside it entirely. And homogeneity is not identity: a vial containing one single wrong molecule, uniformly, scores higher than a vial containing the right one with a small impurity. Compounds in the weight loss and metabolic peptides category carry the deepest test coverage in this record and illustrate all three.
Where does the 98% purity convention come from?
The ≥98% figure is a research-grade custom synthesis convention rather than a pharmacopoeial standard, and this market has long since overtaken it. The composite across Peptigrity's dataset is 99.50 across 10,110 recency-weighted tests (verified August 2026), which means a vendor advertising "above 98%" is quoting a floor roughly one and a half percentage points beneath the observed market average. On several compounds it sits beneath the lowest individual result on file.
That inversion is worth stating plainly, because the advice circulating on generic peptide sites is to look for 98% or higher. GHK-Cu's individual results run 99.31% to 99.94% across 736 tests, so "above 98%" on a GHK-Cu listing describes a standard below the observed floor of the category. A purity promise pitched under the market average is not a quality signal. It is a sentence that costs the seller nothing.
What do 11,852 independent lab tests show about peptide purity?
Purity in this market clusters tightly and high. Across 118 peptides and 530 tracked shops, the composite sits at 99.50 across 10,110 recency-weighted tests (verified August 2026), and the best-covered compounds sit above it: tirzepatide at 99.75% across 930 tests, retatrutide at 99.67% across 1,150, GHK-Cu at 99.66% across 736. Individual results on retatrutide run 99.52% to 99.98% — an unusually tight band for an unregulated market.
The spread across well-tested compounds is roughly two percentage points from top to bottom, and most of the mass of the distribution sits inside one point. When a metric separates a market that little, it stops functioning as a discriminator. It tells you the supply chain is buying from competent synthesis houses, which is useful once and never again.
Compound | Purity composite | Tests | Detail on file |
|---|---|---|---|
99.75% | 930 | Five named laboratories, 227 shops selling | |
99.67% | 1,150 | Largest dataset on this platform, individuals 99.52–99.98% | |
99.66% | 736 | Individuals 99.31–99.94% | |
Ipamorelin | 99.65 | 323 | 21 laboratories |
PT-141 | 99.70% | 242 | Six named laboratories |
MOTS-c | 99.43 | 494 | 23 laboratories |
Tesamorelin | 99.41% | 497 | Four named laboratories |
BPC-157 | 99.37 | 588 | 23 laboratories |
Platform composite | 99.50 | 10,110 | Recency-weighted, verified August 2026 |
Which peptides sit at the bottom of the purity range?
Four compounds sit measurably below the composite, and all four are thinly tested rather than badly made. IGF-1 LR3 records 98.51% across 125 tests with an individual floor of 94.29%; oxytocin records 98.96 across 53 recency-weighted tests from 14 laboratories; AHK-Cu records 97.38% across 25 tests; thymalin records 97.89% across 46 tests (all verified August 2026). Even the worst of those clears the 98% convention on two of four counts, and the lowest is barely two points under the market.
There is an honest complication in that list worth surfacing rather than smoothing over. The IGF-1 LR3 record describes 98.51% as the lowest purity index of any well-tested compound on this platform; the oxytocin record describes 98.96 as the lowest of any well-tested compound we track. Both statements are in our own corpus and they cannot both be read as the same claim. They are computed on different denominators — 125 tests against 53 recency-weighted tests from 14 laboratories — which is itself the lesson. A composite is an artefact of its weighting scheme, and two defensible weightings put different compounds at the bottom.
Why does a single 50.63% result matter more than a 97.38% average?
Because averages hide outliers when the denominator is small, and it is the outlier that ships. AHK-Cu averages 97.38% across 25 HPLC tests from Vanguard, ILS, Kovera, Janoshik and Freedom Diagnostics across 221 verified vendors, and one vendor's June 2026 test returned 50.63% purity with a 10.6% quantity shortfall while the remaining tests cluster above 99%. That single result drags the category average down by nearly two percentage points.
Roughly half the material in that vial was something other than the labelled compound, and there was less of it than the label claimed. On GHK-Cu's 736 tests an outlier of that size stays visible as an outlier and moves the mean by a rounding error; on 25 tests it becomes the headline. The operational rule is the inverse of how most people read these pages: the smaller the test count, the less you should look at the average and the more you should look at the individual vendor result on file. IGF-1 DES makes the point at the limit, with 98.88% across 3 tests from 2 laboratories and individuals from 98.00% to 99.65% — a number with almost no power to distinguish anything.
What does oxytocin's 98.96 imply for a disulfide peptide?
It implies degradation rather than bad synthesis, and it is the one low score on this platform with a structural explanation. Oxytocin records 98.96 across 53 recency-weighted tests from 14 laboratories (verified August 2026) against a composite of 99.50. Roughly one part in a hundred of the average tested sample is something other than oxytocin, which for a peptide closed by a Cys1–Cys6 disulfide bridge most plausibly means oxidation products, disulfide scrambling or deamidation — the specific degradation routes this structure is prone to.
Oxytocin is a nine-residue endogenous hormone of molecular weight 1007.19 g/mol, CAS 50-56-6, with a six-residue ring and a three-residue tail. The bridge is the fragile part, and a broken bridge is a different molecule with the same amino acids. That failure barely moves an HPLC percentage and does not move a nominal mass much either, which is why a compound with a genuine chemical vulnerability shows up as a two-decimal-place dip rather than as an alarm. Fifty-three tests is also thin against the 200-500 that the well-covered compounds carry.
Can a purity percentage mean anything on an undefined extract?
No, and publishing one anyway is a category error rather than a quality signal. Thymalin is an undefined calf thymus extract with no reference sequence, no target mass and no authenticated standard, and the Purity Index nonetheless records 97.89% average across 46 tests from Janoshik, Freedom Diagnostics and Chromate against 219 verified vendors (verified August 2026). A percentage of total peak area, measured against no declared analyte, describes the shape of a chromatogram and nothing else.
We flag an inconsistency in our own entry here rather than leaving it for a reader to find. The stated average of 97.89% is lower than the stated lowest recorded individual test of 99.20%, with displayed individuals running 99.20% to 99.94%. Either the average is computed over a different test set than the one displayed, or one of the figures is wrong. We are correcting it. We publish the numbers because they are what the laboratories reported, and this is one of the few entries in the index where we would tell a reader to weight the purity figure at close to zero.
If purity is not where this market fails, what is?
Fill quantity, identity, salt form and endotoxin — in that order by documented frequency. The measured fill variance in this corpus runs from −57.6% to +94%, a spread of over 150 percentage points on an axis no purity test touches. Against that, a purity range of 97.38 to 99.75 is noise. Every genuine failure recorded across roughly 99 compound investigations sits on one of those four axes, and a certificate reporting only purity leaves all four open.
Failure axis | Worst documented case in this record | Does a purity figure detect it? |
|---|---|---|
Fill quantity, over | Cagrilintide labelled 10 mg tested at 19.4 mg — a 94% overage | No |
Fill quantity, under | Gonadorelin labelled 5 mg tested at 2.12 mg — a 57.6% shortfall | No |
Fill quantity, other | IGF-1 LR3 +72%, survodutide +36.9%, tirzepatide +26.7%, follistatin −40%, mazdutide −24.1% at 99.80% purity | No |
Identity | PT-141 at 1,025.2 Da and melanotan II at 1,024.18 differ by about 1.0 Da on 1,025 and co-elute | No |
Salt form | FDA treats semaglutide sodium and acetate as different active ingredients | No |
Endotoxin | Class I recall of a GenoGenix NAD+ injection, classified 21 October 2025 | No |
The mazdutide entry is the cleanest illustration on the table: a 20 mg vial assayed at 15.18 mg — a 24.1% shortfall at 99.80% purity. The certificate was excellent and the buyer received three quarters of what was paid for. Quantity is covered in why 10 mg isn't 10 mg and the pyrogen risk in endotoxin testing and the LAL assay.
What can a purity percentage not establish?
A purity figure cannot see metals, chirality, disulfide pairing, polymer dispersity, quantity, salt form, pyrogens or efficacy. That list is not theoretical; each entry has a named compound behind it in this corpus where a clean purity result accompanied a wrong product. The recurring pattern is that the defect either co-elutes with the target, carries the same mass, or is not a peptide at all — three ways of being invisible to an assay that separates peptides by hydrophobicity and integrates peak area.
What a purity percentage cannot see | The compound that proves it | Why it is invisible |
|---|---|---|
Metal content | GHK-Cu — copper is about 18% of the molecule and PubChem files the copper-free 340.38 Da peptide under GHK-Cu synonyms | HPLC detects no metals; copper-free GHK returns an excellent purity figure |
Chirality | FOXO4-DRI, whose entire design is its all-D configuration | D and L residues share identical formulas and masses and co-elute on achiral columns; an L-built vial reports ~5,358 Da and a single clean peak |
Partial chirality | SS-31 — the Dmt→Tyr substitution is a clean −28 Da that MS catches, the D-Arg substitution is not | Same molecule, one substitution detectable and one not |
Disulfide pairing | Misfolded IGF-1 analogues; oxytocin's Cys1–Cys6 bridge | Misfolded and correctly folded forms have identical mass |
Polymer dispersity | PEG-MGF — PEG is polydisperse in 44 Da steps | A single clean peak arguably indicates the PEG is absent |
Quantity | Cagrilintide +94%, gonadorelin −57.6% | Area percent contains no mass term |
Salt form and net content | Any TFA-salted research peptide | Counterions and water sit outside the denominator |
Pyrogens | The 21 October 2025 Class I recall | Endotoxin requires an LAL assay |
Identity is settled by mass, not by percentage — the detail is in mass spectrometry for peptides, and the metal case in heavy metals testing.
How does purity compare with net peptide content as a buying signal?
Net peptide content is the more decision-relevant of the two, and it appears on a fraction of the certificates purity appears on. Purity answers "of what the detector saw, how much was the main peak"; net content answers "of the powder in this vial, how much is peptide". The first is near-universally reported and near-universally high. The second is frequently blank, and where it has been measured this corpus records errors from −57.6% to +94%.
Chromatographic purity | Net peptide content | |
|---|---|---|
What it reports | Main peak as percentage of total peak area | Mass of peptide as a fraction of vial contents |
Method | RP-HPLC, achiral, one wavelength | Amino acid analysis or quantitative content testing |
Typical value in this record | 99.50 composite across 10,110 tests | Frequently not reported at all |
Observed error range | 97.38 to 99.75 across well-tested compounds | −57.6% to +94% |
Detects counterions, water, salts | No — they sit outside the denominator | Yes — that is the point of it |
Detects a wrong molecule | No, if homogeneous | No |
Availability on certificates | Near-universal | Sparse |
Decision weight | Low once it clears the market floor | High whenever it is present |
The salt-form arithmetic that sits behind the net content column is set out in TFA versus acetate versus amidate salt forms.
Which peptide purity claims survive scrutiny?
Three of the eight claims in general circulation hold up, and the two most common ones do not. The pattern is that claims about what the assay measures survive, and claims about what the number predicts do not. A purity percentage is a reliable, reproducible, narrowly scoped measurement that has been asked to carry far more inferential weight than its definition allows, largely because it is the only number most certificates contain.
Claim | What this record shows | Verdict |
|---|---|---|
"Look for 98% purity or higher" | Composite is 99.50 across 10,110 tests; 98% sits below the observed floor on several compounds | Misleading — the floor is already cleared |
"99% is meaningfully better than 98%" | Well-tested compounds span 97.38 to 99.75; most sit inside one point | Not supported as a discriminator |
"High purity means the right molecule" | PT-141 and melanotan II differ by ~1.0 Da and co-elute | False |
"High purity means the right amount" | Mazdutide 24.1% shortfall at 99.80% purity | False |
"A purity percentage applies to any peptide product" | Thymalin is an undefined extract with no declared analyte | False for extracts |
"HPLC purity is a reproducible measurement" | 11,852 tests across 118 peptides, tight per-compound bands | True |
"A low purity score is worth investigating" | IGF-1 LR3's 94.29% floor is a real signal | True |
"Purity averages need a large denominator" | AHK-Cu's 50.63% outlier moved a 25-test average by ~2 points | True |
What does Peptigrity's own purity data show, and where does it fall short?
It shows a high, tightly clustered market and a metric with three acknowledged weaknesses. The Purity Index composite is 99.50 across 10,110 recency-weighted tests (verified August 2026), drawn from 11,852 independent lab tests across 118 peptides and 530 tracked shops, with 1,283 community reviews (verified August 2026). Trust scores weight community reviews and independently verified HPLC purity equally, at 50% each — which means half of every trust score rests on the number this page argues is the least discriminating one available.
The three weaknesses are worth naming. First, selection bias: these are certificates vendors chose to publish, not a random sample of the market, so the composite is an upper bound on market quality rather than an estimate of it. Second, denominator sensitivity: composites built on 25 or 53 tests move on single results, as AHK-Cu and oxytocin both demonstrate. Third, internal inconsistency, of which the thymalin entry above is a live example we have flagged and are correcting. The methodology is published at how we calculate trust scores.
For the compound with the deepest coverage, tirzepatide price data shows 14 shops in stock, median $5.67/mg, lowest $1.17/mg on a 60 mg vial (verified 9 August 2026) across 48 compared offers, against 99.75% average purity across 930 independent tests (verified August 2026) from Freedom Diagnostics, Kovera, ILS, Accumark and MZ Biolabs across 227 shops selling (verified August 2026). Those figures exclude shipping, taxes and customs, coupon codes, bulk tiers, multi-vial kits and account-gated pricing. A near-fivefold per-milligram price spread inside a purity band of a quarter of a percentage point is the clearest evidence on this page that price is carrying information purity is not. Listings sit on the tirzepatide compound page and individual certificates in the independent lab tests database.
The trial that would settle what a purity standard is worth
No such study has been run, and its design is not difficult. The question is empirical: across the observed 97.38 to 99.75 range, does a vial's advertised purity predict anything a buyer cares about — net content, identity, endotoxin, price? It is answerable with material this market already produces and sells openly, in a single blinded acquisition round. Until someone runs it, every purity threshold in circulation is a convention inherited from custom synthesis catalogues rather than a finding about vials.
Element | What it would need to be |
|---|---|
Design | Blinded, randomised acquisition of sealed vials across vendors, stratified by advertised purity |
Population | 400 vials across 20 compounds spanning the observed 97.38 to 99.75 range |
Intervention | Full analytical panel on every vial: RP-HPLC purity, high-resolution MS, quantitative net content, LAL endotoxin, elemental analysis, chiral analysis where applicable |
Primary endpoint | Correlation between advertised or certified purity and measured net peptide content |
Secondary endpoints | Purity versus identity confirmation rate; purity versus endotoxin pass rate; purity versus price per milligram |
Why it has not been run | Elemental and chiral analysis are not offered by any vendor or laboratory serving this market; nobody is funded to audit a market they do not sell into |
What a null result would mean | That purity thresholds have no predictive value for the defects buyers actually encounter — which is what this record already suggests |
What to ask for instead of a purity percentage
Ask for the four measurements a purity figure cannot make, in the order they can go wrong. A certificate showing 99.5% purity and nothing else has answered the easiest question in the set. The checks below are generic; the ones that matter most vary by compound, and that routing is the subject of how to verify peptide quality before you buy.
Check | What it confirms | How | Red flag |
|---|---|---|---|
Batch-matched mass spectrum | The molecule is the one on the label | MS or MS/MS on the specific lot | Purity offered as the answer to an identity question |
Net peptide content | Milligrams of peptide, not of powder | Amino acid analysis or quantitative content testing | Field blank, or purity quoted as quantity |
Fill quantity against label | The vial holds what it says | Quantitative assay on the batch | No figure, on a compound with −57.6% to +94% on record |
Salt form stated | What was actually weighed | Named on the certificate | Not stated |
LAL endotoxin | No pyrogens, on an injectable | Batch LAL result | Blank field after a Class I recall in this market |
Named third-party laboratory | Someone other than the seller measured it | Laboratory named on the certificate | Vendor's own in-house document presented as third-party |
Purity, read last | Homogeneity of detected species | RP-HPLC against the 99.50 composite | A promise of "above 98%" pitched below the market average |
Which laboratory ran the assay is its own question, covered in third-party peptide testing labs and how to evaluate a testing lab's trust signals.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is 98% purity good for peptides?
It is below the market average. The composite across Peptigrity's dataset is 99.50 across 10,110 recency-weighted tests (verified August 2026), and well-tested compounds run from 97.38% to 99.75%. A vendor promising "above 98%" is quoting a threshold that most of the market clears without effort, and on GHK-Cu it sits below the lowest individual result on file.
What is the difference between 98% and 99% peptide purity?
One percentage point of integrated peak area, which in practice separates nothing. Most well-tested compounds on this platform sit inside a single point of each other, so the figure does not discriminate between vendors. The differences that matter — fill quantity, identity, salt form, endotoxin — are not measured by the assay that produces either number.
Which peptide has the lowest purity score?
Two records compete, on different denominators. IGF-1 LR3 averages 98.51% across 125 tests with an individual floor of 94.29%; oxytocin records 98.96 across 53 recency-weighted tests from 14 laboratories. AHK-Cu's 97.38% across 25 tests is lower still but is dragged by a single 50.63% result, with the remaining tests clustering above 99%.
Does high HPLC purity mean the peptide is real?
No. HPLC measures homogeneity, not identity, so a vial containing one uniform wrong molecule scores higher than a vial containing the right one with a trace impurity. PT-141 at 1,025.2 Da and melanotan II at 1,024.18 differ by about one dalton and co-elute. Confirming identity requires a batch-matched mass spectrum.
Can a purity percentage tell you how much peptide is in the vial?
No. Purity is area percent, not mass percent, and contains no quantity term at all. A mazdutide sample assayed at 15.18 mg against a 20 mg label — a 24.1% shortfall — carried a purity figure of 99.80%. Net peptide content or a quantitative fill assay is the measurement that answers the question.
Why does a purity figure on a bioregulator mean less?
Because compounds such as thymalin are undefined tissue extracts with no reference sequence, no target mass and no authenticated standard. A percentage of total peak area measured against no declared analyte describes a chromatogram, not a product. We publish thymalin's 97.89% because that is what the laboratories reported, and we would weight it at close to zero.
Browse the weight loss and metabolic peptides category, or our complete peptide guide with 118 compounds (verified August 2026). For per-injection volume, use the tirzepatide calculator alongside the reconstitution calculator. Compare shops through independent lab tests and community-verified shop reviews.
This article is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. Peptides discussed may be investigational compounds not approved by the FDA (or equivalent regulators in your jurisdiction) for human use. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before using any peptide or research compound. Peptigrity is an independent review platform and does not sell, endorse, or recommend specific products or vendors.



