Glutathione
Also known as GSH, γ-L-Glutamyl-L-cysteinyl-glycine, Reduced glutathione
Peptigrity has 141 lab tests of glutathione on file from 99 shops and 17 labs; the newest is from . Average HPLC purity is 99.51% across the 140 results that report it, and 92.9% of results are at or above 99%. 139 results compare the measured amount with the label (median 100.4% of label); 33 report endotoxin. 52 shops publish prices: $0.0170 to $0.283 per mg, median $0.0465. Peptigrity publishes measurements, not dosing advice.
From Peptigrity records · figures updated · Cite these figures
Lab test results
| Tested | Shop | Lab | Purity | Measured vs label | Endotoxin | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Backroad Aminos | freedomdiagnosticstesting.com | 99.93% | 1490.79 / 1500 mg 99% of label | Pass | View record → | |
| Luv Aminos | freedomdiagnosticstesting.com | 99.96% | 1524.9 / 1500 mg 102% of label | — | View record → | |
| Peptide Foundry | freedomdiagnosticstesting.com | 99.08% | 1458.74 / 1500 mg 97% of label | Pass | FO498✓ | |
| NorthStar Compounds | Kovera Labs | 99.49% | 1511.77 / 1500 mg 101% of label | — | View record → | |
| Coastal Peptides | Kovera Labs | 99.52% | 1513.16 / 1500 mg 101% of label | — | View record → | |
| Phase One Labz | freedomdiagnosticstesting.com | 99.72% | 1262.13 / 1200 mg 105% of label | — | F0112602A✓ | |
| Phase One Labz | freedomdiagnosticstesting.com | 99.81% | 1169.57 / 1200 mg 97% of label | — | P1-LTI-08✓ | |
| Phase One Labz | freedomdiagnosticstesting.com | 99.74% | 1190.87 / 1200 mg 99% of label | — | P1-DTI-08✓ | |
| Peptide Plugs | freedomdiagnosticstesting.com | 99.93% | 1526.79 / 1500 mg 102% of label | Pass | 189-04-DK✓ | |
| BioEdge Research Labs | Kovera Labs | 99.82% | 1364.74 / 1500 mg 91% of label | Pass | 04012026GLU1500✓ | |
| PeptideRUO | freedomdiagnosticstesting.com | 99.78% | 1504.99 / 1500 mg 100% of label | — | GTMD0710✓ | |
| Idun Peptides | Kovera Labs | 99.51% | 1445.2 / 1500 mg 96% of label | Pass | GL15-260717✓ |
Shops with a glutathione test since
42 shops. A shop is listed when a third-party lab published a test of its glutathione in the last six months; the newest result is shown, as the lab reported it. Ordered by date, nothing else.
| Shop | Newest test | Result | Glutathione tests | Warehouse | Reviews |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Backroad AminosLab verified | View record · freedomdiagnosticstesting.com | 99.93% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Luv AminosClaimedLab verified | View record · freedomdiagnosticstesting.com | 99.96% | 1 | 🇺🇸 United States | No reviews yet |
| Peptide FoundryLab verified | Lot FO498 · freedomdiagnosticstesting.com | 99.08% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| NorthStar CompoundsClaimedLab verified | View record · Kovera Labs | 99.49% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Coastal PeptidesClaimedLab verified | View record · Kovera Labs | 99.52% | 1 | 🇺🇸 United States | 19 · 4.2 |
| Phase One LabzLab verified | Lot F0112602A · freedomdiagnosticstesting.com | 99.72% | 5 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Peptide PlugsLab verified | Lot 189-04-DK · freedomdiagnosticstesting.com | 99.93% | 2 | Not stated | 19 · 4.5 |
| BioEdge Research LabsLab verified | Lot 04012026GLU1500 · Kovera Labs | 99.82% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| PeptideRUOLab verified | Lot GTMD0710 · freedomdiagnosticstesting.com | 99.78% | 2 | Not stated | 1 · 4.0 |
| Idun PeptidesClaimedLab verified | Lot GL15-260717 · Kovera Labs | 99.51% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
Show the other 32 shops
| Vistara LabsClaimedLab verified | View record · Bioviridian | 99.80% | 1 | 🇨🇦 Canada | No reviews yet |
| EZ PepsLab verified | Lot 26-U6-PST / GLU1500-0626 · ILS Laboratories | 99.29% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Oneday CompoundsLab verified | Lot OC-GT500-101 · Vanguard Laboratory | 99.80% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Puratek PeptidesLab verified | Lot GLU1500002 · ILS Laboratories | 99.55% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Humatide PeptidesClaimedLab verified | Lot H1500GLTH060126 · ILS Laboratories | 99.71% | 1 | 🇺🇸 United States | 24 · 4.9 |
| My Amino LabClaimedLab verified | Lot V2606-G1500-2401 · Kovera Labs | 99.42% | 1 | 🇺🇸 United States | No reviews yet |
| Blank PeptidesClaimedLab verified | Lot GLUT-062026-1 · freedomdiagnosticstesting.com | 99.86% | 3 | Not stated | 10 · 4.6 |
| High Tide CompoundsLab verified | Lot GTI500-001 · Kovera Labs | 99.40% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| American PeptidesLab verified | Lot LGLU600-0528 · Bioviridian | 99.90% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Real PeptidesLab verified | Lot BATCH-0322 · Kovera Labs | 99.22% | 3 | Not stated | 19 · 4.3 |
| Oasis LabsLab verified | Lot 112455 · Bioviridian | 99.70% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Nura PeptideLab verified | Lot GLTA-062026-1 · freedomdiagnosticstesting.com | 99.89% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| National Science LabsLab verified | Lot V2087944078 · freedomdiagnosticstesting.com | 99.67% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| BioGlowLab verified | Lot BG-120 · freedomdiagnosticstesting.com | 99.55% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Aurora AminosLab verified | View record · freedomdiagnosticstesting.com | 99.66% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Warrior MakersLab verified | Lot 11325-SG5G · Testides | 100.00% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Precisely PeptidesLab verified | Lot PP412-26-001 · Vanguard Laboratory | 99.80% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Offline PeptidesClaimedLab verified | Lot OP-GTT600-0526 · Janoshik Labs | 96.65% | 1 | 🇺🇸 United States | No reviews yet |
| Double R LabsLab verified | Lot DRL-05-GTT1500 · Kovera Labs | 99.19% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Global AminosLab verified | View record · freedomdiagnosticstesting.com | 99.63% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Peptide Lab EULab verified | Lot 24th April 2026 · Janoshik Labs | 98.39% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Protide HealthLab verified | Lot PH-glu15001123 · freedomdiagnosticstesting.com | 99.58% | 4 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Instant PeptidesLab verified | Lot 2026-0258-A · Kovera Labs | 99.92% | 2 | Not stated | 6 · 3.5 |
| Sunrise BioresearchLab verified | Lot GLU1500MAY26-01 · ILS Laboratories | 99.30% | 2 | Not stated | 1 · 5.0 |
| PeptidePro CanadaLab verified | Lot 2512-1-267 · Janoshik Labs | 98.33% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Voltera Sciences PeptidesLab verified | Lot GT1500-05042026 · ILS Laboratories | 99.34% | 1 | Not stated | 1 · 4.0 |
| Glowing PeptidesLab verified | View record · Janoshik Labs | 98.59% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Petratide ScienceLab verified | Lot PS04-GLU750 · freedomdiagnosticstesting.com | 99.69% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Optimum AminosLab verified | Lot GTT-26A · freedomdiagnosticstesting.com | 99.79% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Vertex LabsClaimedLab verified | Lot GL0000000038 · BTLabs | 99.70% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Disguised AlphaLab verified | View record · Chromate | 99.77% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Regenerative Research PeptidesClaimedLab verified | Lot GT26-02 · BTLabs | 99.70% | 1 | Not stated | 16 · 4.9 |
Shops listing Glutathione
Compare prices from 52 shops →What is Glutathione?
Glutathione (γ-Glu-Cys-Gly, GSH) is the body's master antioxidant tripeptide, present in essentially all cells and central to redox homeostasis, hepatic detoxification through Phase II conjugation reactions, and protection against oxidative stress. Unlike most compounds on Peptigrity, glutathione is endogenously produced and supplemented forms have a long history of medical and dietary supplement use. Various administration routes (oral, IV, inhaled, topical) have different bioavailability profiles and use cases.
What is glutathione and how does the antioxidant/detoxification mechanism work?
Glutathione is a tripeptide (γ-glutamyl-cysteinyl-glycine) functioning as the body's primary intracellular antioxidant and as a substrate for Phase II hepatic detoxification reactions (glutathione conjugation, glutathione peroxidase, glutathione transferases). Cellular glutathione levels are typically 1–10 mM, far higher than most other biological molecules, reflecting its central role in redox biology. Endogenous synthesis from cysteine, glutamate, and glycine occurs in essentially all cells.
Evidence level: established biochemistry; clinical use in hepatology, dermatology, and toxicology; human RCT for various indications
What does the research show for glutathione?
Established clinical uses include acetaminophen overdose treatment (via N-acetylcysteine, a glutathione precursor), chemotherapy support, and various hepatic disease indications. Topical glutathione is studied for skin pigmentation; IV glutathione is used clinically and through wellness clinics for varied indications including liver support, oxidative stress, and Parkinson's disease research. Single-dose pharmacokinetic studies found that oral glutathione has poor systemic bioavailability, because gut peptidases and enterocytes degrade much of an ingested dose before intact GSH reaches the circulation. Sustained daily dosing tells a different story: a 6-month randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial (n=54) found that oral glutathione raised body stores of GSH — at 1,000 mg/day, erythrocyte, plasma and lymphocyte GSH rose about 30–35%, with a smaller increase (17% in blood) at 250 mg/day. Whether intact glutathione is absorbed or its constituent amino acids drive the rise in stores remains debated.; liposomal and other formulation strategies attempt to address this.
Source: Randomized controlled trial of oral glutathione supplementation on body stores of glutathione, Richie J.P. Jr., Nichenametla S., Neidig W., Calcagnotto A., Haley J.S., Schell T.D., Muscat J.E., Eur J Nutr, 2015 · Evidence level: substantial human clinical data across hepatic and toxicological indications; varied evidence quality for non-approved uses (skin pigmentation, wellness IV)
How does glutathione compare to other antioxidant compounds?
Glutathione is the body's primary endogenous antioxidant system, distinguished from supplemental antioxidants by its central biochemical role rather than a single-mechanism niche.
| Compound | Antioxidant mechanism | Endogenous? | Primary clinical use |
|---|---|---|---|
| Glutathione (GSH) | Primary intracellular antioxidant + Phase II detox | Yes (universal) | Hepatology, toxicology |
| NAD+ | Sirtuin/redox coenzyme | Yes (declining with age) | Longevity research |
| SS-31 | Mitochondria-targeted (cardiolipin) | No (synthetic peptide) | Mitochondrial disease |
What are the documented side effects of glutathione?
Glutathione has an extremely favorable safety profile — endogenous production at 1–10 mM cellular concentrations means supplemental administration adds to a vast existing pool. IV administration may produce transient flushing, headache, or mild hypotension during infusion; oral administration is generally well-tolerated but has poor bioavailability. The most clinically relevant safety consideration is in patients with G6PD deficiency, where altered redox balance can have complex effects.
Evidence level: extensive clinical use; established safety profile across routes
What is the regulatory status of glutathione?
Glutathione is widely available as a dietary supplement in oral form in most jurisdictions, and IV glutathione is administered clinically in approved hospital and outpatient settings. Glutathione is not FDA-approved as a stand-alone therapeutic for any specific indication, but is incorporated into multiple approved clinical protocols (e.g., glutathione synthesis support through NAC for acetaminophen overdose). IV glutathione for skin lightening or general wellness purposes operates as medical service in many jurisdictions but is not FDA-evaluated for those uses. Regulatory context in are peptides legal regulatory status by country.
Why does glutathione vendor verification matter?
Glutathione is widely available across pharmaceutical, medical, and research-grade supply chains, with substantial quality variance — particularly between pharmacy-grade IV preparations and research-grade injectable material. Some "glutathione" products in non-pharmaceutical supply chains may contain oxidized glutathione (GSSG) rather than the active reduced form (GSH), or may be substantially degraded. Independent third-party testing including HPLC and verification of reduced-vs-oxidized state is essential for injectable use. Guidance in how-to-test-peptides hub.
How does Peptigrity verify glutathione vendors?
Peptigrity collects independent third-party Certificates of Analysis for glutathione from shops' official channels and verifies each for authenticity before publishing. Because shops choose which COAs to publish, results reflect the batches shops have made public rather than every production batch — a selection bias we state openly. A community-funded Testing Grant to purchase and test vials anonymously is in development. Tests in the database come from independent labs such as Janoshik Analytical, Freedom Diagnostics, and Chromate. Verification of the reduced (GSH) versus oxidized (GSSG) state is particularly important for this compound.
Frequently asked questions
What does glutathione do?
Glutathione is the body's master antioxidant tripeptide, central to intracellular redox homeostasis, hepatic Phase II detoxification, and protection against oxidative stress. It is endogenously produced in essentially all cells at high concentrations and has established clinical uses in hepatology and toxicology.
Is glutathione legal to purchase?
Glutathione is widely legal — available as a dietary supplement in oral form in most jurisdictions and administered IV in approved medical settings. Research-grade injectable glutathione is sold by third-party laboratories for laboratory use. Country breakdown in peptide legal status guide.
Does oral glutathione work?
Single-dose studies show oral glutathione has poor systemic bioavailability, because gut peptidases degrade much of it before it reaches the bloodstream. But sustained supplementation can still raise body stores: a 6-month randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial (n=54) found daily oral glutathione increased GSH in erythrocytes, plasma and lymphocytes by roughly 30–35% at 1,000 mg/day (17% in blood at 250 mg/day), so chronic dosing can lift glutathione levels even though acute absorption of the intact tripeptide is low. Liposomal and other formulation strategies attempt to improve absorption, with varied evidence quality. Cellular glutathione levels respond more reliably to supplementation with precursors like N-acetylcysteine (NAC) or whey-derived cysteine sources than to direct oral glutathione.
Source: Randomized controlled trial of oral glutathione supplementation on body stores of glutathione, Richie J.P. Jr., Nichenametla S., Neidig W., Calcagnotto A., Haley J.S., Schell T.D., Muscat J.E., Eur J Nutr, 2015
Is IV glutathione safe?
IV glutathione has an extensive clinical safety record in approved medical settings — mild transient effects during infusion are common but serious adverse events are rare. The safety profile in non-medical wellness IV settings depends on practitioner training and product quality. G6PD deficiency is a notable consideration.
How can I verify a glutathione vendor is selling real product?
Independent third-party HPLC certificate of analysis from a lab the vendor does not own or pay, with verification of reduced (GSH) versus oxidized (GSSG) state. Mass spectrometry identity confirmation is essential. COA interpretation in red flags in peptide certificates of analysis.
Does Peptigrity recommend a glutathione dose?
No. Peptigrity is an independent review platform, not a medical authority. Clinical and supplement dosing varies widely by indication and route. Anyone considering use should consult a licensed physician.
This section is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. Glutathione is the body's endogenous master antioxidant and is widely available across supplement, clinical, and research supply chains; specific therapeutic indications require physician evaluation. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before using any peptide or research compound. Peptigrity is an independent review platform and does not sell, endorse, or recommend specific products or vendors.
Glutathione and other immune support & longevity peptides
| Compound | Mechanism | Avg purity | Tests | Shops |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Glutathione This page | Tripeptide antioxidant (γ-Glu-Cys-Gly) | 99.5% | 141 | 330 |
| NAD+ | NAD+ coenzyme (cellular energy / DNA repair) | 99.1% | 372 | 467 |
| EPITHALON | Telomerase-activating tetrapeptide (Khavinson) | 99.4% | 273 | 392 |
| KPV | α-MSH-derived anti-inflammatory tripeptide | 99.6% | 270 | 404 |
| Thymosin-Alpha 1 (A1) | Thymic peptide (T-cell activation) | 99.5% | 237 | 339 |
| SS-31 (Elamipretide) | Mitochondria-targeted tetrapeptide | 99.7% | 232 | 317 |
| ARA-290 | EPO-derived 11-aa peptide (no erythropoiesis) | 98.8% | 96 | 248 |
| VIP (Vasoactive Intestinal Peptide) | 28-aa neuropeptide (immune regulation) | 99.4% | 77 | 228 |
Community
No logs, questions or discussions about Glutathione yet — early posts get the most eyes.
Have a lab test for Glutathione?
Every submitted test helps the community verify purity across brands. Free, fast, independent.