ForumPromotional activities from 11.2 to 11.8· Shop talk · last reply 11 h ago
Weight loss & metabolic

Aicar

AMPK activator (aminoimidazole carboxamide ribonucleotide) researched as an exercise mimetic for endurance, fat oxidation, and metabolic regulation.

Also known as Acadesine, 5-Aminoimidazole-4-carboxamide ribonucleotide, AICA ribonucleotide, ZMP, AICA riboside

Peptigrity has 15 lab tests of aicar on file from 14 shops and 7 labs; the newest is from . Average HPLC purity is 99.6% across the 15 results that report it, and 100% of results are at or above 99%. 15 results compare the measured amount with the label (median 102.7% of label); 3 report endotoxin. 10 shops publish prices: $0.760 to $11.52 per mg, median $1.12. Peptigrity publishes measurements, not dosing advice.

From Peptigrity records · figures updated · Cite these figures

Average purity
99.60%
HPLC · 15 results · 100% at 99%+
Lab tests on file
15
from 14 shops · 7 labs
Shops listing it
127
10 publish prices
Median price per mg
$1.12
range $0.760–$11.52

Lab test results

15 tests · average purity 99.60% · newest first
Aicar — independent lab test results, newest first
TestedShopLabPurityMeasured vs labelEndotoxinRecord
Core PeptidesVanguard Laboratory99.80%50 / 50 mg 100% of label—C74105
Studz PeptidesILS Laboratories99.15%51.37 / 50 mg 103% of label—AC50609LIS✓
Humatide PeptidesILS Laboratories99.90%51.56 / 50 mg 103% of label—H50AICR060126
TriVial BioWorksKovera Labs99.59%54.81 / 50 mg 110% of labelPassAC50-0522✓
RUO.bioVanguard Laboratory99.80%62.44 / 50 mg 125% of label—AI002
Enhanced PeptidesVanguard Laboratory99.60%50.94 / 50 mg 102% of label—PP04-0826
24Peptidesliquilabs99.80%57.8 / 50 mg 116% of labelPassGF-AICAR50-B241
Go Alpha LabsFreedom Diagnostics99.46%49.65 / 50 mg 99% of label—LO07-10
Loti LabsSR Bio Labs99.21%5.73 / 10 mg 57% of labelCheck label—LOT-TESA-00006
Kimera ChemsVanguard Laboratory99.10%62.23 / 50 mg 124% of label—KC-ACR-GRY1
PeptiraFreedom Diagnostics99.63%6.02 / 10 mg 60% of labelCheck labelPassAODS-003
PeptideTechFreedom Diagnostics99.88%65.91 / 50 mg 132% of label—AIC-2130✓
Showing 12Showing 5 of 15All 15 Aicar lab tests →

Shops with a aicar test since

5 shops. A shop is listed when a third-party lab published a test of its aicar in the last six months; the newest result is shown, as the lab reported it. Ordered by date, nothing else.

Shops with a aicar test since 2 May 2026, newest test first
ShopNewest testResultAicar testsWarehouseReviews
Core PeptidesTests on fileLot C74105 · Vanguard Laboratory99.80%1Not stated47 · 4.6
Studz PeptidesClaimedTests on fileLot AC50609LIS · ILS Laboratories99.15%1Not stated1 · 5.0
Humatide PeptidesClaimedTests on fileLot H50AICR060126 · ILS Laboratories99.90%1🇺🇸 United States27 · 4.9
TriVial BioWorksClaimedTests on fileLot AC50-0522 · Kovera Labs99.59%1Not statedNo reviews yet
RUO.bioTests on fileLot AI002 · Vanguard Laboratory99.80%1Not statedNo reviews yet
Newest test per shop · 5 shops

Shops listing Aicar

127 shops list it · top 6 by trust scoreCompare prices from 10 shops →
Humatide PeptidesTrust 98/100 · 99.7% avg purity · 44 tests
Core PeptidesTrust 96/100 · 99.4% avg purity · 87 tests
PeptuviaTrust 95/100 · 99.7% avg purity · 22 tests
Adonis ResearchTrust 93/100 · 99.6% avg purity · 12 tests
Crush ResearchTrust 92/100 · 99.7% avg purity · 48 tests
Peptide CraftersTrust 92/100 · 99.6% avg purity · 207 tests
Trust score, average purity and test count on these cards cover each shop's whole catalogue, not only Aicar.Browse all 127 shops listing Aicar →

What is Aicar?

figures updated · article reviewed Aug 2026

AICAR — the research compound also called acadesine or AICA-riboside (CAS 2627-69-2) — is a small-molecule nucleoside analog and AMPK (AMP-activated protein kinase) activator researched as an exercise mimetic for endurance, fat oxidation, and metabolic regulation. (The acronym's literal expansion, 5-aminoimidazole-4-carboxamide ribonucleotide, is the phosphorylated intracellular metabolite ZMP; the compound sold and studied as "AICAR" is the ribonucleoside acadesine.) Despite frequent grouping with peptides, AICAR is not a peptide — it is a nucleotide analog. It is not approved for general therapeutic use and is prohibited by WADA (World Anti-Doping Agency) as a metabolic modulator on the Prohibited List.

Source: Acadesine / AICAR (AICA-riboside) — compound identity, PubChem (NCBI), PubChem, 2026

What is AICAR and how does the AMPK activation mechanism work?

AICAR is a cell-permeable nucleoside analog that is phosphorylated intracellularly to ZMP (AICA ribotide — the 5-aminoimidazole-4-carboxamide ribonucleotide), a direct activator of AMP-activated protein kinase (AMPK) — the central energy-sensing kinase that regulates fatty acid oxidation, glucose uptake, mitochondrial biogenesis, and autophagy in response to cellular energy stress. AMPK activation by AICAR mimics aspects of the cellular response to exercise without the actual physical activity, giving rise to the "exercise mimetic" framing.

Evidence level: preclinical (extensive rodent and cell culture); limited human clinical research (cardiac surgery, leukemia)

What does the research show for AICAR?

In a landmark 2008 study by Narkar et al. (Cell), four weeks of AICAR treatment alone increased running endurance in sedentary mice by approximately 44% without physical training and shifted muscle fiber composition toward oxidative phenotypes. Subsequent rodent studies have replicated metabolic effects on fat oxidation, glucose handling, and mitochondrial function. Limited human clinical work has been conducted in cardiac surgery (acadesine as a cardioprotective agent) and certain hematologic conditions, with mixed results. No published Phase 3 efficacy trials exist for exercise capacity, weight loss, or metabolic indications in humans.

Source: AMPK and PPARdelta agonists are exercise mimetics, Narkar V.A., Downes M., Yu R.T., et al. (Evans R.M. senior), Cell, 2008 · Evidence level: preclinical (extensive); human clinical (limited and indication-specific)

How does AICAR compare to other metabolic compounds?

AICAR's mechanism (direct AMPK activation) is distinct from GLP-1 agonism, GIP/glucagon agonism, or NNMT inhibition. It is the most-studied compound in the "exercise mimetic" category but has not produced clinical efficacy at scale comparable to GLP-1-class weight-loss compounds.

CompoundMechanismPrimary research focusEvidence stage
RetatrutideGLP-1 + GIP + glucagonWeight loss, diabetesPhase 3
MOTS-cMitochondrial-derived, AMPKInsulin sensitivity, exercisePreclinical + Phase 1
AICARDirect AMPK activationExercise mimicry, endurance, fat oxidationPreclinical extensive; human limited

AICAR is sometimes confused with 5-Amino-1MQ, but they are different compounds with different targets. AICAR (acadesine, CAS 2627-69-2) is an AMPK-activating nucleoside; 5-Amino-1MQ (CAS 42464-96-0) is a quinolinium small-molecule inhibitor of nicotinamide N-methyltransferase (NNMT). Neither is a peptide, and their mechanisms do not overlap.

Sources: Acadesine / AICAR (AICA-riboside) — compound identity, PubChem (NCBI), PubChem, 2026; 5-Amino-1-methylquinolinium (5-Amino-1MQ) cation — compound identity, PubChem (NCBI), PubChem, 2026

What are the documented side effects of AICAR?

In limited human clinical trials of acadesine for cardiac surgery, side effects have generally been mild — typically transient hypotension and hyperuricemia. Preclinical rodent studies have not surfaced significant toxicity at researched doses. Long-term safety in humans for exercise-mimetic dosing is unknown. The WADA prohibition reflects performance-enhancement concerns rather than identified safety problems.

Evidence level: limited human safety data (specific indications); preclinical rodent safety

What is the regulatory status of AICAR?

AICAR (acadesine) is not approved for general therapeutic use anywhere in the world as of August 2026. It is prohibited by WADA at all times as a metabolic modulator — the 2026 Prohibited List names AICAR by example under Section S4.4.1 (Activators of AMP-activated protein kinase (AMPK)), within S4.4 Metabolic Modulators (as of August 2026) and is banned in competitive sport. Possession is legal in most jurisdictions for research use but use by competitive athletes results in sanctions. Regulatory and anti-doping context in are peptides legal.

Source: WADA Prohibited List (current year)

Why does AICAR vendor verification matter?

AICAR is a nucleotide analog with synthesis processes different from peptide synthesis — HPLC and mass spectrometry remain relevant verification tools, but with different reference standards than peptide compounds. The relatively niche demand also means fewer laboratories produce AICAR at scale, creating wider purity variance. Independent third-party testing is essential. Guidance in how-to-test-peptides hub (note: peptide-specific protocols don't all apply directly).

How does Peptigrity verify AICAR vendors?

Peptigrity collects independent third-party Certificates of Analysis for AICAR from shops' official channels and verifies each for authenticity before publishing. Because shops choose which COAs to publish, results reflect the batches shops have made public rather than every production batch — a selection bias we state openly. A community-funded Testing Grant to purchase and test vials anonymously is in development. Tests in the database come from independent labs such as Janoshik Analytical, Freedom Diagnostics, and Chromate. The lab test table above shows the cross-shop dataset; methodology is documented in how we calculate trust scores.

Frequently asked questions

Is AICAR a peptide?

No. AICAR is a nucleoside analog (acadesine / AICA-riboside), not a peptide; once phosphorylated inside cells to ZMP it mimics AMP (adenosine monophosphate) and activates AMPK. It is grouped with peptides in research-chemical catalogs because of overlapping buyer audience and metabolic research interest.

Will AICAR show up on a drug test?

Yes. AICAR is on the WADA Prohibited List under Section S4.4.1 (AMPK activators, Metabolic Modulators) and competitive athletes testing positive face sanctions. Modern WADA testing methods detect AICAR and its metabolites. For broader drug-testing context, see do peptides show up on drug tests.

Source: WADA Prohibited List (current year)

AICAR is legal to purchase as a research chemical for laboratory use in most jurisdictions, but it is prohibited by WADA for competitive sport. Possession by non-athletes for research use is generally legal; use by competitive athletes results in anti-doping sanctions. Country breakdown in peptide legal status guide.

Does AICAR actually improve endurance in humans?

Human clinical evidence for endurance improvement from AICAR is essentially absent — the "endurance mimetic" finding comes from a 2008 mouse study by Narkar et al. (Cell). Human translation has not been clinically established. Anyone seeking evidence-based endurance enhancement should not assume the mouse data applies directly.

How can I verify an AICAR vendor is selling real product?

Independent third-party HPLC certificate of analysis from a lab the vendor does not own or pay, with mass spectrometry identity confirmation appropriate to a nucleotide analog. COA interpretation in red flags in peptide certificates of analysis.

Does Peptigrity recommend an AICAR dose?

No. AICAR is not approved for human consumption, is WADA-prohibited, and Peptigrity is an independent review platform, not a medical authority. Research-use dosing varies widely in community protocols. Anyone considering use should consult a licensed physician.

This section is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. AICAR is not approved by the FDA or any other regulator for general therapeutic use and is prohibited by WADA in competitive sport. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before using any peptide or research compound. Peptigrity is an independent review platform and does not sell, endorse, or recommend specific products or vendors.

Aicar and other weight loss & metabolic peptides

same category · by lab tests on file
Weight loss & metabolic peptides compared on independent lab data
CompoundMechanismAvg purityTestsShops
Aicar This pageAMPK activator / exercise mimetic99.6%15127
RetatrutideGLP-1 / GIP / Glucagon triple-agonist99.7%1,432424
TirzepatideGLP-1 / GIP dual-agonist99.8%1,065374
MOTS-CMitochondrial-derived metabolic peptide99.4%612482
SemaglutideGLP-1 receptor agonist99.7%455298
CagrilintideLong-acting amylin receptor agonist99.6%284296
5-Amino-1MQNNMT inhibitor (small molecule)99.6%190355
AOD-9604Direct adipocyte lipolysis (GH 176–191 analog)99.3%150295

Community

protocol logs, questions and discussions — shop accounts are always tagged

No logs, questions or discussions about Aicar yet — early posts get the most eyes.

Have a lab test for Aicar?

Every submitted test helps the community verify purity across brands. Free, fast, independent.

Test your Aicar →