Weight loss & metabolic

AOD-9604

Synthetic analog of the growth-hormone 176–191 lipolytic region — developed by Metabolic Pharmaceuticals and the version advanced into human trials. A distinct compound from HGH Fragment 176–191, not an alias.

Also known as AOD9604, AOD 9604, Tyr-hGH Fragment

Peptigrity has 148 lab tests of AOD-9604 on file from 99 shops and 16 labs; the newest is from . Average HPLC purity is 99.34% across the 147 results that report it, and 94.6% of results are at or above 99%. 143 results compare the measured amount with the label (median 105.2% of label); 22 report endotoxin. 54 shops publish prices: $3.40 to $93.27 per mg, median $9.40. Peptigrity publishes measurements, not dosing advice.

From Peptigrity records · figures updated · Cite these figures

Average purity
99.34%
HPLC · 147 results · 94.6% at 99%+
Lab tests on file
148
from 99 shops · 16 labs
Shops listing it
289
54 publish prices
Median price per mg
$9.40
range $3.40–$93.27

Lab test results

148 tests · average purity 99.34% · newest first
AOD-9604 — independent lab test results, newest first
TestedShopLabPurityMeasured vs labelEndotoxinRecord
Coastal PeptidesKovera Labs99.62%5.72 / 5 mg 114% of label—View record →
Apexx Biolabsfreedomdiagnosticstesting.com99.27%15.32 / 10 mg 153% of labelCheck label—RED CAP -1✓
BioEdge Research LabsKovera Labs99.39%5.1 / 5 mg 102% of labelPass062026AOD5M✓
NuLife Peptidesfreedomdiagnosticstesting.com99.81%6.48 / 5 mg 130% of labelPassNLAOD10501✓
Glow AminosILS Laboratories99.65%5.17 / 5 mg 103% of label—FL-010228✓
Peptide Plugsfreedomdiagnosticstesting.com99.16%1.93 / 2 mg 97% of labelPass160-142L-DK✓
Kalyx Labsfreedomdiagnosticstesting.com99.27%5.2 / 5 mg 104% of label—5AD-B02✓
Peptide FoundryILS Laboratories99.49%5.13 / 5 mg 103% of labelPassFO108✓
Peptide Plugsfreedomdiagnosticstesting.com99.04%4.36 / 5 mg 87% of labelPass155-01-DK✓
Elevated PeptidesMZ Biolabs99.75%not reported—2026-07-08
Glow AminosILS Laboratories99.28%5.26 / 5 mg 105% of label—GL-010188✓
Humatide PeptidesILS Laboratories99.20%10.66 / 10 mg 107% of label—H10AOD060126
Showing 12Showing 5 of 148All 148 AOD-9604 lab tests →

Shops with a AOD-9604 test since

36 shops. A shop is listed when a third-party lab published a test of its AOD-9604 in the last six months; the newest result is shown, as the lab reported it. Ordered by date, nothing else.

Shops with a AOD-9604 test since 16 Apr 2026, newest test first
ShopNewest testResultAOD-9604 testsWarehouseReviews
Coastal PeptidesClaimedLab verifiedView record · Kovera Labs99.62%1🇺🇸 United States19 · 4.2
Apexx BiolabsLab verifiedLot RED CAP -1 · freedomdiagnosticstesting.com99.27%1Not statedNo reviews yet
BioEdge Research LabsLab verifiedLot 062026AOD5M · Kovera Labs99.39%2Not statedNo reviews yet
NuLife PeptidesLab verifiedLot NLAOD10501 · freedomdiagnosticstesting.com99.81%1Not stated2 · 5.0
Glow AminosClaimedLab verifiedLot FL-010228 · ILS Laboratories99.65%4Not statedNo reviews yet
Peptide PlugsLab verifiedLot 160-142L-DK · freedomdiagnosticstesting.com99.16%2Not stated19 · 4.5
Kalyx LabsLab verifiedLot 5AD-B02 · freedomdiagnosticstesting.com99.27%1Not stated3 · 5.0
Peptide FoundryLab verifiedLot FO108 · ILS Laboratories99.49%1Not statedNo reviews yet
Elevated PeptidesLab verifiedLot 2026-07-08 · MZ Biolabs99.75%1Not statedNo reviews yet
Humatide PeptidesClaimedLab verifiedLot H10AOD060126 · ILS Laboratories99.20%1🇺🇸 United States24 · 4.9
Show the other 26 shops
Shops with a AOD-9604 test since 16 Apr 2026, newest test first (continued)
Corix LabsLab verifiedLot AOD5 - 06/26 · Janoshik Labs99.66%1Not statedNo reviews yet
Puratek PeptidesLab verifiedLot AOD5001 · ILS Laboratories99.70%1Not statedNo reviews yet
Peptide Lab EULab verifiedView record · Janoshik Labs99.13%1Not statedNo reviews yet
Oasis LabsLab verifiedLot 112455 · Bioviridian99.80%1Not statedNo reviews yet
Nura PeptideLab verifiedLot AOD-062026-1 · freedomdiagnosticstesting.com99.50%2Not statedNo reviews yet
National Science LabsLab verifiedView record · freedomdiagnosticstesting.com76.11%1Not statedNo reviews yet
EZ PepsLab verifiedLot 26-L5-BST / 5AD050126-1 · ILS Laboratories99.11%3Not statedNo reviews yet
Ameano PeptidesLab verifiedLot AMP-AOD2052442026-04 · Janoshik Labs99.22%2Not statedNo reviews yet
Nova LabsLab verifiedView record · Janoshik Labs99.56%1Not statedNo reviews yet
Glowing PeptidesLab verifiedView record · Janoshik Labs99.20%1Not statedNo reviews yet
Blank PeptidesClaimedLab verifiedLot BP-3713888-P · Horizon Analytical99.65%5Not stated10 · 4.6
Bluum PeptidesLab verifiedLot AOD52605-82A · freedomdiagnosticstesting.com98.73%1Not statedNo reviews yet
True Research LabsLab verifiedLot TRL-4602824 · Horizon Analytical99.65%1Not statedNo reviews yet
PepGenics ResearchLab verifiedLot A05040526 · freedomdiagnosticstesting.com99.82%1Not statedNo reviews yet
ElutideClaimedLab verifiedLot E-3713888-P · Horizon Analytical99.65%1🇺🇸 United StatesNo reviews yet
Ascension PeptidesLab verifiedLot 09-05260628 · Kovera Labs99.88%3Not statedNo reviews yet
Voltera Sciences PeptidesLab verifiedLot AOD5.05.02.2026 · ILS Laboratories99.53%1Not stated1 · 4.0
RC PeptidesClaimedLab verifiedView record · Janoshik Labs99.56%1Not stated3 · 5.0
PeptideTechLab verifiedLot AOD-1190 · freedomdiagnosticstesting.com99.88%1Not stated1 · 4.0
Midshire Labs (formerly Regen Peptides)Lab verifiedLot ERP20260324AD5 · Janoshik Labs99.37%1Not statedNo reviews yet
Honest PeptideLab verifiedLot AD1004182026 · freedomdiagnosticstesting.com99.86%2Not statedNo reviews yet
Petratide ScienceLab verifiedLot PS04-AOD5 · freedomdiagnosticstesting.com99.83%2Not statedNo reviews yet
Molecular Solutions PeptidesLab verifiedLot R260416-5AD-W001 · freedomdiagnosticstesting.com99.81%1Not statedNo reviews yet
Precisely PeptidesLab verifiedLot PP412-26-001 · Vanguard Laboratory99.27%1Not statedNo reviews yet
Vylix ResearchLab verifiedLot 5AD-250416-01 · freedomdiagnosticstesting.com99.89%1Not statedNo reviews yet
Peptide PartnersLab verifiedLot AO202605 · Kovera Labs99.94%1Not stated33 · 4.7
Newest test per shop · 36 shops

Shops listing AOD-9604

289 shops list it · top 6 by trust scoreCompare prices from 54 shops →
Humatide PeptidesTrust 98/100 · 99.7% avg purity · 44 tests
Core PeptidesTrust 99/100 · 99.4% avg purity · 87 tests
NexaphTrust 94/100 · 99.6% avg purity · 32 tests
Crush ResearchTrust 93/100 · 99.7% avg purity · 48 tests
Peptide PartnersTrust 98/100 · 99.7% avg purity · 98 tests
Biotech PeptidesTrust 93/100 · 99.8% avg purity · 19 tests
Trust score, average purity and test count on these cards cover each shop's whole catalogue, not only AOD-9604.Browse all 289 shops listing AOD-9604 →

What is AOD-9604?

figures updated · article reviewed Aug 2026

AOD-9604 is a synthetic peptide based on the C-terminal lipolytic region of human growth hormone, developed by Metabolic Pharmaceuticals (Australia) as a candidate anti-obesity drug. It is the version of the GH lipolytic fragment that was actually carried into human clinical trials. It is not approved for any therapeutic indication and is sold as a research-use-only compound. AOD-9604 is catalogued as a chemically distinct compound from the unmodified HGH Fragment 176–191 — a different CAS number (221231-10-3 vs 66004-57-7), a different PubChem record, and a molecular mass of roughly 1815 Da versus the fragment's ~1799 Da. It is commonly referred to as the tyrosine-modified, or "Tyr-hGH," form of the fragment.

What is AOD-9604, and how does it differ from HGH Fragment 176–191?

AOD-9604 is a synthetic analog of the growth-hormone 176–191 lipolytic domain, catalogued separately from the unmodified HGH Fragment 176–191 and commonly described as its tyrosine-modified form. The two are closely related and target the same region of growth hormone, but they are listed as distinct molecules. AOD-9604 (CAS 221231-10-3) is Tyr-hGH(177–191), the 177–191 fragment carrying an added N-terminal tyrosine and an intramolecular disulfide bond. Published molecular-weight values for the pair are reported inconsistently across vendor and reference sources, so sequence and CAS number — not a quoted mass — are the reliable way to tell them apart. The native, unmodified fragment is HGH Fragment 176–191 (CAS 66004-57-7). The practical distinction that matters most: AOD-9604 is the analog that advanced into human clinical development; the unmodified fragment did not.

Evidence level: Structural/analytical (distinct catalogued compounds)

How does the AOD-9604 lipolytic mechanism work?

AOD-9604 mimics the fat-metabolism-regulating region of growth hormone — stimulating lipolysis (fat breakdown) and inhibiting lipogenesis (fat storage) in fat cells — without engaging the growth hormone receptor. Because it does not act on the GH receptor, it is not expected to raise IGF-1 or drive the insulin antagonism and tissue-proliferation associated with full-length GH; isolating that fat-loss signal from GH's other effects was the original rationale for the molecule.

Evidence level: preclinical (rodent and in vitro lipolysis)

What did the human trials of AOD-9604 show?

AOD-9604 AOD-9604 carries a real human clinical record: across six randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trials (about 893 participants) run by Metabolic Pharmaceuticals in the 2000s, it was well tolerated — with a safety and tolerability profile indistinguishable from placebo and no rise in IGF-1. What it could not do was work well enough to become a drug: the pivotal 24-week Phase 2b obesity trial missed its primary weight-loss endpoint versus placebo, and Metabolic Pharmaceuticals discontinued obesity development in 2007. AOD-9604 has not advanced in any obesity program since., and the obesity program was discontinued. Reported safety in those trials was generally favorable, with mild side effects. After the drug program ended, the compound was repositioned outside the obesity-pharmaceutical pathway.

Source: Safety and Tolerability of the Hexadecapeptide AOD9604 in Humans, Stier H., Vos E., Kenley D., J Endocrinol Metab, 2013 · Evidence level: phase 2b human data (efficacy below development threshold)

How does AOD-9604 compare to GLP-1-class weight-loss peptides?

AOD-9604 works through direct fat-cell lipolysis — a fundamentally different mechanism from GLP-1-class drugs, which act through appetite suppression and broader metabolic regulation — and the human evidence points to far smaller effects than the GLP-1 and multi-agonist compounds produce.

CompoundMechanismWeight-loss effectClinical development
RetatrutideGLP-1 + GIP + glucagon~24% — Phase 2Active
TirzepatideGLP-1 + GIP (dual)22.5% — Phase 3FDA-approved
SemaglutideGLP-1 receptor agonist~15% — Phase 3FDA-approved
AOD-9604Direct adipocyte lipolysisBelow efficacy threshold in Phase 2bAbandoned as obesity drug

What is the regulatory status of AOD-9604?

AOD-9604 is not approved as a therapeutic drug for any indication. It is also not eligible for pharmacy compounding: AOD-9604 is not on the FDA's 503A list of bulk drug substances permitted for compounding, and the FDA's Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee voted against including it at its December 4, 2024 meeting. In sport, AOD-9604 is prohibited at all times by the World Anti-Doping Agency as a growth-hormone fragment under Section S2.2.3 of the Prohibited List. After the obesity program ended it appeared in non-pharmaceutical contexts — including supplement and cosmetic formulations in some jurisdictions — but it holds no approved medical indication and is sold to researchers as a research-use-only material. Regulatory treatment varies by country. Context in are peptides legal — regulatory status by country.

Sources: FDA Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee, December 4, 2024 — outcome (AOD-9604 and CJC-1295 voted against 503A inclusion), FDA PCAC (reported via FDA meeting materials + independent tracker), via FDA; WADA Prohibited List (current year) · Evidence level: Regulatory/market (no approved therapeutic indication)

Why does AOD-9604 vendor verification matter?

AOD-9604 and HGH Fragment 176–191 are closely related and elute similarly, so a standard HPLC purity certificate cannot confirm which of the two molecules is actually in a vial — it reports purity against whatever name the submitter wrote, not the molecule's identity. A product sold as AOD-9604 could be the cheaper unmodified fragment, and an HPLC-only COA would not catch the substitution. Mass spectrometry, which resolves the mass difference between them, is the meaningful identity check.

Evidence level: analytical (method limitation)

How does Peptigrity verify AOD-9604 vendors?

Peptigrity collects independent third-party Certificates of Analysis for AOD-9604 from shops' official channels and verifies each for authenticity before publishing. Because shops choose which COAs to publish, results reflect the batches shops have made public rather than every production batch — a selection bias we state openly. A community-funded Testing Grant to purchase and test vials anonymously is in development. Tests in the database come from independent labs such as Janoshik Analytical, Freedom Diagnostics, and Chromate.

Frequently asked questions

Is AOD-9604 the same as HGH Fragment 176–191?

No. They are closely related but catalogued as distinct compounds, with different CAS numbers and molecular masses. AOD-9604 is commonly described as the tyrosine-modified ("Tyr-hGH") form of the 176–191 fragment and is the version that reached Phase 2b human trials. Some vendors use the names interchangeably, but the distinction is real and matters for buyers expecting one specific molecule. See HGH Fragment 176–191.

Is AOD-9604 effective for weight loss?

In human trials reaching Phase 2b, AOD-9604 did not show weight-loss efficacy sufficient to support development as an obesity drug, and the program was discontinued. Preclinical data shows lipolytic activity, but human results were weak. GLP-1-class compounds produce substantially larger weight-loss effects.

AOD-9604 is generally available as a research-use-only chemical in most jurisdictions but is not approved for human therapeutic use. Regulatory treatment varies by country. Full breakdown in the peptide legal status guide.

How can I verify an AOD-9604 vendor is selling the real compound?

Look for an independent third-party HPLC certificate of analysis from a lab the vendor does not own or pay — and for AOD-9604 specifically, mass spectrometry identity confirmation, because an HPLC purity test alone cannot distinguish AOD-9604 from the closely related HGH Fragment 176–191. COA interpretation in red flags in peptide certificates of analysis.

Does Peptigrity recommend an AOD-9604 dose?

No. AOD-9604 is not approved for human consumption, and Peptigrity is an independent review platform, not a medical authority. Anyone considering use should consult a licensed physician.

This section is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. AOD-9604 is not approved by the FDA or any other regulator for human therapeutic use. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before using any peptide or research compound. Peptigrity is an independent review platform and does not sell, endorse, or recommend specific products or vendors.

AOD-9604 and other weight loss & metabolic peptides

same category · by lab tests on file
Weight loss & metabolic peptides compared on independent lab data
CompoundMechanismAvg purityTestsShops
AOD-9604 This pageDirect adipocyte lipolysis (GH 176–191 analog)99.3%148289
RetatrutideGLP-1 / GIP / Glucagon triple-agonist99.7%1,361410
TirzepatideGLP-1 / GIP dual-agonist99.8%1,032364
MOTS-CMitochondrial-derived metabolic peptide99.5%588470
SemaglutideGLP-1 receptor agonist99.7%444291
CagrilintideLong-acting amylin receptor agonist99.6%279290
5-Amino-1MQNNMT inhibitor (small molecule)99.6%188346
HGH Fragment 176–191HGH fragment for lipolysis99.0%62143

Community

protocol logs, questions and discussions — from members, never vendors

No logs, questions or discussions about AOD-9604 yet — early posts get the most eyes.

Have a lab test for AOD-9604?

Every submitted test helps the community verify purity across brands. Free, fast, independent.

Test your AOD-9604 →