Survodutide
Dual GLP-1/glucagon receptor agonist developed by Boehringer Ingelheim, in Phase 3 trials for obesity and MASH (metabolic-associated steatohepatitis).
Also known as BI 456906, BI-456906
Peptigrity has 40 lab tests of survodutide on file from 27 shops and 10 labs; the newest is from . Average HPLC purity is 99.61% across the 40 results that report it, and 97.5% of results are at or above 99%. 40 results compare the measured amount with the label (median 109.9% of label); 3 report endotoxin. 13 shops publish prices: $2.75 to $18.20 per mg, median $9.80. Peptigrity publishes measurements, not dosing advice.
From Peptigrity records · figures updated · Cite these figures
Lab test results
| Tested | Shop | Lab | Purity | Measured vs label | Endotoxin | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zen Aminos | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.94% | 11.84 / 10 mg 118% of label | — | ZAP-SV04✓ | |
| Umbrella Labs | Vanguard Laboratory | 99.80% | 8.7 / 10 mg 87% of label | — | ULP-49131 | |
| Glow Aminos | ILS Laboratories | 99.26% | 10.61 / 10 mg 106% of label | — | GL-010158✓ | |
| Protide Health | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.56% | 13.69 / 10 mg 137% of label | Pass | PH-su101012 | |
| Real Peptides | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.82% | 14.78 / 12 mg 123% of label | — | View record → | |
| Plum Labs Research | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.81% | 13.16 / 10 mg 132% of label | Pass | PLR-SV-101✓ | |
| Peptidology | Vanguard Laboratory | 99.80% | 9.77 / 10 mg 98% of label | — | 1671 | |
| NuScience Peptides | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.87% | 13.16 / 10 mg 132% of label | — | 000176 | |
| Zen Aminos | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.90% | 12.76 / 10 mg 128% of label | — | ZASV03 | |
| Protide Health | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.86% | 11.48 / 10 mg 115% of label | — | CS-S0101012 | |
| Liberty Peptides | Bioviridian | 99.10% | 5.19 / 5 mg 104% of label | — | LPUS34002 | |
| Zen Aminos | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.56% | 9.03 / 10 mg 90% of label | — | ZASV02 |
Shops with a survodutide test since
5 shops. A shop is listed when a third-party lab published a test of its survodutide in the last six months; the newest result is shown, as the lab reported it. Ordered by date, nothing else.
| Shop | Newest test | Result | Survodutide tests | Warehouse | Reviews |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zen AminosClaimedTests on file | Lot ZAP-SV04 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.94% | 3 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Umbrella LabsTests on file | Lot ULP-49131 · Vanguard Laboratory | 99.80% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Glow AminosClaimedTests on file | Lot GL-010158 · ILS Laboratories | 99.26% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Protide HealthTests on file | Lot PH-su101012 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.56% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Real PeptidesTests on file | View record · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.82% | 1 | Not stated | 20 · 4.3 |
Shops listing Survodutide
Compare prices from 13 shops →What is Survodutide?
Survodutide (BI 456906) is an investigational dual GLP-1/glucagon receptor agonist developed by Boehringer Ingelheim and Zealand Pharma. It is in Phase 3 clinical development for obesity (SYNCHRONIZE program) and metabolic dysfunction-associated steatohepatitis (MASH); the first Phase 3 obesity results (SYNCHRONIZE-1) were published in the New England Journal of Medicine in June 2026, on top of the published Phase 2 hepatic and weight-loss data. Survodutide is not approved for any indication as of August 2026 and is sold as a research-use-only compound by third-party laboratories.
Source: Survodutide Once Weekly for the Treatment of Adults with Obesity, le Roux C.W., Wharton S., Startseva E., Kloer I.M., Hussain S.A., Unseld A., Bozkurt B., et al. (SYNCHRONIZE-1 Investigators), N Engl J Med, 2026
What is survodutide and how does the GLP-1/glucagon dual mechanism work?
Survodutide activates both GLP-1 and glucagon receptors with a single peptide — a 29-amino-acid backbone structurally modified from glucagon, acylated with a C18 fatty diacid — combining GLP-1-mediated appetite suppression with glucagon-mediated direct energy expenditure and hepatic fat clearance. The survodutide dual GLP-1/glucagon science guide covers the receptor pharmacology in depth. The glucagon component is the differentiating mechanism — the same axis exploited by retatrutide (triple) and mazdutide (the other Phase 3 dual GLP-1/glucagon, China-led). Half-life is approximately 7 days, enabling once-weekly subcutaneous dosing.
Sources: Glucagon-Like Peptide-1 Based Therapies: A New Horizon in Obesity Management, Son J.W., Lim S., Endocrinology and Metabolism (Seoul), 2024; Survodutide (HY-P4146) — MedChemExpress product datasheet (backbone sequence identity), MedChemExpress, manufacturer datasheet (PDF), 2026 · Evidence level: human RCT (Phase 2 and Phase 3 published; further Phase 3 trials ongoing)
What does the clinical evidence show for survodutide?
In the Phase 2 dose-finding obesity trial (n=387), survodutide produced 14.9% average weight loss at the 4.8 mg dose over 46 weeks on the planned-treatment analysis (versus 2.8% with placebo) in adults with overweight or obesity; participants who reached and maintained the 4.8 mg dose lost up to 18.7%. In the Phase 2 MASH trial (n=293, 48 weeks), up to 62% of participants on survodutide achieved improvement in MASH without worsening of fibrosis versus 14% on placebo, and up to 67% achieved at least a 30% reduction in liver fat content. A Phase 3 trial in obesity with MASLD (SYNCHRONIZE-MASLD), published in Nature Medicine in 2026, reported that 84.2% of survodutide-treated participants achieved at least a 30% reduction in liver-fat content versus 24.3% on placebo (mean liver-fat change −12.2% vs −1.0%). The Phase 3 readout has since arrived. In SYNCHRONIZE-1 (n=725, 76 weeks; published in the New England Journal of Medicine, June 2026), survodutide produced 12.2% (3.6 mg) and 13.0% (6.0 mg) average weight loss versus 5.4% with placebo on the published primary (treatment-regimen) estimand — and 15.3%/16.6% versus 3.2% on the efficacy estimand (participants adhering to treatment); 28.5% of the 6.0-mg group lost at least 20% of body weight versus 6.6% on placebo. SYNCHRONIZE-2, in people with obesity and type 2 diabetes, is due to be presented at the EASD annual meeting, and results from the SYNCHRONIZE-CVOT cardiovascular outcomes trial are expected later in 2026.
Sources: Glucagon and GLP-1 receptor dual agonist survodutide for obesity: a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, dose-finding phase 2 trial, le Roux C.W. et al. (optional, non-blocking: complete list), Lancet Diabetes Endocrinol, 2024; A Phase 2 Randomized Trial of Survodutide in MASH and Fibrosis, Sanyal A.J. et al. (optional, non-blocking: complete list), N Engl J Med, 2024; Survodutide in adults with obesity and metabolic dysfunction-associated steatotic liver disease: SYNCHRONIZE-MASLD, a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled phase 3 trial, — (optional, non-blocking: attach author list), Nat Med, 2026; Survodutide Once Weekly for the Treatment of Adults with Obesity, le Roux C.W., Wharton S., Startseva E., Kloer I.M., Hussain S.A., Unseld A., Bozkurt B., et al. (SYNCHRONIZE-1 Investigators), N Engl J Med, 2026; Zealand Pharma Announces Financial Results for the First Half of 2026 (petrelintide program status), Zealand Pharma, via GlobeNewswire (company release) · Evidence level: human RCT (Phase 2 and Phase 3 published)
How does survodutide compare to retatrutide and other dual agonists?
Survodutide and mazdutide share the GLP-1/glucagon dual mechanism but are developed by different sponsors targeting different lead markets — survodutide US/global via Boehringer Ingelheim, mazdutide China-led via Innovent Biologics. Retatrutide adds GIP to that mechanism, producing larger weight-loss signals at the cost of more complex synthesis.
| Compound | Mechanism | Phase 2/3 weight loss | Distinct angle |
|---|---|---|---|
| Retatrutide | GLP-1 + GIP + glucagon (triple) | 24.2% — Phase 2, 48 wks (published); Phase 3 TRIUMPH figures (~28–30%) are company topline, not yet peer-reviewed | Highest weight loss |
| Survodutide | GLP-1 + glucagon (dual) | 13.0% — SYNCHRONIZE-1 Phase 3, 76 wks (16.6% efficacy estimand) | MASH liver focus |
| Mazdutide | GLP-1 + glucagon (dual) | 14.8% — GLORY-1 Phase 3, 48 wks (efficacy estimand, 6 mg) | China lead market |
| Tirzepatide | GLP-1 + GIP (dual) | 22.5% — SURMOUNT-1, 72 wks | FDA-approved |
A third GLP-1/glucagon dual agonist, pemvidutide (Altimmune), entered Phase 3 for MASH in August 2026. For a structured dual-vs-triple comparison, see retatrutide vs survodutide vs mazdutide.
Source: Altimmune Initiates PERFORMA Phase 3 Trial of Pemvidutide in Patients with MASH, Altimmune, via GlobeNewswire (company release)
What are the documented side effects of survodutide?
The most common survodutide side effects in Phase 2 were gastrointestinal — nausea, vomiting, decreased appetite — generally mild-to-moderate and concentrated in dose escalation, with discontinuation rates comparable to other GLP-1-class compounds. The glucagon component raises theoretical concerns about heart rate increases that the ongoing Phase 3 program — including the SYNCHRONIZE-CVOT cardiovascular outcomes trial — will further characterize. Long-term safety data is more limited than for FDA-approved alternatives.
Evidence level: human RCT (Phase 2 and Phase 3)
What is the regulatory status of survodutide?
Survodutide is not approved by the FDA, EMA, or any other regulator as of August 2026, and no regulatory submission has been announced. The registrational picture is maturing: SYNCHRONIZE-1 (obesity) is published, SYNCHRONIZE-2 (obesity with type 2 diabetes) is due for presentation at the EASD annual meeting, SYNCHRONIZE-CVOT results are expected later in 2026, and Boehringer Ingelheim has announced four additional Phase 3(b) trials starting in 2026. In MASH, survodutide holds FDA Breakthrough Therapy designation (granted October 2024 for non-cirrhotic MASH with moderate or advanced fibrosis) and is in two Phase 3 trials — LIVERAGE (~1,800 adults with stage 2–3 fibrosis) and LIVERAGE-Cirrhosis (~1,590 adults with compensated cirrhosis). Regulatory context in FDA peptide regulation 2025–2026 timeline.
Sources: Zealand Pharma Announces Financial Results for the First Half of 2026 (petrelintide program status), Zealand Pharma, via GlobeNewswire (company release); FDA grants Breakthrough Therapy designation to survodutide for non-cirrhotic MASH with moderate or advanced fibrosis; two Phase 3 MASH trials initiated (LIVERAGE, LIVERAGE-Cirrhosis), FDA / Boehringer Ingelheim (reported by Healio), via healio.com (secondary quoting the BI announcement)
Why does survodutide vendor verification matter?
Survodutide is among the newer investigational GLP-1/glucagon agonists with a narrower manufacturing base than semaglutide or tirzepatide, creating wider purity variance and stronger economic incentive for underdosing. Independent HPLC purity testing and mass spectrometry identity confirmation are the only meaningful purity signals. Some vendors mislabel survodutide as a generic "GLP-1/glucagon dual agonist" without specifying BI 456906; buyers should confirm the specific compound. Guidance in our how-to-test-peptides hub.
How does Peptigrity verify survodutide vendors?
Peptigrity collects independent third-party Certificates of Analysis for survodutide from shops' official channels and verifies each for authenticity before publishing. Because shops choose which COAs to publish, results reflect the batches shops have made public rather than every production batch — a selection bias we state openly. A community-funded Testing Grant to purchase and test vials anonymously is in development. Tests in the database come from independent labs such as Janoshik Analytical, Freedom Diagnostics, and Chromate. The lab test table above this section shows the cross-shop dataset for what's been tested. Methodology in how we calculate trust scores.
Frequently asked questions
How can I verify a survodutide vendor is selling real product?
The only reliable purity signal is an independent third-party HPLC certificate of analysis from a lab the vendor does not own or pay — and for survodutide specifically, buyers should verify the compound is labeled correctly (BI 456906), not as a generic "GLP-1/glucagon dual agonist" that could be mazdutide or another molecule. Compare vendors against the independent survodutide lab tests on file. For COA interpretation, see red flags in peptide certificates of analysis.
Is survodutide legal to purchase?
Survodutide is legal to purchase as a research chemical for laboratory use in most jurisdictions, but it is not approved for human consumption. Buyers are responsible for verifying local import rules — full breakdown in peptide legal status guide.
When will survodutide be FDA-approved?
No FDA approval has been granted as of August 2026, and Boehringer Ingelheim has not announced a regulatory filing. The first Phase 3 obesity trial (SYNCHRONIZE-1) is now published, with SYNCHRONIZE-2 and cardiovascular-outcomes results expected through late 2026 — an approval decision, if the program succeeds, would follow a future submission whose date has not been announced. In MASH, survodutide holds FDA Breakthrough Therapy designation. Track developments in FDA peptide regulation 2025–2026 timeline.
Sources: Survodutide Once Weekly for the Treatment of Adults with Obesity, le Roux C.W., Wharton S., Startseva E., Kloer I.M., Hussain S.A., Unseld A., Bozkurt B., et al. (SYNCHRONIZE-1 Investigators), N Engl J Med, 2026; Zealand Pharma Announces Financial Results for the First Half of 2026 (petrelintide program status), Zealand Pharma, via GlobeNewswire (company release)
Is survodutide different from mazdutide?
Yes. Both are dual GLP-1/glucagon receptor agonists with similar mechanism logic but they are different molecules from different sponsors — survodutide (BI 456906) from Boehringer Ingelheim, mazdutide (IBI362) from Innovent Biologics. They are not interchangeable. The regulatory gap is now concrete: mazdutide was approved in China in June 2025 for chronic weight management (brand Xinermei®) and in September 2025 for type 2 diabetes, while survodutide is not yet approved anywhere.
Source: Mazdutide: First Approval, Shirley M., via Drugs (Adis)
Does Peptigrity recommend a survodutide dose?
No. Survodutide is not approved for human consumption and Peptigrity is an independent review platform, not a medical authority. The doses studied in Phase 2 (0.6 mg through 4.8 mg weekly) were administered under clinical supervision. Anyone considering investigational compound use should consult a licensed physician.
What is the MASH connection with survodutide?
Survodutide has produced strong Phase 2 data in MASH (metabolic dysfunction-associated steatohepatitis): up to 62% of treated participants achieved improvement in MASH without worsening of fibrosis versus 14% on placebo, and up to 67% achieved at least a 30% reduction in liver fat content. The FDA granted Breakthrough Therapy designation for non-cirrhotic MASH in October 2024, and the Phase 3 LIVERAGE trials are ongoing. and histological improvement in MASH resolution. The glucagon mechanism is mechanistically suited to hepatic fat clearance — a differentiator from GLP-1-only compounds. A dedicated MASH Phase 3 program is running in parallel with the obesity program.
Sources: A Phase 2 Randomized Trial of Survodutide in MASH and Fibrosis, Sanyal A.J. et al. (optional, non-blocking: complete list), N Engl J Med, 2024; FDA grants Breakthrough Therapy designation to survodutide for non-cirrhotic MASH with moderate or advanced fibrosis; two Phase 3 MASH trials initiated (LIVERAGE, LIVERAGE-Cirrhosis), FDA / Boehringer Ingelheim (reported by Healio), via healio.com (secondary quoting the BI announcement)
This section is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. Survodutide is an investigational compound not approved by the FDA or any other regulator for human use. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before using any peptide or research compound. Peptigrity is an independent review platform and does not sell, endorse, or recommend specific products or vendors.
Survodutide and other weight loss & metabolic peptides
| Compound | Mechanism | Avg purity | Tests | Shops |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Survodutide This page | GLP-1 / Glucagon dual-agonist | 99.6% | 40 | 125 |
| Retatrutide | GLP-1 / GIP / Glucagon triple-agonist | 99.7% | 1,432 | 424 |
| Tirzepatide | GLP-1 / GIP dual-agonist | 99.8% | 1,065 | 374 |
| MOTS-C | Mitochondrial-derived metabolic peptide | 99.4% | 612 | 482 |
| Semaglutide | GLP-1 receptor agonist | 99.7% | 455 | 298 |
| Cagrilintide | Long-acting amylin receptor agonist | 99.6% | 284 | 296 |
| 5-Amino-1MQ | NNMT inhibitor (small molecule) | 99.6% | 190 | 355 |
| AOD-9604 | Direct adipocyte lipolysis (GH 176–191 analog) | 99.3% | 150 | 295 |
Community
No logs, questions or discussions about Survodutide yet — early posts get the most eyes.
Have a lab test for Survodutide?
Every submitted test helps the community verify purity across brands. Free, fast, independent.