Survodutide's phase 3 obesity result reads as last place on the leaderboard — 13.0% at 76 weeks against tirzepatide's 20.9%. Two things complicate that reading: its placebo group lost 5.4%, and its strongest result is not in obesity at all but in the liver.
SYNCHRONIZE-1 was published in the New England Journal of Medicine on 7 June 2026: 725 adults, 76 weeks, −13.0% at 6.0 mg and −12.2% at 3.6 mg. Put next to SURMOUNT-1's 20.9% for tirzepatide, that reads as a distant finish among the weight loss and metabolic peptides. It is more complicated than that, and the reason is in the control arm.
The more interesting survodutide result is not in obesity at all. In phase 2 MASH, 62% of patients on 4.8 mg achieved MASH improvement without worsening fibrosis, versus 14% on placebo.
Why did survodutide's placebo group lose 5.4%?
Survodutide's SYNCHRONIZE-1 placebo arm lost 5.4% of body weight over 76 weeks, with 46.3% of placebo participants losing at least 5% — nearly double the placebo response in SURMOUNT-1 (−3.1%), STEP-1 (−2.4%) or REDEFINE-1 (−3.0%). No explanation appears in the abstract. The consequence is arithmetical: survodutide's placebo-adjusted effect compresses to roughly 7.6 percentage points, and any naive cross-trial ranking against a 3% control arm is not measuring the same thing.
A 5.4% placebo weight loss over 76 weeks, with nearly half the control group losing at least 5% of body weight, is a much stronger control response than this field usually sees. It could reflect trial-level lifestyle intervention, population characteristics, or trial duration. None of those explanations is confirmed, and the abstract does not address the question.
The direction of the distortion matters. An unusually responsive placebo arm does not flatter survodutide — it penalises it, because the drug effect is measured as the gap between the two arms. Every leaderboard that ranks raw percentage weight loss is quietly comparing drugs against different baselines, and doing so in exactly the direction that flatters everyone else.
How much weight did survodutide produce in SYNCHRONIZE-1?
Survodutide produced 13.0% mean weight loss at 6.0 mg and 12.2% at 3.6 mg over 76 weeks in SYNCHRONIZE-1, a 725-patient randomised phase 3 trial published in the New England Journal of Medicine on 7 June 2026 (PMID 42253238, NCT06066515). At least 5% loss was reached by 71.9% and 72.6% of participants against 46.3% on placebo, both doses P<0.001. No deaths were reported.
SYNCHRONIZE-1 — le Roux et al., "Survodutide Once Weekly for the Treatment of Adults with Obesity," NEJM, 7 June 2026 (PMID 42253238). NCT06066515, n=725 (241 on 3.6 mg, 242 on 6.0 mg, 242 placebo), 76 weeks.
Arm | Weight change | ≥5% loss |
|---|---|---|
3.6 mg | −12.2% | 72.6% |
6.0 mg | −13.0% | 71.9% |
Placebo | −5.4% | 46.3% |
Two features of this trial are routinely dropped when the number is quoted. The higher dose bought very little: 6.0 mg produced −13.0% against −12.2% at 3.6 mg, and slightly fewer responders at the 5% threshold (71.9% versus 72.6%). And the discontinuation rate is not reported in the abstract — a figure that circulates on secondary sites but that we are not quoting, because we cannot source it.
Is survodutide's real value hepatic rather than metabolic?
Survodutide's strongest result is in the liver, not on the scale. In a 293-patient phase 2 randomised trial in MASH (Sanyal et al., NEJM, July 2024, PMID 38847460), 62% of patients on 4.8 mg achieved MASH improvement without worsening fibrosis over 48 weeks, against 14% on placebo, P<0.001. Liver fat fell by at least 30% in 67% of that arm versus 14%. This is phase 2 histology, not a phase 3 outcome.
Outcome | 2.4 mg | 4.8 mg | 6.0 mg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
MASH improvement without worsening fibrosis | 47% | 62% | 43% | 14% |
≥30% liver fat reduction | 63% | 67% | 57% | 14% |
≥1-stage fibrosis improvement | 34% | 36% | 34% | 22% |
P<0.001 for the primary endpoint, on a quadratic dose-response model.
Metabolic dysfunction-associated steatohepatitis is a serious condition with very few approved therapies, and a 62% histological response rate against 14% on placebo is a substantial phase 2 signal. The mechanism is not incidental to it: glucagon receptor agonism acts directly on hepatocytes to increase fat oxidation, which is a more targeted route to liver fat than weight loss alone.
Adverse events tracked the class: nausea 66% versus 23%, diarrhoea 49% versus 23%, vomiting 41% versus 4%; serious adverse events 8% versus 7%.
One pattern deserves stating rather than smoothing. The dose response is non-monotonic — 4.8 mg outperformed 6.0 mg on every endpoint in the table. That is common in phase 2 trials and usually resolves with larger numbers, but it is worth knowing, particularly for anyone assuming that more is better on a compound whose obesity programme titrates to 6.0 mg.
Further phase 3 data has now published or is in progress: SYNCHRONIZE-MASLD (Nature Medicine, June 2026, PMID 42252333), a SYNCHRONIZE-2 baseline paper (PMID 41216778), and a SYNCHRONIZE-CVOT baseline paper in JACC: Heart Failure (PMID 41329105). Survodutide has also been studied in cirrhosis (Journal of Hepatology, November 2024, PMID 38857788).
What is survodutide, and how does it differ from mazdutide?
Survodutide is a lipidated dual glucagon receptor and GLP-1 receptor agonist developed by Boehringer Ingelheim and Zealand Pharma as BI 456906, CAS 2805997-46-8, formula C₁₉₂H₂₈₉N₄₇O₆₁, molecular weight 4,232.0 g/mol. It shares mazdutide's exact receptor pairing — glucagon plus GLP-1, no GIP component — and differs by mass: at 4,232.0 Da it is the lightest molecule in this class, against mazdutide 4,476.0, retatrutide 4,731.0 and tirzepatide 4,813.0.
Property | Value |
|---|---|
Mechanism | Dual glucagon receptor + GLP-1 receptor agonist |
CAS | 2805997-46-8 (PubChem CID 171378821) |
Formula / MW | C₁₉₂H₂₈₉N₄₇O₆₁ / 4,232.0 g/mol |
Development code | BI 456906 |
Developers | Boehringer Ingelheim / Zealand Pharma |
Sharing a receptor pairing does not mean sharing a profile. Mazdutide uses the same glucagon-plus-GLP-1 combination and lands in a very different place on both efficacy and tolerability.
Survodutide | Mazdutide | |
|---|---|---|
Receptor pairing | Glucagon + GLP-1, no GIP | Glucagon + GLP-1, no GIP |
Molecular weight | 4,232.0 g/mol | 4,476.0 g/mol |
Phase 3 weight loss | −13.0% at 6.0 mg, 76 wk (SYNCHRONIZE-1) | −16.65% at 9 mg, 60 wk (GLORY-2) |
Placebo arm | −5.4% | −1.50% |
Placebo-adjusted effect | 7.6 pts | 15.15 pts |
Discontinuation | Not reported in the phase 3 abstract | 0.5–2.9% |
Those mass differences are hundreds of daltons apart, trivially separable by mass spectrometry, and completely invisible on an HPLC purity certificate — which reports how pure a sample is, not what it is. See mass spectrometry for peptides.
How does survodutide rank once you adjust for placebo?
Survodutide ranks last on both raw and placebo-adjusted weight loss. Its 13.0% at 6.0 mg trails tirzepatide's 20.9%, CagriSema's 20.4%, mazdutide's 16.65% and semaglutide's 14.9%; adjusted for its own control arm it delivers roughly 7.6 percentage points against 17.8 for tirzepatide and 17.3 for CagriSema. The placebo correction makes the comparison fairer without rescuing it — 7.6 points is genuinely at the lower end of this class.
Cross-trial comparison is not head-to-head, and this table is exactly where the placebo-arm point bites.
Compound / dose | Trial | n | Duration | Weight change | Placebo | Placebo-adjusted |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Tirzepatide 15 mg | SURMOUNT-1 | 2,539 | 72 wk | −20.9% | −3.1% | 17.8 pts |
REDEFINE-1 | 3,417 | 68 wk | −20.4% | −3.0% | 17.3 pts | |
Mazdutide 9 mg | GLORY-2 | 461 | 60 wk | −16.65% | −1.50% | 15.15 pts |
Semaglutide 2.4 mg | STEP-1 | 1,961 | 68 wk | −14.9% | −2.4% | 12.5 pts |
Survodutide 6.0 mg | SYNCHRONIZE-1 | 725 | 76 wk | −13.0% | −5.4% | 7.6 pts |
The placebo-adjusted column is the fairer one, and it does not rescue the comparison. Survodutide's distinctive value looks like being hepatic rather than weight-based. For the mechanistic breakdown across the duals and the triple, see retatrutide versus survodutide versus mazdutide.
How badly does survodutide affect the gut, and how many people stopped?
Gastrointestinal adverse events affected 80.9% and 89.7% of SYNCHRONIZE-1 participants on the 3.6 mg and 6.0 mg doses, against 47.9% on placebo. In the phase 2 MASH trial, nausea reached 66% versus 23%, diarrhoea 49% versus 23% and vomiting 41% versus 4%, with serious adverse events at 8% versus 7%. How many people stopped because of it is unknown: the discontinuation rate is not reported in the SYNCHRONIZE-1 abstract, and we are not quoting one.
Nearly nine out of ten participants on the 6.0 mg dose experienced gastrointestinal adverse events. Set against mazdutide's 0.5–2.9% discontinuation rates on the same receptor pairing, that is a striking difference — but the two figures measure different things, and without survodutide's discontinuation number nobody can say how much of the adverse-event burden translated into people actually stopping.
That gap is a limit on what can be claimed, in both directions. It does not mean survodutide was well tolerated, and it does not mean it was abandoned. It means the number does not exist in the published abstract. See peptide side effects for how these rates compare across the class.
What a −13% to +36.9% fill variance does to a drug titrated to 6.0 mg
Survodutide averages 99.59% purity across 37 independent tests on the Peptigrity Purity Index (verified August 2026), from four labs — Vanguard, ILS, Janoshik and Freedom Diagnostics — across 218 shops selling. The quantity data is the worst in this class: fill variance runs −13% to +36.9%, a fifty-point spread. On a compound titrated toward 6.0 mg where 89.7% of trial participants had gastrointestinal adverse events, a 36.9% overage is not a rounding error.
The mechanism connecting those two findings is obvious and unpleasant. The gastrointestinal burden reported in SYNCHRONIZE-1 was measured at the correct dose. A vial delivering a third more than the label says is delivering a dose that was never studied, on a molecule whose adverse-event profile is already the worst in this comparison. Most tests on the platform also report no endotoxin data at all. See why 10 mg isn't 10 mg.
Survodutide price data shows 11 shops in stock, median $10.00/mg, lowest $2.75/mg on a 10 mg vial (verified 9 August 2026), across 11 compared offers with vial prices from $27.50 to $119.99. Those figures exclude shipping, taxes and customs, coupon codes, bulk tiers, multi-vial kits and account-gated pricing. Those figures sit within 11,852 independent lab tests across 530 tracked shops (verified August 2026).
Check | What it confirms | How | Red flag |
|---|---|---|---|
Mass spectrometry | Identity — 4,232.0 Da distinguishes survodutide from mazdutide (4,476.0), retatrutide (4,731.0) and tirzepatide (4,813.0) | Third-party MS on the vial you received | HPLC purity quoted alone |
Fill accuracy | The vial matches the label | Quantitative assay reporting mg recovered | −13% to +36.9% is on record |
Net peptide content | Peptide versus salts and water | Net content stated on the COA | Purity quoted as quantity |
Salt form | What you are actually weighing | Salt form named on the COA | Not stated |
Endotoxin (LAL) | No pyrogens present | LAL assay result on the COA | Most tests report none |
Because the fill variance is this wide, calculate volume from the assayed quantity rather than the label where you have it: use the peptide dosing calculator alongside the reconstitution calculator, and compare vendors on the survodutide compound page.
Is survodutide approved anywhere, and can it be compounded?
Survodutide is not approved anywhere we could verify. FDA's drug application database returns no match, and survodutide is absent from FDA's novel approvals lists for 2025 and 2026, current through 5 August 2026; whether Boehringer Ingelheim has filed anywhere we could not determine. No compounding pathway has ever existed, because compounding a copy of an approved drug requires that drug to be approved and in shortage, and survodutide has never been approved.
It does not appear on FDA's compounding lists. We enumerated both tables on the page current 22 April 2026 — no GLP-1, GIP, glucagon or amylin agonist is on either. That absence carries no permission.
FDA's warning on this class applies: the agency has "warned companies that have illegally sold unapproved drugs... falsely labeled 'for research purposes' or 'not for human consumption.' These products have been sold directly to consumers for human use." See our FDA peptide regulation timeline.
On WADA, survodutide is not named on the 2026 Prohibited List, and no GLP-1 class entry exists. But the S0 catch-all prohibits substances "with no current approval by any governmental regulatory health authority for human therapeutic use," expressly including "drugs under pre-clinical or clinical development." Survodutide holds no approval anywhere. On the plain text, S0 applies — an interpretation rather than a published ruling. Seek a determination before competing.
Which survodutide claims are now out of date?
The claim that survodutide is still a phase 2 compound is outdated: SYNCHRONIZE-1 published in June 2026. The claim that it is weaker than tirzepatide is not directly comparable, because its placebo arm lost 5.4%. Its MASH result is a strong phase 2 signal at 62% versus 14%. What holds without qualification: it is a glucagon/GLP-1 dual, it is approved nowhere, and gastrointestinal adverse events reached 80.9–89.7%.
Claim | Evidence | Verdict |
|---|---|---|
Dual glucagon/GLP-1 agonist | Confirmed | True |
Still phase 2 only | SYNCHRONIZE-1 published June 2026 | Outdated |
~13% weight loss | SYNCHRONIZE-1, 76 weeks, 6.0 mg | True |
Weaker than tirzepatide | Cross-trial, and its placebo arm lost 5.4% | Not directly comparable |
Works for MASH | Phase 2: 62% response vs 14% placebo, P<0.001 | Strong phase 2 signal |
Approved anywhere | Absent from FDA approvals 2025 and 2026 | No |
Well tolerated | GI adverse events in 80.9–89.7% | Poorly |
Discontinuation rate is known | Not reported in the SYNCHRONIZE-1 abstract | Unknown |
Can be legally compounded | Never approved, so never in shortage | No pathway exists |
Not banned in sport | Not named, but S0 likely applies | Arguably prohibited |
The trial that would settle this
A phase 3 MASH trial with histological endpoints is the study that would settle survodutide's case, because that is where its 62%-versus-14% phase 2 signal lives and where the therapeutic field is close to empty. Phase 3 obesity is already answered — SYNCHRONIZE-1, June 2026. What remains unresolved: the discontinuation rate at 6.0 mg, any head-to-head against tirzepatide or semaglutide, and an explanation for the 5.4% placebo response.
Element | Status |
|---|---|
Phase 3 obesity | Published June 2026 — SYNCHRONIZE-1 |
Phase 3 MASH with histological endpoints | The trial that matters; phase 2 showed 62% vs 14% |
Discontinuation rate at 6.0 mg | Not reported in the phase 3 abstract |
Head-to-head versus tirzepatide or semaglutide | None identified |
Explanation for the 5.4% placebo response | Unaddressed in the abstract |
Cardiovascular outcomes | SYNCHRONIZE-CVOT baseline published; outcomes pending |
The second row is where survodutide's case actually lives. A drug that produces 13% weight loss in a class where 20% exists is not competitive on weight. A drug that resolves steatohepatitis in 62% of patients against 14% on placebo is competing in a field with almost nothing in it.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is survodutide still in phase 2?
No. SYNCHRONIZE-1, its phase 3 obesity trial, was published in the New England Journal of Medicine on 7 June 2026 — 725 participants, 76 weeks, −13.0% at 6.0 mg versus −5.4% on placebo. Phase 2 remains the only evidence level for the MASH indication.
Why does its weight loss look worse than the others?
Partly because it is, and partly because its placebo group lost 5.4% — nearly double the placebo response in comparable trials. Adjusted for placebo, survodutide's effect is about 7.6 percentage points, versus roughly 17 to 18 for tirzepatide and CagriSema. It is genuinely at the lower end, but the raw percentages overstate the gap.
What about the liver results?
Phase 2 in MASH found 62% of patients on 4.8 mg achieved MASH improvement without worsening fibrosis, versus 14% on placebo, P<0.001. In a condition with very few approved therapies, that is the most interesting thing about this compound. It is phase 2 histology, and a phase 3 histological trial has not reported.
How does survodutide compare with mazdutide?
They share a receptor pairing — glucagon plus GLP-1, no GIP — and diverge sharply on results. Mazdutide produced 16.65% at 9 mg over 60 weeks against a 1.50% placebo response, for 15.15 placebo-adjusted points, with discontinuation of 0.5% to 2.9%. Survodutide produced 13.0% for 7.6 placebo-adjusted points, and its discontinuation rate is not published.
Is it well tolerated?
Gastrointestinal adverse events affected 80.9% and 89.7% of participants on the two doses, against 47.9% on placebo. The discontinuation rate is not reported in the phase 3 abstract, so we cannot say how many people stopped because of it. In phase 2 MASH, vomiting affected 41% against 4% on placebo.
Is survodutide banned in sport?
It is not named on the WADA 2026 Prohibited List, but the S0 catch-all prohibits substances with no approval from any governmental health authority, expressly including drugs in clinical development. On the plain text, that captures survodutide, which holds no approval anywhere. That is our reading, not a published ruling, so seek a formal determination before competing.
Why survodutide gets judged by the wrong number
Survodutide is the compound in this class most likely to be judged by the wrong number. Read as an obesity drug it is 13.0% against tirzepatide's 20.9%, and the placebo correction to 7.6 points softens that without reversing it. Read as a liver drug it resolved steatohepatitis in 62% of phase 2 patients against 14% on placebo, in a disease where the therapeutic cupboard is close to bare.
The useful way to look at it is that survodutide may not be an obesity drug that happens to help the liver. Its receptor pairing acts directly on hepatocytes, its best endpoint is histological, and its weakest showing is the one everyone quotes.
For anyone buying it on the research market, none of that is currently the binding constraint. The compound has never been approved anywhere, has no compounding pathway and never has had one, produces gastrointestinal effects in nearly nine out of ten trial participants at the target dose, and shows fill accuracy on this platform ranging from 13% under to 37% over label.
Browse the weight loss and metabolic peptides category, or our complete peptide guide with 118 compounds (verified August 2026). For per-injection volume, use the peptide dosing calculator alongside the reconstitution calculator. Compare shops through independent lab tests and community-verified shop reviews.
This article is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. Peptides discussed may be investigational compounds not approved by the FDA (or equivalent regulators in your jurisdiction) for human use. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before using any peptide or research compound. Peptigrity is an independent review platform and does not sell, endorse, or recommend specific products or vendors.



