§ EDITORIAL · INDEPENDENT RESEARCH22 MIN READ · PUBLISHED JUN 27, 2026
Home Blog Retatrutide vs Survodutide vs Mazdutide: What the Third Receptor Actually Buys
Weight Loss & Metabolic Health

Retatrutide vs Survodutide vs Mazdutide: What the Third Receptor Actually Buys

P
Saturday, June 27, 2026 · 22 min read

All three add glucagon receptor agonism to GLP-1. Only retatrutide also keeps GIP, making it the triple. The trade-off this page resolves is mechanism against evidence: the drug with the most receptors has the least data.

Mazdutide and survodutide share an identical receptor pairing and land in very different places, and mazdutide is the only one of the three approved anywhere. All sit in the weight loss and metabolic peptides category, with individual records in retatrutide: the 24.2% figure comes from a 338-person phase 2 trial, survodutide: the placebo arm that lost 5.4% and mazdutide: approved in China, misdescribed everywhere else.

What is the actual receptor difference between the three?

Retatrutide is the only triple agonist here, hitting GIP, GLP-1 and glucagon receptors. Survodutide and mazdutide are duals with the identical pairing — glucagon receptor plus GLP-1, no GIP component in either. Mazdutide is widely described as a triple agonist and it is not; that label is simply wrong. Their molecular weights separate cleanly: survodutide 4,232.0, mazdutide 4,476.0 and retatrutide 4,731.0 g/mol, against tirzepatide's 4,813.0.

Property

Survodutide

Mazdutide

Retatrutide

Mechanism

Glucagon + GLP-1 dual, no GIP

GCGR + GLP-1 dual, no GIP

GIP + GLP-1 + glucagon triple

Molecular weight

4,232.0 g/mol

4,476.0 g/mol

4,731.0 g/mol

Formula

C₁₉₂H₂₈₉N₄₇O₆₁

C₂₀₇H₃₁₇N₄₅O₆₅

C₂₂₁H₃₄₂N₄₆O₆₈

CAS

2805997-46-8 (CID 171378821)

2259884-03-0 (CID 167312357)

Quoted as 2381089-83-2 — we could not verify this against a chemical registry (CID 172898051)

Development codes

BI 456906

IBI-362 / LY3305677

LY3437943

Developers

Boehringer Ingelheim / Zealand Pharma

Innovent / Eli Lilly

Eli Lilly

Brand

None

Xinermei® (信尔美), China

None

Regulatory status

No approval anywhere we could verify

Approved in China, June and September 2025

No approval anywhere we could verify

The mechanism is not a labelling technicality — it determines which lever the drug pulls. Glucagon receptor agonism raises energy expenditure, which is a different mechanism from the appetite suppression GLP-1 provides. GIP agonism is a third thing again, and it is the component tirzepatide pairs with GLP-1. Retatrutide stacks all three; survodutide and mazdutide stack two of them, and the same two.

Sharing a receptor pairing does not mean sharing a profile, which is the most useful single finding in this comparison. Survodutide and mazdutide are pharmacologically the same idea, and they diverge sharply on efficacy, on tolerability and on regulatory status.

The mass separations are hundreds of daltons — trivially resolved by mass spectrometry and completely invisible on an HPLC purity certificate, which reports how pure a sample is rather than what it is. A vial of tirzepatide mislabelled as mazdutide would return a clean purity figure. See mass spectrometry for peptides.

Does adding a third receptor produce more weight loss?

On raw percentages, yes: retatrutide's −24.2% leads mazdutide's −16.65% and survodutide's −13.0%. On evidence tier, the ranking is worthless as it stands. Retatrutide's figure is phase 2 in 338 participants over 48 weeks; the other two are phase 3 trials of 461 and 725 participants. And the placebo arms differ enormously — from a 0.30% gain in GLORY-1 to a 5.4% loss in SYNCHRONIZE-1 — so the raw column is not measuring the same thing three times.

Compound / dose

Trial

Phase

n

Duration

Weight change

Placebo

Placebo-adjusted

Retatrutide 12 mg

Jastreboff 2023

2

338

48 wk

−24.2%

−2.1%

22.1 pts

Mazdutide 9 mg

GLORY-2

3

461

60 wk

−16.65%

−1.50%

15.15 pts

Mazdutide 6 mg

GLORY-1

3

610

48 wk

−14.01%

+0.30%

14.31 pts

Survodutide 3.6 mg

SYNCHRONIZE-1

3

725

76 wk

−12.2%

−5.4%

6.8 pts

Survodutide 6.0 mg

SYNCHRONIZE-1

3

725

76 wk

−13.0%

−5.4%

7.6 pts

Placebo-adjusted figures that the trial reports do not carry are our own subtraction of the placebo arm from the treatment arm. The 15.15-point mazdutide figure and the 7.6-point survodutide figure are published as such.

Three separate qualifications attach to that table, and each one bites on a different row.

Retatrutide's row is phase 2. Jastreboff et al., NEJM 2023;389(6):514–526 (PMID 37366315), n=338, 48 weeks, 12 mg. As of 11 August 2026 no phase 3 retatrutide results paper exists; the TRIUMPH programme has published a design paper covering four trials and more than 5,800 participants, and nothing else. Phase 2 estimates routinely shrink when populations broaden and dropout rises.

Mazdutide's rows come from Chinese adults. GLORY-1 (Ji et al., NEJM, June 2025, PMID 40421736, NCT05607680) and GLORY-2 (Gao et al., JAMA, 4 August 2026, PMID 42251595, NCT06164873) both enrolled Chinese adults, whose baseline body weight is generally lower than in Western obesity trials. That affects how the percentages transfer, and it is a reason to be cautious about placing them directly alongside SURMOUNT-1 or STEP-1. No trial of mazdutide has been run outside China.

Survodutide's row is distorted by its own control group, which is the next section. Also worth knowing: the higher survodutide dose bought very little — 6.0 mg produced −13.0% against −12.2% at 3.6 mg, with slightly fewer responders at the 5% threshold (71.9% versus 72.6%).

For scale outside this trio: tirzepatide reached −20.9% in SURMOUNT-1 and CagriSema — two drugs combined — reached −20.4% in REDEFINE-1, essentially where tirzepatide alone landed. None of the comparisons on this page is head-to-head. No trial has put any two of these three against each other.

Why is the placebo column the one that decides this table?

Survodutide's SYNCHRONIZE-1 placebo arm lost 5.4% of body weight over 76 weeks, with 46.3% of placebo participants losing at least 5% — roughly double the placebo response in SURMOUNT-1 (−3.1%), STEP-1 (−2.4%) or REDEFINE-1 (−3.0%), and far above GLORY-2's −1.50%. No explanation appears in the abstract. The arithmetic consequence is that survodutide's effect compresses to about 7.6 percentage points, and any ranking on raw percentage is comparing drugs against different baselines.

Trial

Compound

Placebo arm

GLORY-1

Mazdutide

+0.30% (a gain)

GLORY-2

Mazdutide

−1.50%

Jastreboff 2023

Retatrutide

−2.1%

STEP-1

Semaglutide

−2.4%

REDEFINE-1

CagriSema

−3.0%

SURMOUNT-1

Tirzepatide

−3.1%

SYNCHRONIZE-1

Survodutide

−5.4%

A 5.4% placebo weight loss over 76 weeks, with nearly half the control group losing at least 5% of body weight, is a much stronger control response than this field usually sees. It could reflect trial-level lifestyle intervention, population characteristics, or trial duration. None of those explanations is confirmed, and the abstract does not address the question.

The direction of the distortion matters more than its size. An unusually responsive placebo arm does not flatter survodutide — it penalises it, because drug effect is measured as the gap between arms. Every leaderboard that ranks raw percentage weight loss is quietly comparing drugs against different baselines, and doing so in exactly the direction that flatters everyone else.

The correction makes the comparison fairer without rescuing survodutide. 7.6 points is genuinely at the lower end of this class, against 15.15 for mazdutide at 9 mg and, from the survodutide trial report's own comparison, 17.8 for tirzepatide and 17.3 for CagriSema. Survodutide's case does not live on the scale.

What does glucagon receptor agonism do that GIP does not?

Glucagon receptor agonism acts directly on hepatocytes to increase fat oxidation, which is a more targeted route to liver fat than weight loss alone, and it raises energy expenditure rather than only suppressing appetite. Survodutide's strongest published result is exactly there: in a 293-patient phase 2 randomised trial in MASH, 62% of patients on 4.8 mg achieved MASH improvement without worsening fibrosis against 14% on placebo, P<0.001. That is phase 2 histology, not a phase 3 outcome.

Outcome

2.4 mg

4.8 mg

6.0 mg

Placebo

MASH improvement without worsening fibrosis

47%

62%

43%

14%

≥30% liver fat reduction

63%

67%

57%

14%

≥1-stage fibrosis improvement

34%

36%

34%

22%

The trial is Sanyal et al., NEJM, July 2024 (PMID 38847460), with P<0.001 for the primary endpoint on a quadratic dose-response model. Metabolic dysfunction-associated steatohepatitis is a serious condition with very few approved therapies, and a 62% histological response against 14% on placebo is a substantial phase 2 signal in a field with almost nothing in it.

One pattern deserves stating rather than smoothing. The dose response is non-monotonic — 4.8 mg outperformed 6.0 mg on every endpoint in that table. That is common in phase 2 and usually resolves with larger numbers, but it matters for anyone assuming more is better on a compound whose obesity programme titrates to 6.0 mg.

Further survodutide data has published or is in progress: SYNCHRONIZE-MASLD (Nature Medicine, June 2026, PMID 42252333), a SYNCHRONIZE-2 baseline paper (PMID 41216778), a SYNCHRONIZE-CVOT baseline paper in JACC: Heart Failure (PMID 41329105), and work in cirrhosis (Journal of Hepatology, November 2024, PMID 38857788).

Retatrutide's addition of glucagon to GIP and GLP-1 is intended to do the same thing — raise energy expenditure alongside appetite suppression — and its evidence for that is one phase 2 obesity trial. No comparable histological result has been published for retatrutide or mazdutide in the record we hold. Mazdutide's second indication runs the other way, into glycaemia: HbA1c fell 1.57 and 2.15 percentage points at 4 mg and 6 mg over 24 weeks against 0.14% on placebo (n=320, P<0.0001), across two phase 3 papers published in Nature in April 2026.

Which of the three is approved, and where?

Mazdutide is the only one approved anywhere. It holds two marketing authorisations from China's National Medical Products AdministrationJune 2025 for weight management and September 2025 for glycaemic control in type 2 diabetes — sold as Xinermei® (信尔美). Retatrutide and survodutide are not approved anywhere we could verify, and neither appears on FDA's novel approvals lists for 2025 or 2026. None of the three has ever had a US compounding pathway, because that pathway begins with an approved product.

Survodutide

Mazdutide

Retatrutide

Approval

None we could verify

China NMPA, June 2025 and September 2025

None we could verify

Brand

Xinermei® (信尔美)

US status

Unapproved new drug

Unapproved new drug in the US

Unapproved new drug

US compounding

Never existed

Never existed

Never existed

Non-trial clinical route

None identified

Prescription, in China

Expanded access, NCT07629401, AVAILABLE

WADA 2026

Not named; S0 likely applies

Not named; approval arguably places it outside S0

Not named; S0 arguably applies

The primary source for the Chinese approvals is a peer-reviewed drug monograph rather than a press release: Shirley M, "Mazdutide: First Approval," Drugs, December 2025 (PMID 41028652), corroborated by a Lancet Diabetes & Endocrinology review of obesity in China, February 2026 (PMID 41389801). We could not fetch China's NMPA announcement directly — the agency's site returned an error — so we cite "June 2025" rather than the specific date that circulates in vendor copy. Mazdutide's status in markets other than China and the United States we could not confirm in either direction.

Peptigrity's own mazdutide compound page said "Mazdutide is not approved by the FDA or EMA as of May 2026" without mentioning the Chinese approvals. Technically true, substantively misleading, and being corrected.

The compounding logic is identical for all three and worth understanding rather than memorising. Compounding a drug that is essentially a copy of an approved product is permitted only while that product is in shortage. None of these three has ever been approved in the United States, so none has ever been in shortage, so no route has ever existed. None appears on FDA's bulk drug substances compounding tables — we enumerated both on the page current 22 April 2026, and no GLP-1, GIP, glucagon or amylin agonist is on either. That absence carries no permission. FDA has "warned companies that have illegally sold unapproved drugs... falsely labeled 'for research purposes' or 'not for human consumption.'" See the FDA peptide regulation timeline and compounding pharmacy versus research peptide.

The sport position is a genuine asymmetry, and it turns entirely on the Chinese approval. WADA's S0 catch-all prohibits substances "with no current approval by any governmental regulatory health authority for human therapeutic use," expressly including "drugs under pre-clinical or clinical development." Retatrutide and survodutide hold no approval anywhere, so on the plain text S0 captures them. Mazdutide holds an approval from a governmental regulatory health authority, so S0 does not obviously apply to it. That is our reading of the text rather than a published ruling, and an athlete should seek a determination.

Which of the three is best tolerated?

Mazdutide, on the only tolerability metric published for all the trials that report one. Discontinuation due to adverse events ran 0.5% to 2.9% across mazdutide's phase 3 obesity trials against 6.2% for tirzepatide in SURMOUNT-1 — the lowest in this class by a wide margin. Survodutide produced gastrointestinal adverse events in 80.9% and 89.7% of participants, the worst here. Neither survodutide nor retatrutide reports a discontinuation rate, so the comparison is genuinely incomplete rather than close.

Survodutide

Mazdutide

Retatrutide

Discontinuation for adverse events

Not reported in the phase 3 abstract

0.5% at 6 mg, 1.5% at 4 mg, 2.9% in GLORY-2

Not reported in the phase 2 abstract

Gastrointestinal adverse events

80.9% (3.6 mg) and 89.7% (6.0 mg) vs 47.9% placebo

Vomiting 53.1%, nausea 46.9%, diarrhoea 39.4% at 9 mg

Dose-related, mostly mild to moderate

Phase 2 detail

Nausea 66% vs 23%, diarrhoea 49% vs 23%, vomiting 41% vs 4%; SAEs 8% vs 7%

≥15% loss in 60–83% of participants

Deaths reported

None in SYNCHRONIZE-1

Mazdutide's combination is unusual enough to state twice: gastrointestinal adverse event rates that are not low at all, alongside the lowest discontinuation figures in this drug class. Those two normally move together. Three explanations are available and none has been tested — the population, the titration schedule, or something about the molecule. Nothing in the published record distinguishes between them, and no trial outside China exists to test whether the figure travels.

Survodutide's number is missing rather than bad, and the distinction is load-bearing. Nearly nine out of ten participants on 6.0 mg had gastrointestinal adverse events, but how many stopped because of it is unknown. That gap limits what can be claimed in both directions: it does not mean survodutide was well tolerated, and it does not mean it was abandoned. It means the number does not exist in the published abstract, and we are not quoting one.

Retatrutide's absence is the most consequential of the three, because glucagon receptor agonism adds nausea and vomiting risk on top of an already emetogenic class and the phase 2 abstract does not say how many people left. Every drug in this class shows its tolerability problem at scale, not in a 338-person study. See peptide side effects and retatrutide side effects.

Which is hardest to verify, and what does each cost?

The testing depth is inverted against the evidence. Retatrutide carries 1,150 independent tests at 99.67% average purity, survodutide 37 at 99.59% and mazdutide 30 at 99.56% (verified August 2026) — the least-evidenced compound is the best-characterised vial. Quantity is where all three fail: survodutide's fill variance runs −13% to +36.9%, retatrutide's −4% to +22.5%, and one mazdutide sample labelled 20 mg assayed at 15.18 mg while testing 99.80% pure.

Platform data, verified August 2026

Survodutide

Mazdutide

Retatrutide

Independent tests

37

30

1,150 — the largest dataset here

Average purity

99.59%

99.56%

99.67% (range 99.52–99.98%)

Laboratories

Vanguard, ILS, Janoshik, Freedom Diagnostics

ILS, Janoshik, Liquilabs, Vanguard, BioRegen

Janoshik, Freedom Diagnostics, Bioviridian, Kovera, ILS

Shops selling

218

218

230

Quantity variance

−13% to +36.9%

A 24.1% shortfall is on record

−4% to +22.5%, most within ±5%

Endotoxin data

Most tests report none

Rarely reported

Rarely reported

The mazdutide record is the most instructive single result on this platform. An April 2026 sample labelled 20 mg assayed at 15.18 mg — a 24.1% shortfall — while testing 99.80% pure. High purity, badly wrong quantity. The material was what it claimed to be; there was a quarter less of it than the label said, and purity testing found no problem because there was no purity problem to find. See why 10 mg isn't 10 mg.

Survodutide's variance runs the other way and is worse. A fifty-point spread on a compound titrated toward 6.0 mg, where 89.7% of trial participants at that dose had gastrointestinal adverse events, means a vial delivering a third more than the label says is delivering a dose that was never studied — on the molecule with the worst adverse-event profile in this comparison. The gastrointestinal burden reported in SYNCHRONIZE-1 was measured at the correct dose.

Check

What it confirms

How

Red flag

Mass spectrometry

Which of the three it is — 4,232.0, 4,476.0 or 4,731.0 Da, against tirzepatide's 4,813.0

Third-party MS on the vial you received

HPLC purity quoted alone; hundreds of daltons are invisible to it

Fill accuracy

The vial matches the label

Quantitative assay reporting mg recovered

−13% to +36.9% on survodutide; a 24.1% shortfall on mazdutide; +22.5% on retatrutide

Net peptide content

Peptide versus salts and water

Net content stated on the COA

Purity quoted as quantity

Salt form

What you are actually weighing

Salt form named on the COA

Not stated

Endotoxin (LAL)

No pyrogens present

LAL assay result on the COA

Most survodutide tests report none

CAS number

Nothing, on retatrutide

PubChem exposes no CAS for it

2381089-83-2 presented as settled specification

Price, verified August 2026

Survodutide

Mazdutide

Retatrutide

Shops in stock

11

9 — a thin market

15

Median per mg

$10.00

$11.00

$8.00

Lowest per mg

$2.75 (10 mg)

$3.25 (10 mg)

$2.33 (40 mg)

Offers compared

11

9

53

Vial price range

$27.50–$119.99

$32.50–$209.00

$24.99–$500.00

Those figures come from the survodutide price page (verified 9 August 2026), the mazdutide price page (verified 10 August 2026) and the retatrutide price page (verified 31 July 2026). Those figures exclude shipping, taxes and customs, coupon codes, bulk tiers, multi-vial kits and account-gated pricing.

Nine shops and nine offers is a thin market for mazdutide, and unusually for this category it is one where an approved pharmaceutical version already exists in a major market. Because the fill variance across all three is this wide, calculate volume from the assayed quantity rather than the label where you have it: use the retatrutide calculator or the peptide dosing calculator for the two without a compound-specific tool, and convert per-milligram prices into per-dose cost with the cost-per-dose calculator.

Peptigrity's platform currently tracks 530 shops and 11,852 independent lab tests across 118 peptides, with 1,283 community reviews (verified August 2026), and trust scores weight community reviews and independently verified HPLC purity equally at 50% each. Aggregate figures sit in the Purity Index and individual results in the lab test database. Vendor-level detail sits on the retatrutide compound page and the survodutide compound page, with the compound-specific walkthrough in where to buy retatrutide.

So which should you choose?

For liver disease, survodutide, on a phase 2 histological result no other compound here matches — 62% MASH improvement against 14% on placebo. For tolerability and regulatory standing, mazdutide, the only one approved anywhere and the only one with a published discontinuation rate, at 0.5% to 2.9%. For raw weight loss, retatrutide leads on paper and on phase 2 evidence alone. For anyone who wants the best-evidenced weight loss in this class, the honest answer is none of these three.

Use case

Choose

Why

MASH or liver fat

Survodutide

62% vs 14%, P<0.001 — phase 2 histology, in a near-empty field

Staying on the drug

Mazdutide

Discontinuation 0.5–2.9%; the other two do not report one

A drug a regulator has approved

Mazdutide

China NMPA, June and September 2025, Xinermei®

Type 2 diabetes

Mazdutide

HbA1c −1.57 and −2.15 pts vs −0.14%; two phase 3 papers in Nature

Highest number on paper

Retatrutide

−24.2%, and it is phase 2, n=338

Best-evidenced weight loss

None of the three

Tirzepatide's −20.9% comes from a 2,539-patient phase 3 with a head-to-head win attached

Western-population data

Neither dual

Mazdutide's trials enrolled Chinese adults; survodutide's placebo arm is unexplained

Sport

None safely

S0 arguably captures retatrutide and survodutide; seek a determination

Claim

Evidence

Verdict

Mazdutide is a triple agonist

GCGR + GLP-1 dual; no GIP component

False

Mazdutide is not approved anywhere

Approved in China, June and September 2025

False

Retatrutide is the strongest of the three

−24.2%, phase 2, n=338, 48 weeks

True on paper, and phase 2

Retatrutide's figure comes from phase 3 TRIUMPH-1

No TRIUMPH results publication exists

False

Survodutide is the weakest

Raw yes; its placebo arm lost 5.4%

Not directly comparable

Survodutide works for MASH

Phase 2: 62% vs 14% placebo, P<0.001

Strong phase 2 signal

Survodutide is well tolerated

GI adverse events in 80.9–89.7%

Poorly

Mazdutide is poorly tolerated

Discontinuation 0.5–2.9%

Contradicted

Any of the three can be legally compounded in the US

None ever approved there, so none ever in shortage

No pathway exists

Mazdutide's results transfer to Western populations

Trials enrolled Chinese adults

Requires caution

A clean purity certificate means the vial is right

A 99.80%-pure mazdutide vial was 24.1% short of label

Category error

The trial that would settle this

No trial has compared any two of these three against each other, and none is identified in the record we hold — which is what makes every ranking on this page cross-trial. The study that would settle it enrols one population, runs all three arms concurrently, reports discontinuation prospectively, and uses an active comparator rather than three separate placebo groups that lost between +0.30% and −5.4%. Until then, the placebo-adjusted column is the closest available substitute.

Question

Status

Head-to-head between any two of the three

None identified

Retatrutide phase 3 weight-loss results

TRIUMPH-1 and -2 registered; no publication

Phase 3 MASH with histological endpoints

The trial that matters for survodutide; phase 2 showed 62% vs 14%

Survodutide discontinuation rate at 6.0 mg

Not reported in the phase 3 abstract

Retatrutide discontinuation rate at effective doses

Not reported in the phase 2 abstract

Any mazdutide trial outside China

None — every efficacy trial enrolled Chinese adults

Explanation for survodutide's 5.4% placebo response

Unaddressed in the abstract

Cardiovascular outcomes

Survodutide CVOT baseline published, outcomes pending; retatrutide NCT06383390 active; none identified for mazdutide

Frequently Asked Questions

Is mazdutide a triple agonist?

No. Mazdutide is a dual glucagon receptor and GLP-1 receptor agonist and contains no GIP component at all. Tirzepatide is the GIP/GLP-1 dual and retatrutide is the GIP/GLP-1/glucagon triple. Survodutide uses exactly the same glucagon-plus-GLP-1 pairing mazdutide does, which makes the two of them the closest mechanistic pair in this comparison.

Does the triple agonist actually work better?

On the published numbers it produced more weight loss — 24.2% against 16.65% and 13.0% — but that comes from a phase 2 trial in 338 participants over 48 weeks, while the other two figures come from phase 3 trials of 461 and 725. No trial has compared any two of the three directly, and phase 2 estimates routinely shrink in phase 3.

Why does survodutide look so much worse?

Partly because it is, and partly because its placebo group lost 5.4% — roughly double the placebo response in comparable trials, with 46.3% of controls losing at least 5%. Adjusted for its own control arm, survodutide delivers about 7.6 percentage points against 15.15 for mazdutide at 9 mg. It is genuinely at the lower end, but the raw percentages overstate the gap.

Which one is approved?

Only mazdutide, and only in China. The National Medical Products Administration cleared it for weight management in June 2025 and for glycaemic control in type 2 diabetes in September 2025, marketed as Xinermei®. Retatrutide and survodutide are not approved anywhere we could verify, and mazdutide is an unapproved new drug in the United States.

Which is best tolerated?

Mazdutide, on the only figure published across trials that report one: discontinuation for adverse events of 0.5% to 2.9%, against 6.2% for tirzepatide in SURMOUNT-1. Survodutide produced gastrointestinal adverse events in 80.9% to 89.7% of participants but does not report a discontinuation rate, and neither does retatrutide's phase 2 abstract, so the comparison is incomplete rather than close.

Can any of them be legally compounded in the US?

No. Compounding a copy of an approved drug requires that drug to be approved in the United States and in shortage. None of the three has ever been approved there, so none has ever been in shortage, and no such pathway has ever existed. None appears on either FDA bulk drug substances compounding list, and that absence carries no permission.

What the third receptor has and has not shown

Retatrutide, survodutide and mazdutide all pull the glucagon lever, and the drug that pulls three levers has produced the largest number and the smallest evidence base: −24.2% from 338 people in phase 2, with no phase 3 publication, no approval anywhere and no reported discontinuation rate. The two duals that share an identical receptor pairing have landed in completely different places, which is the finding most likely to be useful.

Read by endpoint rather than by receptor count, each has one thing. Mazdutide has an approval, four phase 3 papers and discontinuation under 3%. Survodutide has 62% MASH improvement against 14% on placebo in a disease with almost no approved therapies. Retatrutide has the biggest weight-loss figure in the class and 1,150 lab tests of a drug no regulator has approved anywhere. The supply chains here are better documented than the medicines.

Browse the weight loss and metabolic peptides category, or our complete peptide guide with 118 compounds (verified August 2026). For per-injection volume, use the retatrutide calculator or the peptide dosing calculator alongside the reconstitution calculator. Compare shops through independent lab tests and community-verified shop reviews.

This article is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. Peptides discussed may be investigational compounds not approved by the FDA (or equivalent regulators in your jurisdiction) for human use. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before using any peptide or research compound. Peptigrity is an independent review platform and does not sell, endorse, or recommend specific products or vendors.

P
◆ WRITTEN BY

The Peptigrity editorial team covering peptide quality, COA verification, and vendor analysis.

All articles →