BPC-157 has improved the healing of injured tendons, ligaments and gut lining in rat studies, but no randomised human trial of it has been published as of September 2026, and its entire published human record is three uncontrolled studies with about 31 participants. BPC-157 is a synthetic chain of 15 amino acids (molecular weight 1419.5 Da) derived from a fragment of Body Protection Compound, a protein isolated from human gastric juice, and no health regulator anywhere has approved it for any use.
Almost all of the animal work comes from one research group in Zagreb, and independent reviewers have disputed that group's conclusions in print. The vials are far better documented than the drug: shops have published 877 lab certificates for BPC-157 (verified September 2026), and each one is listed on BPC-157 lab tests, the platform's record of what tested vials actually contained.
The short version
BPC-157 is a lab-made peptide, a chain of 15 amino acids copied from a fragment of a stomach protein, and no regulator has approved it for any medical use.
Nearly all of its evidence comes from rats and cells, mostly from one laboratory, and the three published human studies involved about 31 people with no comparison group.
Shops sell it at a median of $5.00 per milligram before shipping, taxes and customs (verified September 2026), and no controlled study has ever measured its safety in people.
The measurement that varies most in BPC-157 vials is how much peptide is inside: the median vial measured 110% of its label, and 14 of 656 measured vials held under 90% (verified September 2026).
As of September 2026 BPC-157 is not on the FDA list of ingredients that pharmacies may use to make prescription medicines, despite a July 2026 advisory vote in its favour, and it is banned in sport at all times.
Why does almost all BPC-157 research come from one laboratory?
Almost all BPC-157 research comes from one laboratory because the peptide was characterised by Predrag Sikirić's pharmacology group at the University of Zagreb in the early 1990s, and that group has kept publishing on it ever since. In a PubMed search run on 20 May 2025, independent reviewers counted more than 190 articles on BPC 157, and more than 80% listed Sikirić or his colleague Sven Seiwerth as first or senior author. Outside that group, the published work amounts to a few short cell and rodent studies.
That count comes from the Polish authors' Reply to Sikiric et al. in Pharmaceuticals (Józwiak et al., 2025), which argues that relying on one group to replicate its own results limits how far those results generalise and raises the risk of confirmation bias. Single-source concentration is not disqualifying, and plenty of legitimate compounds began in one laboratory. It does mean the usual correction mechanism, independent groups trying to repeat a finding and publishing when they fail, has largely not operated here.
The disagreement is on the record. In early 2025 the same Polish group published a literature and patent review of BPC-157 in Pharmaceuticals, and the Zagreb group answered it in the same journal with a formal comment, BPC 157 Therapy: Targeting Angiogenesis and Nitric Oxide's Cytotoxic and Damaging Actions, but Maintaining, Promoting, or Recovering Their Essential Protective Functions (Sikiric et al., 2025), defending the peptide's "high safety (LD1 not achieved)", an animal toxicity claim meaning no tested dose killed even 1% of the animals. The Polish authors' reply, the source of the count above, appeared in the same issue.
That disagreement, in print, between the originating group and independent reviewers is the honest state of the field.
What exactly is BPC-157?
BPC-157 is a synthetic peptide of 15 amino acids, Gly-Glu-Pro-Pro-Pro-Gly-Lys-Pro-Ala-Asp-Asp-Ala-Gly-Leu-Val, with a molecular weight of 1419.5 Da and the CAS registry number 137525-51-0. It is a partial sequence of Body Protection Compound, a protein isolated from human gastric juice. The phrase "stable gastric pentadecapeptide" that runs through the literature refers to its resistance to stomach acid, not to shelf stability in a vial, which is a separate question.
Property | Value |
|---|---|
Sequence | Gly-Glu-Pro-Pro-Pro-Gly-Lys-Pro-Ala-Asp-Asp-Ala-Gly-Leu-Val |
Length | 15 amino acids (pentadecapeptide) |
Formula / MW | C₆₂H₉₈N₁₆O₂₂ / 1419.5 g/mol |
CAS / PubChem / DrugBank | 137525-51-0 / CID 9941957 / DB11882 |
Forms FDA reviewed | Free base and acetate salt |
Half-life | Under 30 minutes in rats and dogs; no human measurement published |
Other designations | PL 14736 (development code), Bepecin, PCO-02 (trial product) |
The identity figures match Bpc-157 | C62H98N16O22 | CID 9941957, PubChem's record for the compound. The half-life comes from Pharmacokinetics, distribution, metabolism, and excretion of body-protective compound 157, a potential drug for treating various wounds, in rats and dogs (He et al., 2022), which measured an elimination half-life under 30 minutes after intravenous and intramuscular injection in rats and beagle dogs. In the same study, about 14–19% of an intramuscular dose reached the bloodstream in rats and 45–51% in dogs. No human half-life has been published, so any timing claim for people is an extrapolation from animals.
BPC-157 sits with the other tissue repair & healing peptides on Peptigrity's category page. A salt form is the counter-ion a peptide is supplied with, and it changes the weight of the powder, not the peptide chain.
What has BPC-157 shown in animals and cells?
BPC-157 has improved the healing of tendon, ligament, muscle and gut injuries across many rat models, and it has changed the behaviour of tendon cells in culture, but those results come almost entirely from animals and dishes. The most rigorous count, a 2025 systematic review, screened 544 records and kept 36 studies: 35 preclinical and 1 clinical. The proposed mechanism involves several pathways at once, including new blood-vessel growth and growth-hormone receptor signalling.
That review, Emerging Use of BPC-157 in Orthopaedic Sports Medicine: A Systematic Review (Vasireddi et al., 2025), covered the literature from 1993 to June 2024. It summarises the mechanism as increased growth hormone receptor expression and activity in pathways of cell growth and angiogenesis (new blood-vessel growth), alongside lower levels of inflammatory signalling molecules.
Two studies are worth reading directly rather than through summaries.
In cultured tendon cells taken from the Achilles tendons of rats, Pentadecapeptide BPC 157 Enhances the Growth Hormone Receptor Expression in Tendon Fibroblasts (Chang et al., 2014) found that BPC-157 raised growth hormone receptor levels in a dose- and time-dependent way, and that adding growth hormone to treated cells then increased their proliferation. That is a mechanism proposal from cell culture, by an independent group in Taiwan, and it is frequently cited as though it were a tendon-healing result.
In a rat model of a cut medial collateral ligament, the ligament on the inner side of the knee, Pentadecapeptide BPC 157 (PL 14736) improves ligament healing in the rat (Cerovecki et al., 2010) gave BPC-157 once daily by injection into the abdominal cavity at 10 mcg/kg or 10 ng/kg, as a cream on the injury, or in drinking water. The authors reported "consistent functional, biomechanical, macroscopic and histological healing improvements" over follow-up of up to 90 days. It is a well-conducted animal study and the strongest single piece of tendon-and-ligament evidence in the corpus, and it comes from the Zagreb group.
What has BPC-157 done in people?
BPC-157 has been tested in people in three published studies with about 31 participants in total, and none of them was randomised, blinded or compared against a placebo. All three appeared in the same journal, Alternative Therapies in Health and Medicine, under the same lead author, and they studied three unrelated uses: knee pain, bladder pain and intravenous safety. No controlled human trial of BPC-157 for any condition has been published as of September 2026.
Study | Type | n | Key finding | Limitation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Cerovecki et al., 2010, rat ligament | Animal | Rats | Consistent healing improvements after a cut knee ligament | One laboratory, in rats |
Chang et al., 2014, rat tendon cells | In vitro | Cultured cells | More growth hormone receptors; more cell growth when growth hormone was added | Cells in a dish, not healing in an animal |
Intra-Articular Injection of BPC 157 for Multiple Types of Knee Pain (2021) | Human observational (retrospective chart review) | 16 of 17 reached | 11 of 12 on BPC-157 alone and 14 of 16 overall reported significant relief | Phone survey 6–12 months later, no measurement tool, no comparison group |
Effect of BPC-157 on Symptoms in Patients with Interstitial Cystitis: A Pilot Study (2024) | Human observational (single-arm pilot) | 12 women | 10 of 12 reported complete resolution after one 10 mg treatment; 2 rated it 80% | No comparison group, unblinded, one global-response questionnaire |
Safety of Intravenous Infusion of BPC157 in Humans: A Pilot Study (2025) | Human observational (safety pilot) | 2 | 10 mg, then 20 mg, infused over two days; no adverse effects | Two people, three days, no control |
NCT02637284, registered 2015 | Registered Phase 1 (oral, placebo-controlled) | 42 planned | No results published | Status unknown; never reported |
None is randomised. None has a control or placebo arm. None is blinded. The knee study asked patients by phone how much the injection had helped, with no measurement tool, and 4 of its 16 patients also received thymosin beta-4, so its overall figure mixes two treatments. The bladder study relied on a single global-response questionnaire in women whose earlier treatment had failed. Both designs are vulnerable to expectation effects in painful conditions, where placebo responses are high. The intravenous study is routinely described as establishing safety; it followed two healthy adults for three days.
No published human study has tested oral BPC-157. Every published human route is local or intravenous: into the knee joint, into the bladder wall and into a vein. The oral evidence is rodent, and the one trial designed to test oral tablets in people never reported.
What happened to the registered BPC-157 trial?
The registered Phase 1 trial of BPC-157 never reported a result. The trial, PCO-02 - Safety and Pharmacokinetics Trial, was registered in December 2015 by PharmaCotherapia d.o.o. and planned to give 42 healthy volunteers at a hospital in Tijuana oral tablets containing 1 mg of BPC-157 or a placebo, as single doses of 1, 3 or 6 tablets and as 3 tablets three times daily for two weeks. The Polish reviewers describe it as cancelled, with its current status unknown.
This matters more than its size suggests. A completed and published Phase 1 would have given the field human pharmacokinetics (how the body absorbs, distributes and clears a drug) and a first controlled look at oral use, which remains the most consequential gap in the BPC-157 evidence base. Every dosing protocol in circulation is built on rodent data and community convention because no human dose-finding study has reported.
The trial was not the first attempt. Under the development code PL 14736, BPC-157 was investigated for ulcerative colitis, and a Phase 1 study in healthy men reported it safe, but the Polish reviewers note that its detailed results are scarce.
Is BPC-157 safe, and what side effects are known?
BPC-157's safety in people is unknown, because no controlled human study has measured it. The two prospective human pilots, 14 people between them, reported no adverse events, and the Zagreb group reports no lethal dose in animals, but FDA states that it lacks the information to know whether BPC-157 would cause harm in humans. The open questions are immune reactions, impurities from synthesis and the theoretical cancer risk of a compound that promotes new blood vessels.
FDA's own summary, on its page Certain Bulk Drug Substances for Use in Compounding that May Present Significant Safety Risks, names three concerns for compounded BPC-157. They are a risk of immunogenicity (the body mounting an immune response against the peptide) for some routes, complications from peptide-related impurities, and difficulty characterising the active ingredient. FDA adds that it identified no, or only limited, safety information for the proposed routes of administration.
The cancer question has no human data in either direction. The Zagreb group's comment claims anti-tumour effects in animals and cells. The Polish reply counters that no published in vivo study shows BPC-157 slowing tumour growth, that the anti-tumour claim leans on a single, unreplicated 2004 melanoma cell-line experiment, and that a compound driving blood-vessel growth could plausibly help tumours grow.
Community reports, which are neither systematic nor verified, most often describe injection-site reactions, and they are collected in the grey market peptide forum as experiences rather than evidence.
Stop and seek care: swelling of the face or throat, difficulty breathing or hives after an injection are signs of a serious allergic reaction; spreading redness, warmth or pus at an injection site with fever is an infection; severe or persistent abdominal pain with vomiting on a GLP-1 drug can be pancreatitis; confusion, sweating or shaking on an IGF-1 or insulin-adjacent compound can be hypoglycaemia. Call your local emergency number (911 in the US, 112 in the EU, 999 in the UK, 000 in Australia) or go to an emergency department, and bring the vial and its label. Research-use vials are not approved products in any jurisdiction, even where a prescription product of the same molecule exists; no article on this site replaces a clinician who knows your history.
What did the July 2026 FDA vote change for BPC-157?
The July 2026 FDA advisory vote changed nothing in law: as of September 2026, BPC-157 is not on the 503A bulks list, the list of ingredients US pharmacies may use to compound prescription medicines. On 23 July 2026 FDA's Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee voted 8–6, with one abstention, to recommend adding it, and the recommendation is not binding. FDA's own staff had advised against listing it, and a listing still requires formal rulemaking.
The vote, reported in An FDA Committee Just Voted in Favor of Peptides—Despite the Agency's Opposition, covered BPC-157 as a free base and as its acetate salt, for one evaluated use: ulcerative colitis. In its briefing documents, FDA staff concluded that the listing criteria pointed against BPC-157, given thin evidence that it works and the approved ulcerative colitis treatments that already exist.
The sequence behind it runs back to 29 September 2023, when FDA placed BPC-157 in Category 2, its interim category for nominated substances that may present significant safety risks. By April 2026 the nomination had been withdrawn and BPC-157 appeared in FDA's table of withdrawn nominations, which is neither a listing nor an approval. The dated sequence sits in FDA Peptide Regulation 2025-2026, step by step.
In sport the answer does not depend on FDA. The USADA page BPC-157: Experimental Peptide Creates Risk for Athletes confirms that BPC-157 is prohibited under S0, the World Anti-Doping Agency's category for non-approved substances, which applies at all times. Outside sport, BPC-157 is sold with research-use labels in the grey market for peptides, where nobody upstream is answerable for a batch.
What changes next is slow. FDA would have to publish a proposed rule, take public comment and issue a final rule before pharmacies could compound BPC-157, and no proposed rule had appeared as of September 2026. WADA revises its list every year with effect from 1 January, so the sport status above is the 2026 position.
Which BPC-157 claims survive the evidence?
Of 9 claims commonly made about BPC-157, 3 survive as animal or cell findings, 4 are unestablished or overstated in humans, and 2 are false. Tendon, ligament and gut healing hold up in rats and go no further, and the growth-hormone-receptor result is real but comes from cells in a dish. The methionine storage rationale and the idea that the July 2026 vote legalised compounding are both false.
Claim | Evidence | Verdict |
|---|---|---|
Accelerates tendon and ligament healing | Consistent rat results across several models, mostly from the Zagreb group; no controlled human musculoskeletal trial | Animal only: plausible, unproven in people |
Heals the gut / protects against NSAID damage | Rat gastrointestinal work since the 1990s; the ulcerative colitis programme's human results were never published in detail | Animal only |
Upregulates growth hormone receptors in tendon | Real finding, in rat tendon cells in a dish | In vitro |
Oral BPC-157 works | Rats given it in drinking water healed better; the registered human oral trial never reported | Unestablished in humans |
Safe, with no toxicity found | No lethal dose reached in animals, per the Zagreb group; 14 people in two pilots reported no adverse events; FDA says it lacks the information to judge harm | No controlled human safety data |
Up to 20 mg intravenously is proven safe | n = 2, three days, no controls | Radically overstated |
Pentadeca arginate is a superior form | No peer-reviewed study of it found (checked September 2026) | Vendor claim only |
Degrades via methionine oxidation, needs special handling | The sequence contains no methionine | False |
The July 2026 FDA vote made it legal to compound | An advisory 8–6–1 recommendation; not on the 503A bulks list as of September 2026 | False |
Which vendor claims about BPC-157 fail a chemistry check?
Two vendor claims about BPC-157 fail a basic chemistry check: that it degrades through methionine oxidation and needs special handling, and that pentadeca arginate is a superior form. The 15-residue sequence contains no methionine, and an arginate is a salt partner, not a change to the peptide. Neither claim needs a laboratory to test it; both can be checked against the published sequence before anything ships.
Does BPC-157 need protection from methionine oxidation?
No: BPC-157 contains no methionine, so a storage protocol built on methionine oxidation describes a residue this molecule does not have. The sequence also lacks cysteine, tryptophan and tyrosine, the other classically oxidation-labile residues. Read it again:
Gly-Glu-Pro-Pro-Pro-Gly-Lys-Pro-Ala-Asp-Asp-Ala-Gly-Leu-Val
What is genuinely true is less convenient: we have found no peer-reviewed stability or storage study of BPC-157, so every shelf-life figure in circulation is vendor-derived. General handling practice for lyophilised (freeze-dried) peptides still applies, but nobody can cite a degradation curve for this compound.
Is pentadeca arginate a better form of BPC-157?
No published evidence shows that pentadeca arginate (PDA) is better than BPC-157. PDA is the same 15-residue sequence sold as an arginine salt rather than the usual acetate, and it is marketed with better stability and absorption, often with a "90% bioavailability" figure attached. We found no peer-reviewed study of pentadeca arginate as a product in its own right (checked September 2026); its descriptions come from vendor, clinic and telehealth pages.
Two chemistry points sit alongside that. An arginate salt is a counter-ion pairing, not a sequence change, so it does not alter the peptide, and BPC-157's sequence contains no arginine of its own, so the name describes what has been added rather than what the molecule is. Peptigrity tracks Pentadeca Arginate on a compound page of its own, and the test record for BPC-157 does not transfer to it.
How is BPC-157 used, and what doses have been tested?
No established human dose of BPC-157 exists: no trial has tested a dose for any condition, and USADA notes that it is unknown whether any dose is safe. The published human studies used a single 10 mg treatment injected into the bladder wall, and intravenous infusions of 10 mg and then 20 mg, in 14 people between them. Community-reported protocols for injection cluster around 250–500 mcg once or twice daily, a range no study has tested.
Route | Dose (as stated by the source) | Frequency | Duration | Evidence | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Injection into the bladder wall during cystoscopy | 10 mg in total | Once | Single procedure | Human observational (n = 12, no control) | Lee et al., 2024 |
Intravenous infusion over 1 hour | 10 mg, then 20 mg | Once a day | 2 days | Human observational (n = 2, no control) | Lee and Burgess, 2025 |
Injection into the knee joint | Not stated in the abstract | Not stated | Chart review, 2019–2020 | Human observational (n = 16, no control) | Lee and Padgett, 2021 |
Oral tablets | 1, 3 or 6 mg single dose; 3 mg three times daily | Single, or three times daily | 2 weeks (planned) | No data: registered 2015, never reported | NCT02637284 |
Abdominal injection, cream on the injury or drinking water (rats) | 10 mcg/kg or 10 ng/kg; 1.0 mcg per g of cream; 0.16 mcg per mL of water | Once daily or continuous | Up to 90 days | Animal | Cerovecki et al., 2010 |
Subcutaneous injection | 250–500 mcg | Once or twice daily | Commonly 4–8 weeks | Community-reported; no trial has tested any dose | Community protocols |
The rat doses are per kilogram of body weight and were never tested in people. For the arithmetic on a dose you already have, the BPC-157 Dosage Calculator converts a vial's milligrams and a volume of bacteriostatic water into syringe units.
How do you check that a BPC-157 vial contains what it says?
Checking a BPC-157 vial means three separate measurements: identity (whether it is BPC-157), purity (how much of the peptide content is that one compound) and net content (how many milligrams are actually in the vial). In the 877 certificates shops have published for BPC-157 (verified September 2026), purity rarely fails, with a single-vial median of 99.48%, while the amount in the vial ranges from under 90% to over 120% of the label.
Of the single-vial certificates, 88% show purity of 99% or higher and 16 fall below 98%, while measured content has a median of 110% of the labelled amount, with 14 of 656 vials under 90% and 128 over 120%. Endotoxin (bacterial toxin that causes fever when injected) was reported on only 116 of 662 single-vial certificates, or 18%. The site-wide Purity Index gives BPC-157 an index of 99.38 across 660 tests from 23 labs, against a composite of 99.51 (verified September 2026).
Read those figures for what they are. They are certificates that shops chose to publish, which makes them a selection-biased sample rather than a random survey of the market. The Purity Index also reports no identity rate, because mass-spectrometry results are not captured as structured data.
Check | What it confirms | How to verify | Red flag |
|---|---|---|---|
Net content | How many milligrams of peptide the vial holds | A measured-mg figure on a certificate matched to your lot | No measured amount, or a purity figure presented as quantity |
Identity by mass spectrometry | That the peptide is BPC-157: a mass near 1419.5 Da | A mass-spectrometry result on the batch certificate | Purity reported with no identity test |
HPLC purity | The share of the peptide content that is one compound | A certificate from a named lab the vendor does not own | Only the vendor's own document |
Endotoxin (LAL test) | Bacterial toxin levels in material meant for injection | A result in EU/mg on the certificate | Not tested: missing from 82% of BPC-157 single-vial certificates here |
Lot match | That the certificate belongs to your vial | The lot number on the vial matches the certificate | A certificate with no lot number |
Purity and identity are separate questions, and Why a Peptide Can Be 99 Percent Pure and Still Be Entirely the Wrong Molecule explains why a high HPLC figure cannot confirm which molecule is present. HPLC (high-performance liquid chromatography) measures the share of the peptide content that is one compound; mass spectrometry weighs the molecule. For BPC-157 the more common gap is quantity, and Peptide Net Content covers why a labelled 10 mg can differ from what the vial holds.
If you want your own vial tested, how to test your peptides walks through the process from sample to certificate. Per-milligram prices on BPC-157 price comparison had a median of $5.00 across 68 shops in stock (verified September 2026), falling from $6.50 for 2–5 mg vials to $4.50 for 10–80 mg vials, and they exclude shipping, taxes and customs, coupon codes and bulk tiers, and multi-vial kits.
How does BPC-157's evidence compare with TB-500's?
BPC-157 has a thin human record, and TB-500 has none: FDA identified no human exposure data at all for TB-500, the seven-residue fragment of thymosin beta-4 sold under that name, while BPC-157 has 3 uncontrolled studies with about 31 people. Both received the same 8–6 advisory vote in July 2026, and neither is on the 503A bulks list as of September 2026. No controlled study has tested the two together.
Compound | What it is | Proposed mechanism | Human evidence | FDA position (September 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
BPC-157 | Synthetic 15-residue fragment of Body Protection Compound | Blood-vessel growth, nitric-oxide and growth-hormone receptor pathways, from rat and cell studies | 3 uncontrolled studies, about 31 people | Nomination withdrawn; advisory vote 8–6–1 to recommend listing; not listed |
TB-500 | Synthetic 7-residue fragment (LKKTETQ) of thymosin beta-4 | Inferred largely from research on the full thymosin beta-4 protein | None identified by FDA | Nomination withdrawn; advisory vote 8–6–1 to recommend listing; not listed |
The two are often sold together as a blend, and the closest thing to human data is the knee chart review, in which 4 patients received BPC-157 with thymosin beta-4 and no one received a comparison treatment. The full comparison, including why most of TB-500's research record belongs to its parent protein, is in BPC-157 vs TB-500, the natural next read for anyone weighing the pair.
What would it take to show that BPC-157 works?
Showing that BPC-157 works would take a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial in one defined condition, with a fixed dose and route, pharmacokinetic sampling, a validated outcome measure and follow-up long enough to separate healing from natural recovery. None of the 3 published human studies has any of those features, and nothing resembling that trial has reported. The requirements below show how far the current evidence sits from an answer.
Element | Requirement | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
Design | Randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled | The three existing studies have none of these; subjective outcomes in painful conditions are highly placebo-responsive |
Population | A single defined indication, e.g. chronic Achilles tendinopathy | The current literature spans knee pain, bladder pain and healthy volunteers, which cannot be pooled |
Sample size | Powered for a clinically meaningful difference, not n = 12 | Existing studies cannot exclude even large effects in either direction |
Route and dose | Fixed, with pharmacokinetic sampling | No human pharmacokinetic data exists; dosing is extrapolated from rodents |
Primary endpoint | A validated instrument with imaging | Telephone-reported improvement is not an endpoint |
Follow-up | Long enough to distinguish healing from natural history | Tendinopathy often improves with time and loading regardless of intervention |
Product | Characterised, batch-tested material | Trial-grade peptide is not what the market sells |
Until something like that reports, the independent reviewers' position stands: in their reply, the Polish authors argued that only independent multi-dose studies, long-term safety data and randomised trials could persuade the wider medical community that BPC-157 is a genuine therapy. BPC-157 is a compound with unusually strong animal data, an unusually weak human record, and an unusually concentrated authorship. That combination is worth taking seriously in both directions: it is neither the settled healing agent its promoters describe nor the empty claim its harshest critics imply. It is a genuinely promising preclinical compound that has not been tested properly in people, sold in a market where the material itself is unverified by default.
The question a buyer can answer today is about the vial, not the molecule: the lot on the label, the measured milligrams and a mass-spectrometry identity result on a certificate matched to it.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does BPC-157 work?
In animals, consistently and across many tissue types; in people, nobody knows. The entire published human record is three uncontrolled studies totalling about 31 people, and no randomised trial of any use has been published as of September 2026.
Is BPC-157 legal now that the FDA advisory committee backed it?
The vote did not change its status. As of September 2026 BPC-157 is not approved for any use and is not on the 503A bulks list, so US pharmacies cannot lawfully compound it, and the July 2026 recommendation is advisory, not binding. It is also prohibited in sport at all times under WADA's S0 category.
Does oral BPC-157 work?
No published human study has tested it: the one trial designed to give people oral BPC-157 tablets, registered in 2015, never reported. Rats given it in drinking water showed healing effects, and the peptide resists stomach acid, but stability in the stomach is not the same as absorption into the bloodstream.
Does BPC-157 cause cancer?
No human study has examined it, so there is no evidence either way. The concern follows from the mechanism: a compound that promotes new blood-vessel growth warrants caution in anyone with an existing or suspected cancer, because tumours rely on the same process. The Zagreb group reports anti-tumour effects in animals and cells, and independent reviewers note that no published in vivo study supports that claim.
Do I need to worry about oxidation when storing it?
Not for the reason usually given: BPC-157 contains no methionine, cysteine, tryptophan or tyrosine. Handle it as you would any freeze-dried peptide, but we know of no published stability study for this compound, so any specific shelf life comes from the seller.
How do I know the vial is really BPC-157?
A mass-spectrometry result near 1419.5 Da, on a certificate matched to your lot, confirms identity. HPLC purity alone cannot: it reports what share of the contents is a single compound, not which compound. For BPC-157, ask for the measured milligrams too, because fill varies more than purity.
When should I talk to a doctor before using BPC-157?
Talk to a clinician first if you have an active or past cancer, because BPC-157's proposed mechanism promotes new blood-vessel growth and no human study has examined that risk. The same applies if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, where no human safety data exist at all, and after any unexplained reaction to an injection.
This article is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. Peptides discussed may be investigational compounds not approved by the FDA (or equivalent regulators in your jurisdiction) for human use. Peptigrity does not recommend doses; any dose figure above is an approved-label value, a published-trial value or a community report, and is labelled as such. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before using any peptide or research compound. Peptigrity is an independent review platform and does not sell, endorse, or recommend specific products or vendors.



