Epithalon lengthened telomeres, the protective caps on the ends of chromosomes, in cultured human cells in its developer's 2003 experiments and again in an independent laboratory in 2025, but no study has measured that effect in a living person as of September 2026. Epithalon, spelled epitalon in FDA documents, is a synthetic peptide of four amino acids with a molecular weight of 390.35 daltons (Da, the unit of molecular mass), sold as a research chemical. It is not an approved drug in the US, and FDA's 2026 review found no approved epitalon product in the ten other countries its reviewers checked, among them Canada, Australia and the UK, and none authorised by the European Medicines Agency.
The telomere claim is not invented: the experiments found what they say they found, in cell culture. Most of the rest of the file comes from one St Petersburg research group. When FDA's reviewers worked through that file for an advisory committee meeting in July 2026, they treated the compound's signature effect as a possible cancer risk rather than a benefit, and the committee recommended it for compounding, the preparation of medicines by pharmacies from bulk ingredients, anyway. Epithalon belongs to the family of animal-gland extracts and the short synthetic peptides modelled on them that Peptigrity groups as Khavinson peptide bioregulators on its category page.
The short version
Epithalon is a lab-made peptide of four amino acids, modelled on epithalamin, an extract of cattle pineal glands, and it is sold as a research chemical rather than a medicine.
Its human evidence is sparse: no study has measured its effect on telomeres in a person (the lengthening was in cultured cells), and its best human result is a 1.7-fold rise in a melatonin marker in 20 women given it for 20 days.
Shops list it at a median $3.55 per milligram before shipping, taxes and customs (verified September 2026), and FDA found no human safety data while flagging a theoretical cancer risk from the same telomere effect it is sold on.
A purity percentage cannot confirm which peptide a vial holds when the peptide is this short, so the check that matters is a mass reading from the vial's own batch near 390.35 Da, and the lab reports on file show fill amounts ranging well above and below the label.
As of September 2026, US pharmacies cannot compound it, an FDA advisory committee's July 2026 vote to change that is not binding, and the World Anti-Doping Agency's rule on unapproved substances can cover it in sport.
Does epithalon lengthen telomeres in people?
No study has measured epithalon's effect on telomeres in a living person as of September 2026; the telomere data come from cultured cells. In the developer's 2003 experiment, adding epithalon to human fetal lung cells, which normally make no telomerase (the enzyme that rebuilds telomeres), switched the enzyme on and lengthened the cells' telomeres. FDA's 2026 review found three published studies that gave epitalon to people. They measured a melatonin marker, clock genes and the condition of the retina; none measured telomeres.
Those three studies, listed in the FDA Briefing Document for Epitalon-Related Bulk Drug Substances, are two 2021 papers on a spray held under the tongue in people working night shifts and a 2002 report of injections beside the eyeball in patients with retinitis pigmentosa, an inherited disease of the retina. Clock genes are the genes that run the body's 24-hour rhythm.
The founding cell work is Epithalon peptide induces telomerase activity and telomere elongation in human somatic cells (Khavinson et al., Bulletin of Experimental Biology and Medicine, 2003). Its follow-up, Peptide promotes overcoming of the division limit in human somatic cell (Khavinson et al., 2004), found that untreated cells stopped dividing at the 34th passage, one round of splitting a culture into fresh dishes, while treated cells reached 44 passages and kept dividing. They had passed the Hayflick limit, the ceiling on how many times a normal human cell divides.
An independent repeat came from Brunel University London, in Epitalon increases telomere length in human cell lines through telomerase upregulation or ALT activity (Al-dulaimi et al., Biogerontology, 2025). After three weeks of epithalon, normal human fibroblasts (connective-tissue cells) and breast epithelial cells (the cells that line the breast's ducts) had longer telomeres, more telomerase activity and higher expression of hTERT, the gene for telomerase's working part. Two breast cancer cell lines also gained telomere length within four days, but through ALT (alternative lengthening of telomeres), a telomerase-free route some cancers use to keep their telomeres long. A published correction later replaced three of the paper's figures.
The one human telomere figure involving epithalon that this review found, searching in September 2026, comes from a single case report: Improving Biological Age, Telomere Length, and Cognition (Lee and Burns, Journal of Restorative Medicine, 2024). A man aged 79 received three 10-day courses of epithalon alongside three other treatments, including plasma exchange with an albumin solution and daily Semax, another research peptide. His telomere length, estimated by a blood test that reads chemical tags on DNA (a DNA-methylation test) rather than measured directly, went from 6.45 to 6.59 kilobases (thousands of DNA letters) over 16 months. With four treatments running at once and no comparison, the change cannot be attributed to epithalon.
Read on their own terms, these are interesting results from competent work. Read as evidence that epithalon lengthens telomeres in people, they are being asked to carry weight they cannot bear, and the claim that it reverses biological age by a set number of years has no controlled study behind it.
The main studies, by tier. In vitro means in cells grown in a dish, and RCT means randomised controlled trial:
Study | Type | n | Key finding | Limitation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Khavinson et al., 2003 | In vitro (human fetal lung fibroblasts) | Not a human study | Telomerase switched on; telomeres lengthened | Developer's laboratory; cell culture only |
Khavinson et al., 2004 | In vitro (same cell type) | Not a human study | 44 passages against 34 in untreated cells | Developer's laboratory; cell culture only |
Al-dulaimi et al., 2025 | In vitro (normal fibroblasts and breast epithelial cells; two breast cancer lines) | Not a human study | Telomeres lengthened through telomerase in normal cells and through ALT in cancer cells | Cell culture only; three figures replaced in a published correction |
Anisimov et al., 2003 | Animal (female mice) | 54 per group | Mean lifespan unchanged; maximum lifespan 12.3% longer; total tumour incidence unchanged | Developer's collaborators; female mice only; one fixed dose |
Korkushko et al., 2007 | Human and animal (older people; old monkeys); design not stated | Not given in the abstract | Night-time melatonin rose in people with low pineal output | Russian-language paper; epitalon and the extract reported together |
Ivko et al., 2021 | Human RCT (placebo-controlled; blinding not stated) | 40 with low marker levels (20 per arm) | Urinary melatonin marker up 1.7-fold after 20 days | Sleep not measured; under-the-tongue route; no safety data reported |
Khavinson and Morozov, 2003 | Human (design not stated in the abstract) | 266 | Mortality 1.6–1.8 times lower in the group given epithalamin than in controls, over 6–8 years | Epithalamin extract, not epitalon |
Lee and Burns, 2024 | Human case report | 1 | Estimated telomere length 6.45 to 6.59 kilobases | Four treatments at once; telomere length estimated, not measured |
What is epithalon, and how does it differ from epithalamin?
Epithalon is a synthetic tetrapeptide, a peptide of four amino acids, with CAS registry number 307297-39-8 (free base), the chemical's catalogue identifier, and a molecular weight of 390.35 Da. Epithalamin is the extract of cattle pineal glands it was modelled on; the pineal gland is the small brain gland that makes melatonin. FDA's 2026 review treats the two as different substances, so evidence gathered on the extract does not transfer to the vial. Check which one a study used before quoting it.
The four amino acids are alanine, glutamic acid, aspartic acid and glycine, written Ala-Glu-Asp-Gly or AEDG. PubChem's record, Epitalon | C14H22N4O9 | CID 219042, confirms the formula and the 390.35 mass, but it lists epithalamin among epitalon's synonyms, a pairing FDA's reviewers reject: they note that FDA's own substance registry does not list epithalamin as a synonym. Epithalamin is a mixture of peptides; epithalon is one defined molecule, made by chemical synthesis after the extract's amino-acid content was analysed.
Property | Value |
|---|---|
Sequence | Ala-Glu-Asp-Gly (AEDG) |
Length | 4 amino acids (tetrapeptide) |
CAS | 307297-39-8 (free base); 307297-40-1 (acetate) |
Formula / MW | C₁₄H₂₂N₄O₉ / 390.35 Da (free base); 450.40 Da as the acetate salt |
Also written | Epitalon, Epithalone; AEDG peptide |
Origin | Synthetic analogue of epithalamin, a pineal gland extract |
The salt form changes the arithmetic. Suppliers sell the free base, the peptide on its own, and an acetate salt weighing 450.40 Da, so by weight about 87% of epitalon acetate is the peptide itself before any water is counted, our arithmetic from FDA's figures. FDA's reviewers found that the certificates submitted by both companies that proposed epitalon for compounding named one form and gave the formula of the other.
A certificate of analysis (COA) is the lab report for one batch. Four common amino acids make a molecule that is cheap to synthesise and hard to tell apart from other short peptides by purity testing alone, so the certificates on the Epithalon lab tests page are worth reading for their mass results first. An extract offers no such check, because it has no single mass. The family's thymus extract has the same problem, as Thymalin Is a Calf Thymus Extract sets out; the thymus is the immune gland in the chest.
Why does most epithalon research come from one group?
Most epithalon research comes from one research group because the peptide was developed there: FDA's 2026 review notes that most pharmacological studies of epitalon were conducted and published by Vladimir Khavinson's research group in Russia. That covers the original telomerase experiments, the mouse lifespan studies and the long-term human studies of the pineal preparations, run by the group and its collaborators. An independent laboratory repeated the telomere experiment in 2025. Treat a single-group result as unconfirmed until another group reproduces it.
Khavinson's group, based at the St Petersburg Institute of Bioregulation and Gerontology, has published on pineal peptide preparations since at least 1983, the date of the oldest such paper in FDA's reference list, on the theory that short peptides switch genes on and off. Its output is real and sustained. What the file lacked for most of its history is the usual correction mechanism, in which independent labs attempt a finding and publish when it fails. The same split between extract studies and synthetic products runs through the rest of the family, which Bioregulators traces compound by compound.
Independent work has begun to appear. Besides the 2025 Brunel replication, a Chinese-led group reported in 2022 that epitalon protected ageing mouse egg cells in culture, a study FDA's review cites for an antioxidant effect. Neither tested a person.
That does not make the Khavinson findings wrong. It means most of them remain unconfirmed, which is different from calling them proven or debunked; the cell-culture telomere result has been the exception since 2025.
What is the strongest human finding for epithalon?
Epithalon's strongest human finding concerns melatonin, not telomeres: in a randomised, placebo-controlled study of 40 women aged 40–50 who mostly worked night shifts and had low levels of a urinary melatonin marker, 20 took a spray under the tongue delivering 0.5 mg of epithalon a day for 20 days, and their marker rose 1.7-fold while the placebo group's did not change. The study did not measure sleep and reported no safety data. Read it as a hormone result, not a sleep treatment.
The paper is AEDG Peptide Regulation of the Expression of Human Circadian Rhythm Genes upon Accelerated Aging of the Pineal Gland (Ivko et al., Advances in Gerontology, 2021). It was co-written by N. S. Linkova, who also co-wrote the developer's 2012 review of pineal ageing, so it is not independent of the developer's group. The marker is 6-sulfatoxymelatonin, the form in which the body excretes melatonin. The paper does not state whether it was blinded, meaning whether participants and researchers knew who received the peptide. At baseline the 40 women's levels sat 1.7 times below those of 35 women with normal levels, and the authors concluded that the peptide restored melatonin production to an age-appropriate value; they also reported shifts in circadian-clock genes in blood cells.
An older Russian-language paper, Normalizing effect of the pineal gland peptides on the daily melatonin rhythm in old monkeys and elderly people (Korkushko et al., Advances in Gerontology, 2007), reports that epithalamin and epitalon raised night-time melatonin in older people whose pineal output had declined, and in old monkeys. Its abstract gives no number of participants, dose or route, and FDA's reviewers note that the full article was published only in Russian. In a 2001 rhesus monkey study by Goncharova and colleagues, summarised by FDA, 10 days of daily epitalon injections raised evening melatonin more than fourfold in old animals and had no significant effect in young ones.
The long-term human studies usually quoted for epithalon used the extract. In Peptides of pineal gland and thymus prolong human life (Khavinson and Morozov, Neuroendocrinology Letters, 2003), mortality among 266 older people followed for 6–8 years was 1.6–1.8 times lower in the group given epithalamin than in controls. FDA's reviewers note that seven of the papers submitted in support of epitalon, this one among them, concerned epithalamin, which FDA treats as a different substance.
FDA's reviewers added a caution that applies to the whole melatonin argument: low melatonin levels have not been consistently linked to insomnia in older adults, so raising the marker is not the same as improving sleep. The sleep claims across the research peptides are weighed against each other in Peptides for Sleep, which covers epithalon alongside DSIP (delta sleep-inducing peptide) and pinealon, another short bioregulator peptide. At the same meeting the committee voted against emideltide, DSIP's formal name, the only one of the seven peptides on its agenda that it declined to recommend; DSIP shows how far a sleep claim can outrun its trials.
What did the FDA review of epitalon find?
FDA's review of epitalon, prepared for the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee's meeting on 24 July 2026, found no publication testing it in people with insomnia, the only use FDA evaluated, no clinical study of its safety and no data on how the human body absorbs or clears it. The reviewers judged it poorly characterised chemically and flagged an immune-reaction risk for injections. FDA proposed not adding epitalon to the 503A bulks list, the list of ingredients US pharmacies may compound from.
The review, dated May 2026, covers both the free base and the acetate. Its nominators, the companies that proposed epitalon for the list, were Wells Pharmacy Network and a company acting for the International Peptide Society. They had proposed injections at 10 mg/mL and 3 mg/mL, then withdrawn their nominations, and FDA evaluated epitalon on its own initiative. It did not evaluate anti-ageing, longevity or telomere lengthening at all, because the nominations did not contain enough information for FDA to do so.
The most consequential line in the file is about the mechanism the compound is sold on. In its safety conclusions, FDA's briefing document states:
"epitalon has been shown to activate telomerase and lengthen telomeres, and longer telomeres are generally associated with increased risk for cancer"
That sentence inverts the pitch. The property presented in marketing as the benefit is the property the agency flagged as a risk, and the tension lies in the mechanism itself rather than in how a vial was made.
The committee voted to recommend epitalon anyway: 7 in favour, 4 against and 1 abstention by the count in Peptide adcomm Day 2: Emideltide voted down in panel's 1st pushback (Fierce Pharma, 24 July 2026). Members held their positions for both the free base and the acetate, and one member who voted no cited "a significant lack of information and data to evaluate the product, and also how to prescribe it." FDA had posted no minutes or vote record for the meeting as of September 2026.
Can US pharmacies compound epithalon, and is it banned in sport?
As of September 2026, US pharmacies cannot compound epithalon, and the World Anti-Doping Agency's rule on unapproved substances can prohibit it in sport. Epithalon is not on the 503A bulks list; an FDA advisory committee recommended it in July 2026, and the recommendation is not binding, because listing requires FDA rulemaking. FDA had published no proposed rule for epitalon or the other five recommended peptides by late September 2026. The legal route to a compounded prescription therefore does not exist yet.
Until FDA completes a rule, what reaches buyers is research-labelled material from the grey market for peptides, where nobody upstream answers for a batch. Epitalon's one FDA designation was an orphan-drug designation for retinitis pigmentosa, a status that gives development incentives for rare-disease drugs. FDA's review records that it was granted in September 2010 and revoked in January 2016; it was never an approval.
Epithalon is not named on the World Anti-Doping Code International Standard Prohibited List 2026, which the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) publishes each year. Its section S0 prohibits at all times "any pharmacological substance which is not addressed by any of the subsequent sections of the List and with no current approval by any governmental regulatory health authority for human therapeutic use." S0 turns on approval by any government, and FDA's reviewers found none in the countries they checked, a list that did not include Russia, where the developer works. An athlete subject to testing therefore has no basis for assuming epithalon is permitted, and the anti-doping organisation that tests them can confirm its status.
The full sequence of FDA's 2025–2026 peptide decisions is laid out in FDA Peptide Regulation 2025-2026, date by date through the July votes.
Does epithalon increase cancer risk?
No study shows that epithalon increases cancer risk in people, and none has tested it. The concern is mechanistic, meaning it follows from how the compound is proposed to work. FDA's reviewers wrote that continuous exposure to a telomerase activator could let cells escape the normal limit on dividing and become cancerous, and concluded that "from the mechanistic standpoint, epitalon has the potential to be carcinogenic." FDA framed that concern around continuous exposure over a lifetime, and no study shows that shorter or intermittent courses avoid it.
The reassuring data come from mice. In Effect of Epitalon on biomarkers of aging, life span and spontaneous tumor incidence in female Swiss-derived SHR mice (Anisimov et al., Biogerontology, 2003), monthly five-day courses of epithalon from three months of age did not change total spontaneous tumour incidence among 54 treated mice, and leukaemia was six times less frequent than among 54 controls. FDA's reviewers judged the group's three mouse tumour studies too limited to settle the question: each used one fixed dose and only female mice, and the intermittent dosing added up to at most about 22 weeks of exposure, against the two years of daily dosing in a standard cancer study in rodents.
The 2025 Brunel experiment adds a cell-culture signal from the other direction. In two breast cancer cell lines, four days of epithalon lengthened telomeres through ALT, the telomerase-free route, with ALT activity rising tenfold in one line and threefold in the other, while in normal cells ALT barely moved. That is not evidence of harm in people, but it is independent data on what the peptide does to cancer cells, and it raises a question the mouse tumour counts were not designed to answer.
Anyone with a personal or family history of cancer, or a known predisposition, is in the group for whom this question is not academic. For that group, an unexcluded theoretical risk is not one to wave away.
What side effects have been recorded, and in which studies?
No human safety study of epithalon exists: FDA's 2026 review found no clinical study that assessed its safety, and FDA's adverse-event databases held no reports on it through December 2025. The one randomised human study in FDA's review reported no safety data, and a 2007 Russian abstract states that the pineal preparations had "no side effects" in older people without saying how that was checked. Epithalon's side-effect profile in people is unknown, and injection adds risks of its own.
FDA's reviewers raised one specific concern for injections. Peptides can clump into aggregates, and aggregates and leftover synthesis impurities can trigger an immune response, which FDA describes as ranging from antibodies with no symptoms to life-threatening reactions. The subcutaneous route, an injection under the skin, carries more of that risk than an injection into a vein. FDA found no data on immune reactions or aggregation for epitalon, and no study of reproductive or developmental toxicity, which leaves pregnancy an unstudied case.
Stop using it and get checked if redness or pain at an injection site spreads; hives, swelling of the face or throat, difficulty breathing, or fever with a pus-filled site are emergencies.
Stop and seek care: swelling of the face or throat, difficulty breathing or hives after an injection are signs of a serious allergic reaction; spreading redness, warmth or pus at an injection site with fever is an infection; severe or persistent abdominal pain with vomiting on a GLP-1 drug can be pancreatitis; confusion, sweating or shaking on an IGF-1 or insulin-adjacent compound can be hypoglycaemia. Call your local emergency number (911 in the US, 112 in the EU, 999 in the UK, 000 in Australia) or go to an emergency department, and bring the vial and its label. Research-use vials are not approved products in any jurisdiction, even where a prescription product of the same molecule exists; no article on this site replaces a clinician who knows your history.
What epithalon dose has actually been tested in people?
The only randomised human study of epithalon in FDA's 2026 review gave 0.5 mg a day as a spray under the tongue for 20 days (Ivko et al., 2021; 20 women on the peptide) and measured a melatonin marker rather than testing doses, so epithalon has no established human dose. FDA found no clinical study of injection under the skin. Clinic websites reviewed by FDA list 5–10 mg a day by injection or by mouth, 10 to 20 times the trial dose (community-reported; no trial has tested it).
One published case report describes subcutaneous courses in a single patient, given alongside three other treatments; it was not designed to test a dose. No study has compared intermittent courses with continuous dosing, for effect or for safety.
The human doses on record, and the market's, by source:
Route | Dose (as stated by the source) | Frequency | Duration | Evidence level | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Spray under the tongue (sublingual) | 0.5 mg of peptide a day | Three sprays, twice a day | 20 days | Human RCT (n = 40; 20 on the peptide; blinding not stated) | Ivko et al., 2021 |
Injection beside the eyeball (parabulbar) | Not stated in the abstract | Not stated | Not stated | Human (retinitis pigmentosa; design and n not stated) | Khavinson et al., 2002, as listed in FDA's 2026 review |
Subcutaneous injection or by mouth | No established human dose; clinic websites list 5–10 mg a day | Daily; some sites in cycles (one site: every 4 months) | Not studied | Community-reported; no trial has tested it | FDA's 2026 summary of clinic websites |
The Epithalon Reconstitution Calculator converts a vial's milligrams and the water added into micrograms per syringe unit, one mark on an insulin syringe. It does arithmetic on a number the reader supplies, and no trial has established what that number should be for an injection.
Can a consumer telomere test show whether epithalon worked?
No, a consumer telomere test cannot show whether epithalon worked, for reasons that have nothing to do with epithalon. In a blinded comparison of two laboratory methods on blood from 50 donors, repeat runs of qPCR, a common DNA-amplification method, varied by 6.45%, so a single person's before-and-after change has to be large to stand out from the test's own noise. A personal before-and-after also has no control condition. A small change cannot be told apart from measurement drift.
Those figures come from Impartial comparative analysis of measurement of leukocyte telomere length/DNA content by Southern blots and qPCR (Aviv et al., Nucleic Acids Research, 2011), in which Southern blotting, the older gel-based method, varied by 1.74% between runs. For scale, on a telomere length of 6.5 kilobases, the difference between two qPCR runs would have to exceed about 1.2 kilobases before it stood out from run-to-run noise with 95% confidence, our arithmetic (1.96 × √2 × 6.45%), before any biological variation is counted.
The one published human example is the 2024 case report, whose telomere figure came from a DNA-methylation estimate, a method whose run-to-run error the report does not give, and moved by 0.14 kilobases while four treatments ran at once.
That does not mean the compound does nothing. It means a consumer telomere test cannot tell you whether it did, which is a narrower statement than the conclusions usually drawn from such tests, for or against.
Which epithalon claims survive the evidence?
None of epithalon's headline claims is established in people. Telomerase activation and telomere lengthening are real in cultured cells, now in two laboratories, and have never been measured in a person. The best-supported human claim is a rise in a melatonin marker, from one study in which 20 women took the peptide. Lifespan data are mixed and come from mice, the mortality data come from the extract, and the claim of reversing biological age by a set number of years has no controlled study behind it.
Claim | Best evidence | Tier | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|
Activates telomerase | Switched on in cultured human fibroblasts (2003); hTERT raised in normal cells in an independent 2025 study | In vitro | Real in cells; untested in people |
Lengthens telomeres | Longer telomeres in cultured cells in both laboratories; no human measurement | In vitro | Never measured in humans |
Reverses biological age by a set number of years | One multi-treatment case report using DNA-methylation estimates | Human case report | No controlled study |
Extends lifespan | Mean lifespan unchanged, maximum lifespan 12.3% longer in one 108-mouse study | Animal | Mixed, mice only |
Reduces mortality in older people | 266-person study; mortality 1.6–1.8 times lower in the group given the extract epithalamin | Human (extract) | Not epitalon data |
Restores melatonin rhythm | Urinary melatonin marker up 1.7-fold in 20 women on the peptide (a level, not a rhythm); a Russian abstract on night-time levels | Human RCT (small); human, design not stated | Best-supported, as a marker rise |
Improves sleep | No study measured sleep; low melatonin not consistently linked to insomnia in older adults | No data | Untested |
Antioxidant and DNA-protective effects | Mouse egg cells in culture; fewer chromosome defects in mice | In vitro; Animal | Animal and cell data only |
Skin elasticity and wrinkle improvement | No verifiable controlled study | No data | Unsupported |
Safe despite telomerase activation | No human safety study; FDA flags a mechanistic cancer risk; mouse tumour data too limited | Animal; mechanism | Unresolved |
How does epithalon compare with other longevity compounds?
Epithalon sits in the middle of its comparison group on evidence: it has more human data than FOXO4-DRI, which has no human data at all, and far less than ramelteon, a melatonin-receptor drug FDA lists among approved insomnia treatments. Unlike the extract thymalin, epithalon is one defined molecule, though FDA judged the bulk substance poorly characterised. Epithalon costs a median $3.55 per milligram before shipping, taxes and customs (verified September 2026), against $4.50 for thymalin and $14.50 for FOXO4-DRI. Its controlled human data concern melatonin, not telomeres.
Median prices in the table are per milligram across all vial sizes, read from each compound's price page (verified September 2026). They exclude shipping, taxes and customs, and the Epithalon price comparison lists every offer with its vial size, from $1.19 per milligram on a 50 mg vial.
Compound | Proposed mechanism | Human evidence | Availability | Median $/mg |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Epithalon | Telomerase activation; pineal regulation | One 40-woman melatonin-marker study; no telomere measurement | Research chemical; FDA advisory committee backed compounding, not binding | $3.55 |
Thymalin | Thymic immune restoration | Russian studies of a calf-thymus extract | Research chemical | $4.50 |
FOXO4-DRI | Senolytic: clears senescent cells, worn-out cells that no longer divide | None | Research chemical | $14.50 |
Ramelteon (Rozerem) | Activates melatonin receptors | FDA-approved for insomnia | Prescription drug | Not tracked |
For a reader whose interest is sleep, an approved drug such as ramelteon carries evidence the research peptides lack. The overlapping longevity compounds are grouped with the other immune support & longevity peptides on the site's category page.
How do you verify an epithalon vial before you buy it?
An epithalon vial is verified above all by mass spectrometry, which weighs the molecules in a sample; the result that counts comes from the vial's own batch and shows a mass near 390.35 Da. Purity testing alone cannot tell a four-amino-acid peptide, cheap to synthesise, from other short peptides, so a vial can report a high purity figure while containing something else entirely. The CAS number, the salt form, the net peptide content and an endotoxin result cover what mass cannot.
Purity comes from HPLC (high-performance liquid chromatography), which measures what share of the peptide material in a sample is one compound. Mass spectrometry shows whether the main compound has epithalon's mass. The 390.35 figure is the average molecular weight; a certificate may instead give the exact (monoisotopic) mass, 390.14, or the protonated ion near 391.15 on the mass-to-charge scale. The same four amino acids in a different order weigh the same, so mass confirms composition rather than sequence. Net peptide content is how many milligrams of peptide a vial actually holds, as against salts and water. Endotoxin is bacterial debris that causes fever when injected, and the LAL test detects it with an extract of horseshoe-crab blood cells that clots in its presence.
Check | What it confirms | How | Red flag |
|---|---|---|---|
Mass spectrometry | Mass matches epithalon's: near 390.35 Da, or 391.15 as the protonated ion | Batch-matched COA with a mass spectrum | Purity given with no identity test |
CAS on the label | Label names the intended form | 307297-39-8 (free base) or 307297-40-1 (acetate) | A CAS matching nothing, or none given |
Salt form | Which molecule the label's milligrams refer to | Free base 390.35 Da; acetate 450.40 Da | A certificate naming one form and giving the other's formula |
HPLC purity | Proportion of intended peptide | Third-party COA, named lab | Vendor's own document only |
Net peptide content | Actual peptide versus salts and water | Net-content result on the COA | Purity quoted as if it were quantity |
Endotoxin (LAL) | No fever-causing bacterial debris in injectable material | LAL result | Not tested, not mentioned |
Lab-portal confirmation | The certificate is genuine | Look the lot (batch) number up on the issuing lab's own site | A report the lab cannot find |
What a spectrum must show before it counts as identity confirmation is set out in Mass Spectrometry for Peptides, including the molecular-weight match. Purity and quantity are separate axes, which is why Peptide Net Content explains how a 10 mg vial can hold less than 10 mg of peptide. A vial already in hand can be sent to a laboratory, and how to test your peptides covers what each test measures and what it costs.
What do Peptigrity's lab records show for epithalon?
Peptigrity holds 269 certificates of analysis for epithalon from 20 laboratories and 153 shops (verified September 2026), all for single vials, with a recency-weighted purity index of 99.44, a mean that counts recent tests more, and a median measured content of 106% of the label claim. The records show what was in the vials that shops chose to have tested. They say nothing about whether epithalon works or is safe, and they are only as reliable as the identity tests they include.
HPLC purity is tightly grouped: the median is 99.58%, 90% of results reach 99% or higher, and 9 fall below 98%. Measured content is not: the middle 80% of vials held between 95% and 129% of the labelled amount, 49 of the 268 with a measured content held more than 120%, and 7 held less than 90%, so the amount in a dose drawn from a labelled vial can be well off in either direction. Endotoxin was reported on 53 of the 269 certificates (20%), and 63 (23%) have been confirmed on the issuing lab's own portal. The most-tested vial sizes are 10 mg (180 certificates) and 50 mg (60).
Epithalon's index sits just below the composite of 99.50 across 11,574 indexed tests on the Purity Index, where tests from the last 90 days count fully and older ones less (verified September 2026).
The dataset carries a standing caveat: published certificates are the ones vendors chose to publish, which makes the sample selection-biased rather than a random market survey. For a four-amino-acid peptide the caveat has extra force, because a certificate reporting only HPLC purity does not establish that the vial contains epithalon at all.
What trial would settle whether epithalon works?
The trial that would settle whether epithalon works would run at an institution outside St Petersburg and measure white-blood-cell telomere length by a validated method, with the analysis fixed in advance: the central claim, measured properly in people for the first time. It would be randomised, double-blind (neither participants nor researchers knowing who gets the peptide) and placebo-controlled, run for years with cancer-incidence surveillance, and use characterised, mass-verified material. No trial of that design has been published.
Element | Requirement | Why |
|---|---|---|
Replication site | An institution outside St Petersburg | The cell-culture finding has one independent replication; the human findings have none |
Design | Randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled | The randomised melatonin study (Ivko et al., 2021) did not state whether it was blinded |
Primary outcome | White-blood-cell telomere length by a validated method, with the analysis fixed in advance | Telomere lengthening is the claim the compound is sold on |
Secondary outcomes | Melatonin rhythm and sleep, both measured directly | Tests the best-supported claim and the benefit it is assumed to bring |
Duration | Multi-year, with cancer-incidence surveillance | The mechanistic risk FDA flagged requires long follow-up to address |
Product | Characterised, mass-verified material | Grey-market epithalon is not routinely confirmed to be epithalon |
Where does this leave epithalon?
Epithalon is neither the anti-ageing breakthrough its marketing suggests nor an empty claim. It is a compound with a real in vitro finding, now repeated by an independent laboratory, a coherent theoretical framework, a substantial but geographically concentrated body of work, and a total absence of the independent human evidence that would move it from interesting to established. Its best human claim rests on one 20-day study of a melatonin marker.
More than forty years of publications from one group is a long time without an outside check. Two things changed recently. An independent laboratory repeated the cell experiment in 2025, confirming the telomere effect in normal cells and finding the peptide lengthening telomeres in breast cancer cells by another route. And when a regulator finally worked through the file, it described the compound's signature mechanism as a reason for concern rather than as the selling point the market has made of it.
A reader who already holds a vial can check its lot number against the certificates on file before anything else, and the shops that list epithalon, with their reviews and lab records, are compared in the peptide shops directory.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does epithalon lengthen telomeres?
In cultured human cells, yes: the developer's laboratory reported it in 2003, and an independent British laboratory repeated it in 2025. In living people it has never been measured. That gap is the single most important thing to understand about this compound.
Is epithalon approved for anything?
Not in any country FDA's reviewers checked: it is not an approved drug in the US, FDA's 2026 review found no approved product in ten other countries, and none is authorised by the European Medicines Agency. Its one FDA orphan-drug designation, for retinitis pigmentosa, was revoked in 2016. A US advisory committee recommended it for compounding in July 2026, but that recommendation is not binding and no rule has been proposed.
Does epithalon cause cancer?
There is no evidence that it does in people, and no study has tested it. The concern is mechanistic: FDA's reviewers wrote that because epitalon activates telomerase and lengthens telomeres, it has the potential to be carcinogenic, and the mouse studies that found no rise in tumours were too short and too narrow to settle it. A cancer history is a reason for caution.
What does epithalon actually do that's best supported?
Epithalon's best-supported effect is raising a melatonin marker: in one randomised study, 20 women with low levels who took an under-the-tongue spray excreted 1.7 times more of it after 20 days. The study did not measure sleep, and it is not what the compound is usually sold for.
Can epithalon be taken by mouth instead of injected?
Epithalon is sold for use by mouth as well as by injection, but no study has measured how much of it reaches the bloodstream by either route. FDA's 2026 review lists capsules and oral sprays on the market alongside vials, and found no data on how the body absorbs or clears the peptide. The one randomised human study used a spray held under the tongue and measured a melatonin marker, not how much peptide reached the blood.
How do I know my vial is really epithalon?
A mass-spectrometry result from the vial's own batch showing a mass near 390.35 Da is the essential check that a vial contains epithalon. At four common amino acids, HPLC purity alone cannot establish identity.
When should you talk to a clinician before using epithalon?
Talk to a clinician before any use, because no study has established epithalon's safety in people. Three situations make that conversation more pressing: a personal or family history of cancer, because of the mechanistic risk FDA flagged; pregnancy or trying to conceive, because no reproductive safety study exists; and insomnia lasting months, because approved treatments with known safety records exist. Spreading redness at an injection site is a reason to stop and get checked, and swelling of the face or throat, difficulty breathing, or fever with pus at the site is an emergency.
This article is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. Peptides discussed may be investigational compounds not approved by the FDA (or equivalent regulators in your jurisdiction) for human use; research peptides are sold for laboratory use and are not manufactured, tested or labelled to pharmaceutical standards. Peptigrity does not recommend doses: every dose figure above is an approved-label value, a published-trial value or a community report, and is labelled as such — a community report is not a recommendation. Self-injection carries risks of infection, allergic reaction and dosing error; signs of a serious allergic reaction, an injection-site infection with fever, severe abdominal pain, or confusion and sweating on an IGF-1 or insulin-adjacent compound are medical emergencies — call your local emergency number. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before using any peptide or research compound. Peptigrity is an independent review platform and does not sell, endorse, or recommend specific products or vendors.



