Melanotan I (MT-1)
Linear alpha-MSH analog (afamelanotide) approved in the EU as Scenesse® for erythropoietic protoporphyria. Researched for photoprotective tanning.
Also known as Afamelanotide, Scenesse, CUV1647, MBJ-05, [Nle4 D-Phe7]-α-MSH
Peptigrity has 150 lab tests of Melanotan I (MT-1) on file from 101 shops and 17 labs; the newest is from . Average HPLC purity is 99.69% across the 150 results that report it, and 97.3% of results are at or above 99%. 149 results compare the measured amount with the label (median 105.6% of label); 38 report endotoxin. 48 shops publish prices: $1.50 to $16.00 per mg, median $3.77. Peptigrity publishes measurements, not dosing advice.
From Peptigrity records · figures updated · Cite these figures
Lab test results
| Tested | Shop | Lab | Purity | Measured vs label | Endotoxin | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rogue Compounds | ILS Laboratories | 99.87% | 10.41 / 10 mg 104% of label | — | MT1-260808-001 | |
| ANKR Lab | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.53% | 10.46 / 10 mg 105% of label | — | 1010 | |
| Panda Peptides | ILS Laboratories | 99.89% | 10.47 / 10 mg 105% of label | Reported | PP2604-048✓ | |
| Ramp Peptides | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.77% | 9.61 / 10 mg 96% of label | — | MT0110-RP01✓ | |
| Backroad Aminos | Kovera Labs | 99.63% | 10.88 / 10 mg 109% of label | Pass | 081126MT110 | |
| Peptinexia | Kovera Labs | 99.56% | 10.35 / 10 mg 103% of label | Pass | MT10100803261✓ | |
| BioEdge Research Labs | Kovera Labs | 99.89% | 11.86 / 10 mg 119% of label | Pass | 04012026MEL10✓ | |
| Zen Aminos | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.93% | 10.06 / 10 mg 101% of label | — | ZAP-MT101✓ | |
| Peptide Plugs | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.72% | 12.79 / 10 mg 128% of label | Pass | 103-09-2B✓ | |
| Biotech Peptides | MZ Biolabs | 99.99% | 10 / 10 mg 100% of label | — | 3141047 | |
| Puratek Peptides | ILS Laboratories | 99.62% | 10.32 / 10 mg 103% of label | — | MT110004✓ | |
| Nova Labs | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.92% | 10.26 / 10 mg 103% of label | — | View record → |
Shops with a Melanotan I (MT-1) test since
36 shops. A shop is listed when a third-party lab published a test of its Melanotan I (MT-1) in the last six months; the newest result is shown, as the lab reported it. Ordered by date, nothing else.
| Shop | Newest test | Result | Melanotan I (MT-1) tests | Warehouse | Reviews |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ANKR LabClaimedTests on file | Lot 1010 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.53% | 1 | 🇺🇸 United States | No reviews yet |
| Rogue CompoundsClaimedTests on file | Lot MT1-260808-001 · ILS Laboratories | 99.87% | 1 | 🇺🇸 United States | No reviews yet |
| Panda PeptidesClaimedTests on file | Lot PP2604-048 · ILS Laboratories | 99.89% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Ramp PeptidesTests on file | Lot MT0110-RP01 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.77% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Backroad AminosTests on file | Lot 081126MT110 · Kovera Labs | 99.63% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| BioEdge Research LabsTests on file | Lot 04012026MEL10 · Kovera Labs | 99.89% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| PeptinexiaClaimedTests on file | Lot MT10100803261 · Kovera Labs | 99.56% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Zen AminosClaimedTests on file | Lot ZAP-MT101 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.93% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Peptide PlugsTests on file | Lot 103-09-2B · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.72% | 2 | Not stated | 20 · 4.5 |
| Biotech PeptidesTests on file | Lot 3141047 · MZ Biolabs | 99.99% | 1 | Not stated | 17 · 4.6 |
Show the other 26 shops
| Puratek PeptidesTests on file | Lot MT110004 · ILS Laboratories | 99.62% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Aurora PeptidesTests on file | Lot MT10-072026-001 · Kovera Labs | 99.62% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Nova LabsTests on file | View record · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.92% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| TriVial BioWorksClaimedTests on file | Lot MT1-0706 · Kovera Labs | 99.47% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Glow AminosClaimedTests on file | Lot GL-010197 · ILS Laboratories | 99.94% | 3 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Ascend ScienceTests on file | Lot C80H1SNK2021 · Kovera Labs | 99.58% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Pureline BiolabsClaimedTests on file | Lot plb-005 · Janoshik Labs | 99.81% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Humatide PeptidesClaimedTests on file | Lot H10MLTN1060126 · ILS Laboratories | 99.08% | 1 | 🇺🇸 United States | 27 · 4.9 |
| My Amino LabClaimedTests on file | Lot V2606-MT1-2401 · Kovera Labs | 99.88% | 1 | 🇺🇸 United States | No reviews yet |
| Double R LabsTests on file | Lot DRL-06-MT1-10 · Kovera Labs | 99.55% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Real PeptidesTests on file | Lot BATCH-0322 · Kovera Labs | 99.41% | 1 | Not stated | 20 · 4.3 |
| National Science LabsTests on file | View record · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.90% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| 24PeptidesTests on file | Lot GF-MEL10-B242 · liquilabs | 99.80% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Ascension PeptidesTests on file | Lot 22-05260628 · Kovera Labs | 99.75% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Maple Research LabsTests on file | Lot 5666 · Testides | 98.82% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Regenerative Research PeptidesClaimedTests on file | Lot M126-01 · ILS Laboratories | 99.61% | 1 | Not stated | 16 · 4.9 |
| Precisely PeptidesTests on file | Lot PP413-26-001 · Vanguard Laboratory | 99.16% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| GenPeptideTests on file | Lot GPMI10052526 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.87% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| High Tide CompoundsTests on file | Lot MT110-001 · Kovera Labs | 99.40% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Midwest PeptideClaimedTests on file | Lot MPMTI002 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.68% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Protide HealthTests on file | Lot PH-mn110-0201 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.55% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Disguised AlphaTests on file | Lot U3X35 · Chromate | 99.04% | 2 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Ameano PeptidesTests on file | Lot MEL1100507 2026-04 · Janoshik Labs | 99.86% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| EZ PeptidesTests on file | Lot EZP-MEL11005072026-04 · Janoshik Labs | 99.85% | 1 | Not stated | 1 · 4.0 |
| PurgoLabs PeptidesTests on file | Lot PL-MT1-03 · Freedom Diagnostics | 99.63% | 3 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
| Warrior MakersTests on file | Lot 11257-SG5 · MZ Biolabs | 99.36% | 1 | Not stated | No reviews yet |
Shops listing Melanotan I (MT-1)
Compare prices from 48 shops →What is Melanotan I (MT-1)?
Melanotan I (MT-1) is the research-market name for afamelanotide, a synthetic linear α-melanocyte-stimulating hormone (α-MSH) analog that is an approved prescription drug on both sides of the Atlantic: the FDA approved it as SCENESSE on October 8, 2019 (16 mg subcutaneous implant) to increase pain-free light exposure in adults with erythropoietic protoporphyria (EPP) and a history of phototoxic reactions, and the EU authorised it on 22 December 2014 for prevention of phototoxicity in adult EPP patients (under exceptional circumstances). Gray-market "melanotan-1" vials sold by peptide vendors are not the approved SCENESSE implant — same molecule on the label, entirely different product, supply chain, and quality controls. It is also researched for photoprotective tanning effects and is sold as a research-use-only compound by third-party laboratories outside of the approved indication.
Sources: SCENESSE (afamelanotide) — NDA 210797, — (applicant Clinuvel), via Drugs@FDA; FDA approves first treatment to increase pain-free light exposure in patients with a rare disorder, FDA, via fda.gov press announcement (PRNewswire mirror fetched); Scenesse (afamelanotide) — EMA EPAR medicine overview, EMA, via ema.europa.eu
What is Melanotan I and how does the α-MSH-analog mechanism work?
Melanotan I (afamelanotide) is a synthetic 13-amino-acid linear α-MSH analog — [Nle4, D-Phe7]-α-MSH — in which norleucine replaces methionine at position 4 and D-phenylalanine replaces L-phenylalanine at position 7, changes that confer resistance to enzymatic degradation and a longer-acting, more potent profile than native α-MSH. It binds melanocortin receptors (MC1R primarily on melanocytes), stimulating eumelanin (the protective dark pigment) synthesis in skin. The mechanism produces protective pigmentation without UV exposure, the basis for the EPP indication and the cosmetic tanning interest.
Evidence level: FDA- and EMA-approved (SCENESSE for EPP); Phase 3 evidence in EPP; cosmetic tanning research
What does the clinical evidence show for Melanotan I?
Phase 3 trials in erythropoietic protoporphyria demonstrated significant increases in pain-free sun-exposure time, supporting EU authorisation of Scenesse in 2014 and FDA approval in 2019. In the two controlled trials described in the FDA approval announcement, implant recipients logged a median 64 hours of pain-free direct sunlight over 180 days versus 41 hours on placebo in one trial (n=93), and 6 hours over 270 days versus 0.75 hours in the second (n=74). The compound is administered as a subcutaneous slow-release implant in approved EPP use. Cosmetic tanning research applications use injectable formulations off-label. Outside the EPP indication, afamelanotide is not approved for anything — cosmetic tanning use is unapproved everywhere (as of August 2026).
Source: FDA approves first treatment to increase pain-free light exposure in patients with a rare disorder, FDA, via fda.gov press announcement (PRNewswire mirror fetched) · Evidence level: phase 3 (EPP; FDA- and EMA-approved); cosmetic tanning research not at regulatory-grade
How does Melanotan I compare to Melanotan II?
Melanotan I is a linear α-MSH analog with selective MC1R binding; Melanotan II is a smaller cyclic analog with broader melanocortin receptor binding (MC1R + MC3R + MC4R + MC5R), producing different effects including significant sexual function and appetite effects in addition to pigmentation. The Melanotan 1 vs Melanotan 2 comparison covers receptors, effects, and regulatory status side by side.
| Compound | Structure | Receptor binding | Approved status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Melanotan I (MT-1, Afamelanotide) | 13-AA linear α-MSH analog | MC1R selective | FDA- + EMA-approved (SCENESSE for EPP) |
| Melanotan II | Smaller cyclic α-MSH analog | MC1R + MC3R + MC4R + MC5R | Not approved |
| PT-141 | MT-2 metabolite | MC4R primary | FDA-approved (Vyleesi, HSDD) |
What are the documented side effects of Melanotan I?
Side effects in Scenesse clinical use include injection-site reactions, mild fatigue, occasional headache, and the expected pigmentation effects. The FDA approval materials also list nausea, respiratory symptoms, and darkening of skin — including darkening of pre-existing moles, which is why twice-yearly full-body skin examinations are recommended during treatment. Long-term safety has been characterized in the EMA-approved Scenesse use, with ongoing surveillance. The melanocortin receptor pathway raises theoretical concerns about melanoma risk (since melanocyte stimulation is involved), though clinical data has not surfaced increased melanoma incidence in approved use.
Source: FDA approves first treatment to increase pain-free light exposure in patients with a rare disorder, FDA, via fda.gov press announcement (PRNewswire mirror fetched) · Evidence level: phase 3 safety; post-market surveillance under FDA and EMA approvals; long-term cosmetic-use safety less characterized
What is the regulatory status of Melanotan I?
Afamelanotide is an approved prescription drug for one rare disease: the FDA approved SCENESSE (NDA 210797, 16 mg subcutaneous implant) on October 8, 2019, to increase pain-free light exposure in adult EPP patients with a history of phototoxic reactions, and the EU authorised it on 22 December 2014 for prevention of phototoxicity in adult EPP patients — an authorisation granted under exceptional circumstances. It is not approved for cosmetic tanning anywhere in the world. In Australia, melanotan products fall under prescription-only medicine controls (Schedule 4) and it is illegal to sell or advertise them as tanning agents. Research-grade "melanotan-1" sold by third-party laboratories is a separate supply chain from the prescription implant and carries none of its pharmaceutical quality controls (as of August 2026). Regulatory context in are peptides legal regulatory status by country.
Sources: SCENESSE (afamelanotide) — NDA 210797, — (applicant Clinuvel), via Drugs@FDA; Scenesse (afamelanotide) — EMA EPAR medicine overview, EMA, via ema.europa.eu; Illegal tanning nasal sprays pushed by social media influencers, CHOICE (quoting TGA spokesperson; A/Prof D. Sebaratnam), via choice.com.au
Why does Melanotan I vendor verification matter?
Because the EMA-approved Scenesse implant product is distinct from research-grade injectable Melanotan I sold by third-party laboratories — those are different supply chains with different quality controls. Research-grade material is subject to wider purity variance, and the structural distinction between Melanotan I and the smaller Melanotan II requires mass spectrometry verification. Compare vendors against the independent Melanotan I lab tests on file. Guidance in how-to-test-peptides hub.
How does Peptigrity verify Melanotan I vendors?
Peptigrity collects independent third-party Certificates of Analysis for Melanotan I from shops' official channels and verifies each for authenticity before publishing. Because shops choose which COAs to publish, results reflect the batches shops have made public rather than every production batch — a selection bias we state openly. A community-funded Testing Grant to purchase and test vials anonymously is in development. Tests in the database come from independent labs such as Janoshik Analytical, Freedom Diagnostics, and Chromate. Methodology in how we calculate trust scores.
Frequently asked questions
Is Melanotan I FDA-approved?
Yes — for one rare disease. The FDA approved afamelanotide as SCENESSE on October 8, 2019, a 16 mg implant to increase pain-free light exposure in adults with erythropoietic protoporphyria; the EU authorised it in December 2014. It is not approved for cosmetic tanning anywhere in the world, and gray-market "melanotan-1" vials are not the approved SCENESSE product.
Is Melanotan I legal to purchase?
The Scenesse implant is available by prescription in jurisdictions where Melanotan I is approved for EPP. Research-grade Melanotan I is legal to purchase as a research chemical for laboratory use in most jurisdictions, but it is not approved for cosmetic use. Australia is a hard exception: melanotans are Schedule 4 prescription-only medicines there, and selling or advertising them as tanning products is illegal — the TGA fined one supplier A$101,412 across 27 infringement notices in 2026. Country breakdown in peptide legal status guide.
Sources: Illegal tanning nasal sprays pushed by social media influencers, CHOICE (quoting TGA spokesperson; A/Prof D. Sebaratnam), via choice.com.au; Don't risk using tanning products containing melanotan (TGA blog + enforcement), TGA, via tga.gov.au
How does Melanotan I differ from Melanotan II?
Melanotan I is a longer linear α-MSH analog with selective MC1R binding (primarily pigmentation effects); Melanotan II is a smaller cyclic analog with broader melanocortin receptor binding (pigmentation + sexual function + appetite effects). They produce substantially different effect profiles.
Does Melanotan I cause melanoma?
The melanocortin pathway is theoretically implicated in melanoma development, but EMA Scenesse post-market surveillance has not surfaced increased melanoma incidence in approved use. Long-term cosmetic-tanning use safety is less characterized than approved EPP use. Anyone considering Melanotan I use should consult a licensed physician about the underlying melanocortin biology.
How can I verify a Melanotan I vendor is selling real product?
Independent third-party HPLC certificate of analysis from a lab the vendor does not own or pay, with mass spectrometry identity confirmation. Mass spec distinguishes Melanotan I (longer linear) from Melanotan II (smaller cyclic). COA interpretation in red flags in peptide certificates of analysis.
Does Peptigrity recommend a Melanotan I dose?
No. The Scenesse EPP dose is administered as a slow-release implant under medical supervision. Cosmetic tanning use is not approved anywhere; protocols vary widely. Peptigrity is an independent review platform, not a medical authority. Anyone considering use should consult a licensed physician.
This section is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. Afamelanotide is FDA- and EMA-approved as SCENESSE for erythropoietic protoporphyria only; research-grade melanotan-1 sold for laboratory use is not the approved product, and cosmetic tanning use is not approved anywhere. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before using any peptide or research compound. Peptigrity is an independent review platform and does not sell, endorse, or recommend specific products or vendors.
Melanotan I (MT-1) and other skin, anti-aging & cosmetic peptides
| Compound | Mechanism | Avg purity | Tests | Shops |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Melanotan I (MT-1) This page | Linear α-MSH analog (afamelanotide) | 99.7% | 150 | 248 |
| GHK-Cu | Copper-binding tripeptide (Gly-His-Lys) | 99.7% | 867 | 508 |
| Melanotan II (MT-2) | Synthetic α-MSH analog (pigmentation) | 99.6% | 280 | 393 |
| SNAP-8 | Octapeptide SNARE modulator (anti-wrinkle) | 99.3% | 84 | 230 |
| AHK-Cu | Synthetic copper peptide (hair follicle) | 97.8% | 32 | 178 |
| Argireline | SNARE/SNAP-25 interference — expression lines | 99.8% | 1 | 13 |
| Matrixyl | Collagen-signaling matrikine (Pal-KTTKS) | — | 0 | 17 |
| Palmitoyl Tripeptide-1 | Collagen-signaling Pal-GHK matrikine | — | 0 | 10 |
Community
No logs, questions or discussions about Melanotan I (MT-1) yet — early posts get the most eyes.
Have a lab test for Melanotan I (MT-1)?
Every submitted test helps the community verify purity across brands. Free, fast, independent.