§ EDITORIAL · INDEPENDENT RESEARCH8 MIN READ · PUBLISHED SEP 22, 2026
Home Blog Is NAD+ FDA Approved? Not as a Therapeutic for Longevity or Aging
Buyer Education & Quality Verification

Is NAD+ FDA Approved? Not as a Therapeutic for Longevity or Aging

P
Tuesday, September 22, 2026 · 8 min read
Last updated: 21 September 2026

No. As of September 2026, NAD+ is not FDA-approved as a therapeutic for longevity, aging or any related indication in the United States. It is a coenzyme, a small dinucleotide molecule, and it holds no such approval anywhere else either. Its precursors, nicotinamide riboside (NR) and nicotinamide mononucleotide (NMN), are sold as dietary supplements in most jurisdictions, and FDA's exclusion of NMN from the supplement definition was reversed on 29 September 2025. NAD+ is not on WADA's 2026 Prohibited List.

The table below shows NAD+'s position on the five registers that decide whether a compound is approved, compoundable or prohibited in sport, and each row carries the as-of date its Peptigrity source gives.

Register

NAD+'s position

As of (Peptigrity source)

FDA approval

Not approved as a therapeutic for longevity, aging or related indications. Whether any NAD+ product holds an FDA approval for another use is not assessed on Peptigrity. Separately, FDA's exclusion of NMN from the dietary-supplement definition was reversed on 29 September 2025.

August 2026 — NAD+ compound page (as of August 2026); NMN reversal per the FDA regulation timeline

FDA Category 2 bulk list

Not listed. NAD+ is not among the 14 substances on FDA's active Category 2 list or the 17 in its "nominated but withdrawn" table, as Peptigrity enumerates them. Whether NAD+ sits in any other FDA bulk-substances category is not assessed on Peptigrity.

FDA page current 22 April 2026 — FDA regulation timeline (as of August 2026)

PCAC review

Not assessed on Peptigrity. No Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee review of NAD+ appears in the site's FDA timeline, and it was not among the seven substances reviewed on 23–24 July 2026.

Through the 23–24 July 2026 meeting — FDA regulation timeline (as of August 2026)

WADA

Not prohibited. NAD+ and its precursors are not on the 2026 Prohibited List.

WADA 2026 Prohibited List — Peptigrity's NAD+ boosters analysis

Other jurisdictions

Not approved anywhere as a therapeutic for longevity, aging or related indications. Precursor forms (NR, NMN) are sold as dietary supplements in most jurisdictions; country-by-country rules are not assessed on Peptigrity.

As of August 2026 — compound page

Do you need a prescription for NAD+?

Peptigrity does not state a prescription requirement for NAD+, so this page does not supply one. What the site records is how NAD+ reaches people. Direct NAD+ administration is offered through IV clinics in some markets, as a medical service that is not FDA-evaluated for safety or efficacy claims. Oral precursors, NR and NMN, are sold as dietary supplements. Injectable NAD+ vials are also sold through research-chemical catalogues.

This page states what published documents say. It is legal information, not legal advice; it does not address any individual's position, and anything touching your own circumstances belongs with a qualified professional.

What are the supplement rules for NAD+ and its precursors?

The supplement market runs mostly on precursors, because NAD+ itself has poor oral bioavailability. NR and NMN are converted by the body into NAD+, and both are widely sold as dietary supplements; direct NAD+ administration is typically by IV or subcutaneous injection instead.

NMN's position changed recently, and much published guidance has not caught up. For years the settled position was that FDA had excluded nicotinamide mononucleotide from the dietary supplement definition, because it had been authorised for investigation as a new drug before being marketed as a supplement. That exclusion was reversed on 29 September 2025. A confident, correct-in-2024 statement became a false statement, which is why every regulatory claim on this page carries a date.

Can a pharmacy compound NAD+?

Peptigrity records only part of the answer. NAD+ is not on either of FDA's Category 2 tables, on the page current 22 April 2026, but absence from those tables is not a permission: it can mean FDA has never looked, rather than that it looked and cleared the substance. Whether NAD+ satisfies one of the three statutory routes for 503A compounding, a USP or NF monograph, status as a component of an FDA-approved drug, or a place on FDA's 503A bulks list, is not assessed on Peptigrity.

What is on record is a quality failure. On 21 October 2025 FDA classified a Class I recall of an NAD+ injection for endotoxin contamination. Class I is FDA's most serious recall category, reserved for products where there is a reasonable probability that use will cause serious adverse health consequences or death, and Peptigrity's NAD+ analysis describes it as the only documented harm in the NAD+ category. The statutory mechanics are in compounding pharmacy versus research-grade supply.

Where does research-grade NAD+ fit?

NAD+ is sold in research-chemical catalogues alongside other research compounds, largely because longevity buyers shop for both. Peptigrity's compound page describes it as legal to purchase as a research chemical for laboratory use in most jurisdictions; that description covers laboratory use, not use in people, and it is not an approval of anything.

Identity is the practical risk. Some vendors substitute related nucleotides, NADH, NMN or NR, labelled as NAD+, and endotoxin is the risk the October 2025 recall made concrete. FDA's general position on research-labelled products sold for human use is that it "has warned companies that have illegally sold unapproved drugs... falsely labeled 'for research purposes' or 'not for human consumption.'" This page does not address the position of any purchaser.

What does "not FDA approved" cover for NAD+?

There is no FDA-approved longevity treatment, and NAD+ specifically is not approved for any longevity, anti-aging or aging-related indication. IV clinic administration is not FDA-evaluated for safety or efficacy claims, so a clinic offering NAD+ infusions is not offering an approved therapy.

The evidence explains why no approval is in view. Precursors reliably increase blood NAD+ levels, but randomised trials have not translated that into established benefit: a 2025 systematic review and meta-analysis of 10 randomised controlled trials in older adults concluded that current evidence does not support NR or NMN for preserving muscle mass, strength or physical performance. Raising a molecule's level is not the same as improving an outcome. NAD+ sits in the immune support and longevity category, and the dated regulatory context is in the FDA regulation timeline for 2025–2026.

What does Peptigrity's lab record show for NAD+?

As of 21 September 2026, Peptigrity holds 360 independent lab tests of NAD+, averaging 99.09% HPLC purity (the average covers the 357 tests that report a purity figure), from 21 laboratories. Every result is listed on the NAD+ lab tests page, with the compound record on the NAD+ compound page, per-milligram prices on the NAD+ price comparison and volume arithmetic in the NAD+ calculator.

Read those figures for what they are. HPLC and mass spectrometry remain relevant for a dinucleotide, with their own reference standards and impurity profiles, but a purity percentage says nothing about legal status and nothing about endotoxin. The certificates are ones shops chose to publish, a selection bias Peptigrity states openly.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is NAD+ FDA approved for anything?

Peptigrity records that NAD+ is not approved as a therapeutic for longevity, aging or related indications anywhere in the world, as of August 2026. Whether any NAD+ product holds an FDA approval for another use is not assessed on Peptigrity.

The precursors NR and NMN are sold as dietary supplements in most markets, and direct NAD+ administration is offered through IV clinics as a medical service in some. Peptigrity's compound page describes NAD+ as legal to purchase as a research chemical for laboratory use in most jurisdictions. This page does not address any individual's legal position.

Is NMN still excluded from dietary supplements?

No. FDA's exclusion of nicotinamide mononucleotide from the dietary supplement definition was reversed on 29 September 2025. Content stating otherwise is out of date.

Do you need a prescription for NAD+?

Peptigrity does not state a prescription requirement for NAD+. It records IV clinic administration as a medical service that is not FDA-evaluated for safety or efficacy claims, and oral precursors sold as dietary supplements.

Is NAD+ on FDA's Category 2 list?

No. It is not among the 14 substances on FDA's active Category 2 list or the 17 in the "nominated but withdrawn" table, on the page current 22 April 2026. That absence is not a permission to compound.

Is NAD+ banned by WADA?

No. NAD+ and its precursors are not on WADA's 2026 Prohibited List.

Sources

External documents cited on Peptigrity's own pages for the statements above.

This article is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. Compounds discussed may not be approved by the FDA (or equivalent regulators in your jurisdiction) for human use. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before using any compound. Peptigrity is an independent review platform and does not sell, endorse, or recommend specific products or vendors.

NAD+'s status row, lab record and listings live on the NAD+ compound page. How other compounds compare, axis by axis and country by country, is in the regulatory status by country snapshot.

P
◆ WRITTEN BY

The Peptigrity editorial team covering peptide quality, COA verification, and vendor analysis.

All articles →