§ EDITORIAL · INDEPENDENT RESEARCH20 MIN READ · PUBLISHED APR 12, 2026
Home Blog No Regulator Has Approved Retatrutide, So the Only Lawful Route Runs Through a Physician
Buyer Education & Quality Verification

No Regulator Has Approved Retatrutide, So the Only Lawful Route Runs Through a Physician

P
Sunday, April 12, 2026 · 20 min read

There is no prescription to need. Retatrutide is approved nowhere we could verify, so no prescriber anywhere can write one for it. The single lawful non-trial route is an expanded access programme, and it does not run through a shop.

That makes retatrutide a different question from its two siblings, whose compounding routes opened and then closed. Retatrutide's never opened. The evidence picture is in retatrutide: the 24.2% weight-loss figure comes from a 338-person phase 2 trial, the statutory machinery in compounding pharmacy versus research peptide, and the compound sits in the weight loss and metabolic peptides category.

Do you need a prescription for retatrutide?

The question does not resolve the way it does for an approved drug, because retatrutide is not approved anywhere we could verify and there is therefore no prescription for a prescriber to write. As of August 2026 it is absent from FDA's drug application database and from FDA's novel approvals lists for 2025 (46 drugs) and 2026 (30 drugs, current through 5 August 2026). One legitimate non-trial route exists: pre-approval expanded access under NCT07629401, listed as AVAILABLE, which operates through a physician and the sponsor.

Three things follow from an approval that does not exist, and they are worth separating because vendor copy routinely merges them. There is no label, so no approved dose or schedule exists. There is no pharmacy route, because a pharmacist cannot dispense against an order nobody can lawfully write. And there is no compounding route, for the structural reason set out below rather than because of any listing decision.

This page states what published documents and registry records say. It is legal information, not legal advice, it does not address any individual's position in any jurisdiction, and anything touching your own circumstances belongs with a qualified professional. Nothing here explains how to obtain an unapproved drug, and that is deliberate.

What does "approved nowhere" actually mean here?

It means no regulator has assessed retatrutide's safety or efficacy for marketing anywhere we could check. Retatrutide, development code LY3437943, molecular weight 4,731.0 g/mol, formula C₂₂₁H₃₄₂N₄₆O₆₈, does not appear in FDA's drug application database, nor among the 46 novel drugs approved in 2025 or the 30 approved in 2026 through 5 August 2026. Its entire published human record is one phase 2 trial, n=338, 48 weeks. No phase 3 result has been published at all.

Property

Value

Mechanism

Triple agonist: GIP, GLP-1 and glucagon receptors

Formula / MW

C₂₂₁H₃₄₂N₄₆O₆₈ / 4,731.0 g/mol

PubChem CID

172898051

Development code

LY3437943 (Eli Lilly)

CAS

Commonly quoted as 2381089-83-2 — we could not verify this against a chemical registry

Published human evidence

Jastreboff et al., NEJM 2023;389(6):514–526 — phase 2, n=338, 48 weeks, −24.2% at 12 mg vs −2.1% placebo

Phase 3

TRIUMPH-1 to -4 registered; no results published

Regulatory status

Not approved anywhere we could verify

Non-trial access

NCT07629401, pre-approval expanded access, status AVAILABLE

The phase 3 programme exists and has published nothing. Giblin et al., in Diabetes, Obesity and Metabolism, January 2026, describe the four-trial TRIUMPH programme and more than 5,800 participants, with no results published. Two further registrations sit alongside it: NCT06383390 on cardiovascular and kidney outcomes and NCT06662383 head-to-head against tirzepatide, both active and not recruiting.

Read the last two rows of that table together, because they are the whole article in miniature. A compound with one published trial and no approval anywhere nonetheless has a registry-listed access route with a clinician attached. That is unusual, it is legitimate, and almost nobody buying retatrutide knows it exists.

Why has a compounding route never existed for retatrutide?

Because the compounding route begins with an approved product. Sections 503A and 503B of the Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act permit compounding a drug that is essentially a copy of an approved product only while that product is in shortage. Retatrutide has never been approved, so it has never been in shortage, so the mechanism has never had anything to attach to. The chain is never approved → never in shortage → no route, ever, which is structurally different from the semaglutide answer rather than a later stage of it.

The distinction matters because the two stories are told in the same words and mean opposite things. Semaglutide and tirzepatide were approved drugs that entered shortage; that shortage is what briefly permitted essential-copy compounding, and FDA's shortage database now lists both Semaglutide Injection and Tirzepatide Injection as "Resolved." Their route opened and closed. Retatrutide's never existed, so there is nothing for a future shortage resolution to close.

Retatrutide also appears on neither of FDA's compounding tables. We enumerated both on the page current 22 April 2026 — no GLP-1, GIP, glucagon or amylin agonist is on either. That absence carries no permission whatsoever. A substance nobody nominated sits in exactly the same compounding position as one FDA examined and flagged: not compoundable. Anyone offering "compounded retatrutide" is describing something that has never been lawful.

What is the retatrutide expanded access programme?

ClinicalTrials.gov carries NCT07629401, "Pre-approval Expanded Access of Retatrutide," with status AVAILABLE. Expanded access — sometimes called compassionate use — is a route by which a patient may receive an investigational drug outside a clinical trial, and it operates through physicians and the sponsor rather than through vendors. It is not an approval, and it is not a prescription in the ordinary sense. As of August 2026 it is the only legitimate non-trial route to this compound that exists.

The mechanics are worth stating properly, because most readers will never have encountered this pathway. Expanded access is initiated by a treating physician, who applies to the sponsor and to the regulator; the sponsor decides whether to supply the drug; and the arrangement carries a clinician, a documented rationale and a chain of custody that a vial bought online does not. A BMJ news item dated 7 August 2026 covers the programme's opening (PMID 42567543). We verified that citation and could not access the text, so we are not characterising what it reports.

What expanded access is not is a workaround. It does not widen access on demand, it is not something a buyer arranges for themselves, and this page does not tell anyone how to pursue it — that conversation belongs with a treating physician who can assess whether the pathway is appropriate at all. The route exists; whether it applies to any individual is a clinical and regulatory judgment made by people with access to that individual's file.

How does expanded access differ from a prescription and from a vendor?

Expanded access sits between the two and resembles neither. A prescription requires an approved drug and a prescriber, and retatrutide fails the first condition. A vendor sale requires nothing and supplies nothing beyond the vial. Expanded access under NCT07629401 requires a treating physician, a sponsor decision and a regulatory pathway, and supplies an investigational drug with clinical oversight attached — while remaining, explicitly, not an approval and not evidence that the drug works.

Ordinary prescription

Expanded access, NCT07629401

Research-market vial

Requires an approved drug

Yes — so unavailable for retatrutide

No — that is the point of it

No

Who initiates

Patient and prescriber

The treating physician

The buyer

Who decides supply

Pharmacy against the order

The sponsor, with a regulatory pathway

The seller

Clinical oversight

Yes

Yes

None

Is it an approval?

The drug is approved

No

No

Product identity assured by

Manufacturer under approval

Sponsor supply

A certificate, if any

Availability

N/A for retatrutide

Listed AVAILABLE

Widely marketed

The column that changes a reader's options is the middle one, and it is the column no vendor page mentions. The comparison also makes the honest limitation visible: expanded access supplies an investigational drug. It carries oversight, not evidence. The phase 3 programme that would supply the evidence has published nothing.

What is a vial sold as retatrutide, legally?

An unapproved new drug. Retatrutide sold outside a clinical trial or an expanded access programme has no approval to sit under and no compounding route to sit inside, and the label on it does not change that. FDA "has warned companies that have illegally sold unapproved drugs... falsely labeled 'for research purposes' or 'not for human consumption.' These products have been sold directly to consumers for human use." That statement was written about exactly this channel.

The enforcement precedent behind it names a different peptide and generalises cleanly. FDA's warning letter to Xcel Research LLC, 10 December 2024 held seven products including sermorelin to be unapproved new drugs under sections 505(a) and 301(d) of the Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act, despite labelling reading "FOR RESEARCH USE ONLY" and "NOT INTENDED FOR HUMAN USE," because website evidence established human intended use. Intended use is established by how a product is presented and sold, not by the words on the vial.

The enforcement in this record runs against sellers. This page does not address the position of a purchaser in any jurisdiction, because the documents do not, and that is a question for a qualified professional rather than an article. What the documents do establish is that a "research use only" label is a legal posture adopted by the seller — not a grade, not a specification and, on FDA's own record, not a shield.

Is retatrutide prohibited in sport?

Retatrutide is not named on the WADA 2026 Prohibited List, and no GLP-1 class entry exists on it. But the S0 catch-all prohibits any pharmacological substance "with no current approval by any governmental regulatory health authority for human therapeutic use," expressly including "drugs under pre-clinical or clinical development." Retatrutide holds no approval anywhere, so on the plain text S0 applies. That is our reading rather than a published WADA ruling, and an athlete should seek a determination.

This is where retatrutide separates from tirzepatide for a reason that has nothing to do with pharmacology. Tirzepatide is an approved drug, which takes it outside S0 entirely and places it on the Monitoring Program alongside semaglutide, with markers monitored in and out of competition from 1 January 2026. Retatrutide is not approved, which is arguably what brings it inside S0. Two compounds in the same mechanistic family land on opposite sides of the same rule on a purely regulatory fact.

Anyone competing under an anti-doping code needs a ruling from their own organisation rather than a reading — ours or anybody else's. No published determination exists either way, and confident statements in either direction are going beyond the documents.

How does retatrutide's access position compare with semaglutide's and tirzepatide's?

Retatrutide's answer is not a later stage of the others' answer; it is a different shape. Semaglutide and tirzepatide are approved drugs whose essential-copy compounding route opened on a shortage and closed when FDA moved both to "Resolved." Retatrutide is approved nowhere we could verify, so it has no prescription route, no closed route and no future one contingent on a shortage. It has one route the others do not need: expanded access under NCT07629401.

Retatrutide

Semaglutide

Tirzepatide

Mechanism

Triple: GIP, GLP-1, glucagon

GLP-1

Dual: GIP and GLP-1

Molecular weight

4,731.0 g/mol

4,113.6 g/mol

4,813.0 g/mol

Approval

None we could verify

Wegovy, Ozempic

Mounjaro, Zepbound

Best published result

−24.2%, phase 2, n=338, 48 wk

−14.9%, phase 3, n=1,961

−20.9%, phase 3, n=2,539

Prescription possible?

No — nothing to prescribe

Yes

Yes

Compounding route

Never existed

Closed — shortage Resolved

Closed — shortage Resolved

Non-trial route without a shop

Expanded access, NCT07629401

Prescription

Prescription

WADA 2026

Unnamed; S0 arguably applies

Monitoring Program

Monitoring Program

The identity row carries a practical warning that belongs on any page about buying this compound. Retatrutide sits 82 daltons below tirzepatide, at 4,731.0 against 4,813.0, and the two are acylated multi-agonist peptides of similar size stocked by the same shops. A mass spectrometer resolves that gap instantly; an HPLC purity figure does not address it at all. The full check list is in where to buy retatrutide, and the semaglutide answer in can you get semaglutide without a prescription.

What has been published about retatrutide sold outside trials?

Three 2026 publications bear on retatrutide outside the clinic, and we could not retrieve the contents of any of them. A BMJ fact-check dated 9 July 2026 asks whether a man died after taking the unapproved weight loss jab (PMID 42425580); a BMJ news item dated 7 August 2026 covers the expanded access opening (PMID 42567543); and Piatkowski, Craven, Cornell & Ferris report on the composition and labelling accuracy of products sold as retatrutide in Australia (Drug and Alcohol Review, September 2026).

The Australian paper is the one most relevant to anyone reading this page: "Composition and Labelling Accuracy of Products Sold as Retatrutide in Australia," DOI 10.1111/dar.70231, PMID 42559975. We verified the citation and could not obtain the abstract, so we are not characterising what it concludes in either direction. It is the closest peer-reviewed analogue to what this platform does, and anyone buying retatrutide should read it directly rather than take a summary of it from us.

Note what that hedge costs and why we are keeping it. Three papers exist whose titles point straight at the questions this article raises, and the honest position is that a verified citation is not a verified finding. For the adverse-event picture as reported so far, see retatrutide side effects.

Which claims about retatrutide access survive the record?

Two of nine. Expanded access is genuinely available under NCT07629401, through a physician rather than a vendor, and no compounding route has ever existed — both are true and both are almost universally missing from vendor pages. The claims that a doctor can prescribe it, that it can be compounded like semaglutide was, that absence from FDA's lists implies permission, that a research label changes its classification and that 1,150 clean lab tests establish safety do not survive contact with the documents.

Claim

What the record says

Verdict

Expanded access is available through a physician

NCT07629401, status AVAILABLE

True

No compounding route has ever existed

Never approved, so never in shortage

True

"A doctor can prescribe it off-label"

Off-label prescribing applies to approved drugs; retatrutide holds no approval

Category error

"It can be compounded like semaglutide was"

The essential-copy route needs an approved product in shortage

Never applicable

"It is not on FDA's banned list, so it is allowed"

On neither table, page current 22 April 2026; absence is not permission

Wrong document

"It is approved somewhere"

Absent from FDA approvals for 2025 and 2026

No

"Research use only labelling exempts the seller"

Xcel Research LLC, 10 December 2024, §§ 505(a) and 301(d)

No exemption

"Not banned in sport"

Unnamed on the 2026 list, but see S0

Arguably prohibited

"1,150 clean lab tests mean it is safe"

Purity is not efficacy, dosing or long-term safety

Category error

How do you check a claim that retatrutide can be prescribed?

Four documents settle it and none of them requires a subscription. Search FDA's drug application database and the novel approvals lists for 2025 and 2026; read both bulk substances tables on the compounding page current 22 April 2026 and note that absence is not permission; read the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT07629401 to see what expanded access actually is; and ask any seller which of those four documents supports what they are telling you. None of this requires trusting this page.

Check

What it confirms

How

Red flag

FDA novel approvals, 2025 and 2026

No approval exists to prescribe against

46 drugs in 2025; 30 in 2026 through 5 August 2026 — retatrutide on neither

"Recently approved" or "approved abroad"

Both bulk substances tables

Retatrutide is on neither, and that is not permission

FDA page current 22 April 2026

"Not on the banned list, so it is fine"

NCT07629401 registry record

The one lawful non-trial route, and what it requires

Status AVAILABLE; physician and sponsor initiated

A vendor claiming to supply "expanded access" stock

Mass spectrometry at 4,731.0 Da

It is retatrutide, not tirzepatide at 4,813.0

Batch-matched certificate carrying the MS result

HPLC purity alone; the two are 82 Da apart

The CAS number a vendor prints

Nothing, on this compound

PubChem exposes no CAS for retatrutide

2381089-83-2 presented as settled specification

Endotoxin result on the batch

No pyrogens

LAL result matched to your batch

Rarely reported on this compound

The third row is the one that changes what a reader does next. A registry record is public, it is dated, and it names what the pathway requires — which is more than any vendor page will tell you about the same compound.

What do 1,150 lab tests show about a drug no regulator has assessed?

The Purity Index records retatrutide at 99.67% average across 1,150 independent tests (verified August 2026), the largest test dataset on this platform, from Janoshik, Freedom Diagnostics, Bioviridian, Kovera and ILS, across 230 shops selling. Individual results run 99.52% to 99.98%, and quantity variance runs −4% to +22.5%. What none of it shows is efficacy, dosing, long-term safety, or how a phase 2 result holds up in phase 3.

Stop on the arithmetic of that. Eleven hundred and fifty independent lab tests of a drug no regulator anywhere has assessed, with one published trial of 338 people behind it. The supply chain is better characterised than the medicine. That is the sentence this whole page exists to make available, and it is the opposite of the reassurance a purity figure is usually taken to offer.

Retatrutide price data shows 15 shops in stock, median $8.00/mg, lowest $2.33/mg on a 40 mg vial (verified 31 July 2026), across 53 compared offers with vial prices from $24.99 to $500.00. Those figures exclude shipping, taxes and customs, coupon codes, bulk tiers, multi-vial kits and account-gated pricing. Peptigrity tracks 530 shops and 11,852 independent lab tests across 118 peptides, with 1,283 community reviews (verified August 2026), with trust scores weighting community reviews and independently verified HPLC purity equally at 50% each.

Vial size

Median price per mg (verified August 2026)

5–10 mg

$11.50/mg

12–24 mg

$8.23/mg

30–65 mg

$6.67/mg

All sizes

Median $8.00/mg · lowest $2.33/mg on a 40 mg vial

Individual results are searchable in the lab test database and shop-level detail sits on the retatrutide compound page. For per-injection volume once a vial is reconstituted, the retatrutide calculator and the reconstitution calculator do the arithmetic — which is arithmetic, not a schedule, because no approved schedule exists for this compound.

The trial that would settle this

Retatrutide's access question is settled by registry records rather than by evidence, so what remains open is everything the missing phase 3 would answer, plus one analytical question nobody has published on the market that grew in its absence. The TRIUMPH programme has a design paper and no results, and until it reports, the largest body of measurement attached to this compound is a purity dataset.

Question

Status

Is retatrutide approved anywhere?

Answered — no, on FDA's 2025 and 2026 approvals lists

Is there a compounding route?

Answered — none has ever existed

Is there a lawful non-trial route?

Answered — expanded access, NCT07629401, AVAILABLE

Phase 3 weight-loss results

TRIUMPH-1 to -4 registered; no publication

Cardiovascular and kidney outcomes

NCT06383390 active, not recruiting

Head-to-head versus tirzepatide

NCT06662383 active, not recruiting

Discontinuation rate at effective doses

Not reported in the phase 2 abstract

Composition of products sold as retatrutide

Piatkowski et al., September 2026 — citation verified, text not obtained

Frequently Asked Questions

Can a doctor prescribe retatrutide?

Not in the ordinary sense, because a prescription presupposes an approved drug and retatrutide is approved nowhere we could verify. Off-label prescribing is a mechanism for using an approved drug outside its labelled indication, so it does not apply here either. What a physician can do is assess whether the pre-approval expanded access programme, NCT07629401, is appropriate — that is a clinical judgment, not something an article can answer.

Sold outside a clinical trial or expanded access programme, it is an unapproved new drug. FDA has warned companies selling unapproved drugs labelled "for research purposes" or "not for human consumption," and the enforcement in this record runs against sellers. This page does not address any purchaser's position in any jurisdiction — that is a question for a qualified professional, not for us.

What is expanded access, and how is it different from a trial?

Expanded access, sometimes called compassionate use, lets a patient receive an investigational drug outside a clinical trial. It is initiated by a treating physician and requires the sponsor's agreement and a regulatory pathway. Unlike a trial it is not primarily about collecting data, and unlike a prescription it does not depend on an approval existing. NCT07629401 is listed as AVAILABLE.

Why can retatrutide not be compounded when semaglutide could?

Because compounding an essential copy is permitted only while the approved product is in shortage. Semaglutide and tirzepatide were approved, went into shortage, and that shortage was the permission — both now read "Resolved." Retatrutide has never been approved, so it has never been in shortage, so the mechanism has never had anything to attach to.

Does retatrutide appear on FDA's compounding lists?

No, and that absence is not permission. We enumerated both tables on FDA's compounding page, current 22 April 2026, and no GLP-1, GIP, glucagon or amylin agonist appears on either. A substance nobody nominated sits in the same compounding position as one FDA examined and flagged: not compoundable.

Does 1,150 clean lab tests mean retatrutide is safe?

No. Those tests establish that vendors are broadly selling the correct molecule at roughly the stated quantity. They say nothing about efficacy, dosing, long-term safety, or how a 338-person phase 2 result will hold up in a phase 3 programme enrolling more than 5,800 participants — and the discontinuation rate at effective doses is not reported in the phase 2 abstract.

Where this leaves the question

The title question has a cleaner answer than most regulatory questions in this market, and the cleanliness is the point. There is no retatrutide prescription because there is no retatrutide approval. No compounding route has ever existed, no listing decision is pending that would create one, and absence from FDA's tables is not a permission anybody should read into. The compound sold widely online is an unapproved new drug wherever the seller says otherwise.

What deserves more attention than it gets is the exception. NCT07629401 is listed as AVAILABLE, it is the only legitimate non-trial route to this compound, and it runs through a treating physician and a sponsor rather than a checkout. It supplies oversight rather than evidence, since the phase 3 programme behind more than 5,800 participants has published nothing. Set that against 1,150 independent lab tests of a molecule no regulator anywhere has assessed, and the shape of this market is visible in a single comparison.

Browse the weight loss and metabolic peptides category, or our complete peptide guide with 118 compounds (verified August 2026). For per-injection volume, use the retatrutide calculator alongside the reconstitution calculator. Compare shops through independent lab tests and community-verified shop reviews.

This article is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. Peptides discussed may be investigational compounds not approved by the FDA (or equivalent regulators in your jurisdiction) for human use. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before using any peptide or research compound. Peptigrity is an independent review platform and does not sell, endorse, or recommend specific products or vendors.

P
◆ WRITTEN BY

The Peptigrity editorial team covering peptide quality, COA verification, and vendor analysis.

All articles →